Qsc dsp 4 or qsc dsp 30?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 01:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Sorry guys I posted this in another thread I don't know if it will be seen but I'm curious as my HAA calibrator asked me to get a QSC DSP 4 and I noticed the QSC DSP 30. Are they the same apart from rackmount features? I'm looking at doing the final tweaking to my subwoofers(4) and want to make sure I get the right one.

Thank you

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 03:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Sorry guys I posted this in another thread I don't know if it will be seen but I'm curious as my HAA calibrator asked me to get a QSC DSP 4 and I noticed the QSC DSP 30. Are they the same apart from rackmount features? I'm looking at doing the final tweaking to my subwoofers(4) and want to make sure I get the right one.

Thank you

That and, I believe, DSP 4 has more memory. I own both.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 04:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post


That and, I believe, DSP 4 has more memory. I own both.

Thanks for the reply Jeff. Do you think the DSP 30 will do for the subs? Just using for theatre only.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 06:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Thanks for the reply Jeff. Do you think the DSP 30 will do for the subs? Just using for theatre only.

I run both my subs on one DSP-30. I'm using approx 60% of the memory. Should be good

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Depends on the room, Jeff. The more filters necessary- the more memory you need. I try to stay below 80% capacity to keep the processor "happy".

DSP-3 = just like the DSP-4 but has phoenix connectors instead of XLR
DSP-30 = essentially a DSP-4 that's rack mounted

Most commercial DSPs use phoenix connectors (XLRs take up too much space)- there's no functional difference between the two: 1= shield, 2=hot, 3=negative

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

I run both my subs on one DSP-30. I'm using approx 60% of the memory. Should be good

Thank you Jeff.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

Depends on the room, Jeff. The more filters necessary- the more memory you need. I try to stay below 80% capacity to keep the processor "happy".

DSP-3 = just like the DSP-4 but has phoenix connectors instead of XLR
DSP-30 = essentially a DSP-4 that's rack mounted

Most commercial DSPs use phoenix connectors (XLRs take up too much space)- there's no functional difference between the two: 1= shield, 2=hot, 3=negative

Dan

Thanks for that Dan. So if im running 2 subs at front as one (master and slave) and 2 subs at back as one (master and slave) will that help or require more processing power?

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-30-2012, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would run all four independent and use one DSP channel per-woofer, but if you have to run as two pairs then a 2-in 2-out DSP is fine. I've used those QSCs quite a bit in the past (until Symetrix released the Jupiter 4 and Jupiter 8 ).

The whole thing is really dependent on the amplification; if each woofer is amplified separately, then they can be tuned separately if they need it. My philosophy is "better to have it and not need it than to not have it and need it".

Dan

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-31-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Just curious a question i would like to ask but do any of you use room correction ( eg like audyssey) or do you prefer the likes of the QSC DSP 4/30? The reason why i ask is how do we know what room correction is really doing?

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-31-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 45
The DSP-30 has a lower noise floor and the processor latency between channels is exactly the same regardless of the number of filters applied to each channel ... a subtle but important benefit. (That is unique to QSC.)

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-31-2012, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Erskine View Post

The DSP-30 has a lower noise floor and the processor latency between channels is exactly the same regardless of the number of filters applied to each channel ... a subtle but important benefit. (That is unique to QSC.)

Thank you Dennis

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-31-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Dan would you still choose one of these QSC devices if the alternative was one of the Trinnov devices, whether standalone or in something like the ADA reference? Is manual control of the calibration as important when a device like Trinnov has support for lots of independent subs?
hifiaudio2 is online now  
post #13 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have 2 dsp-30s (L and R) and 1 dsp-4 (sub)

They are good, but the serial connection is a pain, as is the limited memory....and they aint cheap.

They do work exceptionally well though, once setup

Peter the Greek

Downunder Theatre MkII
Redefining snail pace construction
"what is worth knowing is difficult to learn"

Elill is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elill View Post

I have 2 dsp-30s (L and R) and 1 dsp-4 (sub)

They are good, but the serial connection is a pain, as is the limited memory....and they aint cheap.

They do work exceptionally well though, once setup

I just downloaded the signal manager to have a look and have to admit i had no idea what to do. Where can someone learn how to use this unit. I don't want to keep calling a calibration everytime i change something.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I found it pretty intuitive, look at the pre-sets to get a feel for how they work.

Here is my schematic for my 2 ways:


Peter the Greek

Downunder Theatre MkII
Redefining snail pace construction
"what is worth knowing is difficult to learn"

Elill is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elill View Post

I found it pretty intuitive, look at the pre-sets to get a feel for how they work.

Here is my schematic for my 2 ways:


I wish i could understand how to use it, i thinks its awesome you know.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Elill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Who was your HAA calibrator? perhaps ask them for a bit of a lesson.

In saying that, after I did my initial measurements, eq and more measurements I was very happy with the result and I doubt I'll ever change it....in fact I wont, I'm too lazy

As I said, have a look at the pre-loaded schematics and have a play. You cant do too much damage to subs - unlike my 2 ways, if I got the crossover wrong I'd fry a $600 tweeter....

Peter the Greek

Downunder Theatre MkII
Redefining snail pace construction
"what is worth knowing is difficult to learn"

Elill is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-04-2012, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elill View Post

Who was your HAA calibrator? perhaps ask them for a bit of a lesson.

In saying that, after I did my initial measurements, eq and more measurements I was very happy with the result and I doubt I'll ever change it....in fact I wont, I'm too lazy

As I said, have a look at the pre-loaded schematics and have a play. You cant do too much damage to subs - unlike my 2 ways, if I got the crossover wrong I'd fry a $600 tweeter....

I might have too. Thank you Peter.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-06-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 5,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

Depends on the room, Jeff. The more filters necessary- the more memory you need. I try to stay below 80% capacity to keep the processor "happy".


DSP-3 = just like the DSP-4 but has phoenix connectors instead of XLR

DSP-30 = essentially a DSP-4 that's rack mounted


Most commercial DSPs use phoenix connectors (XLRs take up too much space)- there's no functional difference between the two: 1= shield, 2=hot, 3=negative


Dan

Hi Dan,

Little correction/addition on the above... The DSP-3 & DSP-4 share the similar package which can be mounted to the back of some QSC amplifiers. They do in fact use different A/D & D/A converters and software. The DSP-4 is a higher performance option and adds XLR connectors. Both the DSP-3 & DSP-4 need external power supplies if not used with a QSC amplifier.

The DSP-30 is mostly a rack mounted version of the DSP-3 with on-board power supply and XLR connectors. It also has a simple front button & display which allows recall of 8 different programs. Once you sort out the clunky communication with your PC and storing of the configurations, it is a very stable and reliable unit with no way for anyone to accidentally mess with settings without plugging in a computer. I have very rarely used all of the resources of the DSP-30 with only 2 channels and have never encountered any issues in utilizing the available resources. For subwoofer use, the DSP-4's advantages aren't very significant IMO.

I have 2 starter config files posted here with more blocks than most will have need for, but it's easy to delete or move blocks as needed.

Another set of DSP products I've been eying are those from Xilica which from what I can tell, do not have any fans and offer a range of different input/output channel counts, but of course for a bit more money.

The very inexpensive Behringer DCX-2496 can be plenty functional, but should also be noted that the DSP-30 is much more flexible. The DCX-2496 is limited to a maximum filter Q of 10 and +/-15dB which can prove limiting in real rooms with strong modal peaks. Also curious is that of it's 3 XLR inputs, only 2 of the 3 can be summed at once, not all 3.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-06-2012, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Seaton View Post


<Snip> I have very rarely used all of the resources of the DSP-30 with only 2 channels and have never encountered any issues in utilizing the available resources. For subwoofer use, the DSP-4's advantages aren't very significant IMO.
I have 2 starter config files posted here with more blocks than most will have need for, but it's easy to delete or move blocks as needed.<Snip>
 

I have not checked to see if Mark's 1st zipped file has changed before this posting, but I attempted to dupe the orig path excepting that the inputs & outputs were kept separate.(Two channels) The software would not allow because of lack of memory. (For two seperate Subs)


--Carl
calentz is online now  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-07-2012, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 5,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post

I have not checked to see if Mark's 1st zipped file has changed before this posting, but I attempted to dupe the orig path excepting that the inputs & outputs were kept separate.(Two channels) The software would not allow because of lack of memory. (For two seperate Subs)

That file has 8 bands of PEQ already added and zeroed out in the EQ block. If you delete 2 filters or even just temporarily delete one of the Level Meters you can copy everything and make whatever changes you need to make. For 2 in/out it would be easier to modify the

There are certainly more robust options, but unless you are making things overly complex, it's usually plenty for the various ways you would be using 2 channels of subwoofer in a home theater.

I see now that the template I often use for front/rear type subwoofer setups is buried on the 2nd page of the thread. I usually only use 1 input but keep the 2nd mixed in through the software so I can quickly bypass the upstream preamp or other gear and directly plug a test signal into the DSP.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-07-2012, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Elill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Mini dsp has a rack mount now too....cant comment on mini dsp v QSC

I understand Xilica is going to be used as the OEM for a fairly high end brand, which is very well regarded, so I guess its good stuff

Peter the Greek

Downunder Theatre MkII
Redefining snail pace construction
"what is worth knowing is difficult to learn"

Elill is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off