Large Drive in theatre - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 07-03-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am extremely new to this industry but am interested in starting a drive in movie theater in a marina parking lot with ample space. I would say the lot space is about 200 x 300 ft and can fit at least 120 cars. The lot is rarely used for the restaurant because there another lot with plenty of space. I am looking into inflatable screens and have found some very good prices. The only thing that is really restricting the size of the screen is the lumens rating on most projectors. I was told that I would need about 16 sq ft per lumens. I was thinking about a screen that is 32.5 by 60 ft, but at 1950 sq ft that would require a projector that that has at least 31200 lumens. These projectors go for a ton of money. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what my screen size should be, what projector to use, and if that much lumens is really necessary per sq ft. I am open to any suggestion and I thank you in advance.

Frank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-04-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah , a big screen requires a big projector. Unlike 35mm there isn't much of an used market, as digital projectors aren't serviced for 30-70 years.

This drive-in theater made the jump last year: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333665/video-drive-in-converts-to-digital-80k-in-upgrades
Old 07-16-2012, 04:42 PM

Liked: 12
You have bigger problems than image brightness.

A parking lot would makea horrible drive-in. You need ramps for the cars (so that each car will tilt up towards the screen). That would make the area generally unsuitable as a parking lot.