Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 274Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Is the Atmos board now released or not? When can I have one???
mhafner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 04:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
Is the Atmos board now released or not? When can I have one???
It IS released. See 3 posts up. Call your dealer. I received my new RS20i yesterday and it has the Atmos board.

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3183 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 05:58 AM
MESSING WITH YOUR SENSES
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: TOMORROWLAND: REALITY RECREATION PAVILION.
Posts: 14,809
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post
Possible future DataSat owner here. I have a 9.x.4 layout currently with front wide (not height), four Atmos ceiling speakers, and 5 subwoofers planned. Will I be able to use the wide configuration with the DataSat with Atmos and DTSX?

Thanks ...
Not in atmos you can only have 12 channels total, dtsx who knows.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #3184 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post
Possible future DataSat owner here. I have a 9.x.4 layout currently with front wide (not height), four Atmos ceiling speakers, and 5 subwoofers planned. Will I be able to use the wide configuration with the DataSat with Atmos and DTSX?

Thanks ...
Use? Yes. Discrete channels? No. The RS20i allows you to make use of lots of channels by copying. For example, you could copy side surrounds to rear surrounds. If you want LOTS of discrete channel, apparently Trinnov is the way to go. JoeRod posted earlier how he is using this feature with his RS20i. I only have a 7.x.4 system so not an issue.

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3185 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 12:59 PM
Member
 
mathbovy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Ise 2016 wisdom - Datasat demo was outstanding!
The synthesis and Triad demo's were also very good. But not in champions league, also more comfortable price point.

The setup used 6 ceiling speakers all configured as top middle left/ right Atmos speakers. 6 surrounds, 3 subs and lcr. Docking scene from Interstellar was exceptional.

I use the exact same speaker setup as used in the b&w Demo. But with Parasound and Rs20i instead of classe with Trinnov. I must say it sounds way better at home...

Dolby Atmos trailer from the Star Wars game battlefront was also impressive with Steinway Lingdorf.

Last but not least, 4K Barco was top. Only the 250k...
grtuck likes this.
mathbovy is offline  
post #3186 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 01:03 PM
Member
 
mathbovy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
mathbovy is offline  
post #3187 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathbovy View Post
The Ise 2016 wisdom - Datasat demo was outstanding!
The synthesis and Triad demo's were also very good. But not in champions league, also more comfortable price point.

The setup used 6 ceiling speakers all configured as top middle left/ right Atmos speakers. 6 surrounds, 3 subs and lcr. Docking scene from Interstellar was exceptional.

I use the exact same speaker setup as used in the b&w Demo. But with Parasound and Rs20i instead of classe with Trinnov. I must say it sounds way better at home...

Dolby Atmos trailer from the Star Wars game battlefront was also impressive with Steinway Lingdorf.

Last but not least, 4K Barco was top. Only the 250k...
How large were the rooms? They look huge from the posted photos.

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3188 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 01:20 PM
Member
 
mathbovy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The wisdom cinema was 6x7m Inside.
mathbovy is offline  
post #3189 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 01:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,832
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Now that's a room!

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Datasat RS-20i. Perfect! Soon to sell...

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #3190 of 3200 Old Yesterday, 02:10 PM
MESSING WITH YOUR SENSES
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: TOMORROWLAND: REALITY RECREATION PAVILION.
Posts: 14,809
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathbovy View Post
Last but not least, 4K Barco was top. Only the 250k...
Well the secret is the 6p laser (even in 2d) that color is something we have all seen in real life before, not possible with any other projector, you may see similar colors in OLED.

Go check out the alcons theater.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #3191 of 3200 Old Today, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Trying to set up Atmos and am confused about optional decoders. I do have the Atmos card and the latest software revision.

The attached screen dump shows the available options but it does not say "Atmos" and the normal Dolby PL?? are not shown. Is this normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 8.35.08 AM.png
Views:	45
Size:	326.1 KB
ID:	1245777  

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3192 of 3200 Old Today, 07:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,832
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Trying to set up Atmos and am confused about optional decoders. I do have the Atmos card and the latest software revision.

The attached screen dump shows the available options but it does not say "Atmos" and the normal Dolby PL?? are not shown. Is this normal?
That screen simply looks like the default post-process mode for that particular input - now with more choices!!

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Datasat RS-20i. Perfect! Soon to sell...

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #3193 of 3200 Old Today, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
That screen simply looks like the default post-process mode for that particular input - now with more choices!!
I am trying to set up the post process and those are the only choices I am given. I have a question into Datasat to find out if I am on track or not!

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3194 of 3200 Old Today, 09:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,832
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I am trying to set up the post process and those are the only choices I am given. I have a question into Datasat to find out if I am on track or not!
IT says your speaker configuration is Atmos 7.1 - Shouldn't you have it set to Atmos 7.1.4 (I assume there's an option for that)?? IF you're truly set to simply 7.1, your choices would be limited (of course).

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Datasat RS-20i. Perfect! Soon to sell...

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #3195 of 3200 Old Today, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
deyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Trying to set up Atmos and am confused about optional decoders. I do have the Atmos card and the latest software revision.

The attached screen dump shows the available options but it does not say "Atmos" and the normal Dolby PL?? are not shown. Is this normal?
That screen looks fine as far as it goes. You have selected an Atmos speaker configuration (atmos7.1) so you will get an Atmos decode, provided that you select either "None" or DSU as the postprocessor. If you have height and/or top speakers they need to be configured in the Atmos Speaker configuration menu. (press button near the upper middle of main bass management screen).

Note that DPL/DPL2/DPL2z/DPLx have all been replaced by Dolby Surround Upmixer and are no longer available.
deyre is offline  
post #3196 of 3200 Old Today, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by deyre View Post
That screen looks fine as far as it goes. You have selected an Atmos speaker configuration (atmos7.1) so you will get an Atmos decode, provided that you select either "None" or DSU as the postprocessor. If you have height and/or top speakers they need to be configured in the Atmos Speaker configuration menu. (press button near the upper middle of main bass management screen).

Note that DPL/DPL2/DPL2z/DPLx have all been replaced by Dolby Surround Upmixer and are no longer available.
That is what I just learned. Thanks for your post. I do have it set correctly but since I have no documentation on what it is supposed to look like, I was confused.

Thanks again.

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3197 of 3200 Unread Today, 09:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,604
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
That is what I just learned. Thanks for your post. I do have it set correctly but since I have no documentation on what it is supposed to look like, I was confused.

Thanks again.
I'm trying to follow along. What exactly was the confusion?
lovingdvd is online now  
post #3198 of 3200 Unread Today, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I'm trying to follow along. What exactly was the confusion?
The available choices for Post Processing were: None, Dolby Surround, and DTS (something). It did not list Atmos as a choice (unlike my Marantz). Atmos is automatically used for an Atmos disc and Dolby Surround (aka DSU in the Marantz/Denon world) will up mix non-Atmos movies (if that is the Post Processor selected).

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
post #3199 of 3200 Unread Today, 09:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,604
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
The available choices for Post Processing were: None, Dolby Surround, and DTS (something). It did not list Atmos as a choice (unlike my Marantz). Atmos is automatically used for an Atmos disc and Dolby Surround (aka DSU in the Marantz/Denon world) will up mix non-Atmos movies (if that is the Post Processor selected).
Thanks. So you will set it up this way one time and leave it, or does it require changing based on the content you'll be playing?

Also am I correct to assume the DataSat supports OSD over HDMI, so you can make such configuration changes without being at the rack, and so that you can check version options/settings during playback to make sure the right speakers and settings are engaged as expected?
lovingdvd is online now  
post #3200 of 3200 Unread Today, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 4,785
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1296 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Thanks. So you will set it up this way one time and leave it, or does it require changing based on the content you'll be playing?
I will be able to answer that better once DTS shows up. But that is the way I used my Marantz and how I will use the RS20i.

Quote:
Also am I correct to assume the DataSat supports OSD over HDMI, so you can make such configuration changes without being at the rack, and so that you can check version options/settings during playback to make sure the right speakers and settings are engaged as expected?
Not exactly. From a PC or iPad you can use a VNC viewer and do everything you would do sitting in front of the RS20i. I never use the front panel.

Our Theater

FS: Audyssey Pro Kit

Obsessed is just a word the ill-informed use to describe the dedicated
audioguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off