Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 133 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 970Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 5304 Old 10-19-2016, 10:27 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Maybe im wrong, but in huntsman at the alcons ballroom i think I heard the goblins voice as objects they sounded very discrete and directional when up in the treess. Who knows?
You're suppose to know... You are CINERAMAX after all!
SOWK is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 5304 Old 10-19-2016, 10:33 AM
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 17,735
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 1296
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Ok I say the goblins dialog is probably object based, id say 80% chance.
grtuck likes this.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #3963 of 5304 Old 10-20-2016, 09:05 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
OK. I sent an email to Datasat asking about a forum member made Dirac guide.

I will let you guys know what answer is given and I will respect their choice.

Even if they allowed it and you followed anything I post in the guide, I would need post a Disclaimer saying:

Datasat Digital Entertainment Inc. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this Web site is correct, complete, and up-to-date.

Last edited by SOWK; 10-20-2016 at 09:42 AM.
SOWK is online now  
 
post #3964 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 07:20 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Unit is in! It's a B-Stock (AKA: Demo unit) so it's got a few dings but nothing that detracts from how amazing this peice of equipment is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1849_1477146142570.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	1728617   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1848_1477146153748.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	155.0 KB
ID:	1728625  
SOWK is online now  
post #3965 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 10:26 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Here is the newest Datasat RS20i DataSheet if anyone is interested.

Also someone asked... If you have an HDMI 2.0 Unit, it is input HDMI 4
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Datasat RS20i - AVS.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	506.4 KB
ID:	1728857   Click image for larger version

Name:	Datasat RS20i Back - AVS.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	526.0 KB
ID:	1728865  

Last edited by SOWK; 10-22-2016 at 12:35 PM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3966 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 02:08 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Am I missing the LFE channel crossover settings somewhere?

I know you can set a low pass filter in the channel routing, but is that the only place to set up the LFE crossover?

As you can set the crossover HPF/LPF for each (non LFE) channel in the standard bass managment screen.

*Typical Low pass filter for the LFE channel starts at 120Hz.*
SOWK is online now  
post #3967 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2576 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Am I missing the LFE channel crossover settings somewhere?

I know you can set a low pass filter in the channel routing, but is that the only place to set up the LFE crossover?

As you can set the crossover HPF/LPF for each (non LFE) channel in the standard bass managment screen.

*Typical Low pass filter for the LFE channel starts at 120Hz.*
Either through the channel routing or the equivalent via the Dirac target curve you set for the LFE channel (I usually use the later).
audioguy is offline  
post #3968 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
OK. I sent an email to Datasat asking about a forum member made Dirac guide.

I will let you guys know what answer is given and I will respect their choice.

Even if they allowed it and you followed anything I post in the guide, I would need post a Disclaimer saying:

Datasat Digital Entertainment Inc. is not responsible for, and expressly disclaims all liability for, damages of any kind arising out of use, reference to, or reliance on any information contained within the site. While the information contained within the site is periodically updated, no guarantee is given that the information provided in this Web site is correct, complete, and up-to-date.
It would be great if this goes ahead and I understand the benefit of endorsement by Datasat but just curious as why their approval (or otherwise) would be critical?

A Dirac user guide has broader application beyond Datasat considering other manufacturers are using this EQ software. Also AVS forum has seen other 'user guides' being provided by members without manufacturer endorsement.

Notwithstanding the above I obviously accept that you determine the parameters under which you would be prepared to commit your efforts to.
stephenbr is online now  
post #3969 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 05:33 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
It would be great if this goes ahead and I understand the benefit of endorsement by Datasat but just curious as why their approval (or otherwise) would be critical?

A Dirac user guide has broader application beyond Datasat considering other manufacturers are using this EQ software. Also AVS forum has seen other 'user guides' being provided by members without manufacturer endorsement.

Notwithstanding the above I obviously accept that you determine the parameters under which you would be prepared to commit your efforts to.
As you might know, Datasat is not necessarily "consumer" friendly, and something like a Datasat Dirac Guide would go against both dealers and Datasat's current sales practices and professional installation values. I just prefer not to step on anyones toes.

Also, as you can see, the unit I received is a B-Stock unit and that wasnt without the help of both Datasat and a Dealer of Datasat products. (Otherwise my owning a Datasat was just never going to happen.)

So I already feel they did an invaluable service to me.
SOWK is online now  
post #3970 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
As you might know, Datasat is not necessarily "consumer" friendly, and something like a Datasat Dirac Guide would go against both dealers and Datasat's current sales practices and professional installation values. I just prefer not to step on anyones toes.

Also, as you can see, the unit I received is a B-Stock unit and that wasnt without the help of both Datasat and a Dealer of Datasat products. (Otherwise my owning a Datasat was just never going to happen.)

So I already feel they did an invaluable service to me.
Thx for the explanation - let's hope Datasat provides approval in the acknowledgement that those using this thread are a very small minority/niche of their market and that support of users such as ourselves are a positive for their business rather than a risk.
stephenbr is online now  
post #3971 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 06:51 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
Thx for the explanation - let's hope Datasat provides approval in the acknowledgement that those using this thread are a very small minority/niche of their market and that support of users such as ourselves are a positive for their business rather than a risk.
I mirrored those thoughts to them in the email.
SOWK is online now  
post #3972 of 5304 Old 10-22-2016, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Scott Wilkinson talks with Robert McKinley and Mike Skrzat about Datasat's products:

jdlynch, SOWK, mathbovy and 1 others like this.
stephenbr is online now  
post #3973 of 5304 Old 10-23-2016, 04:40 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Awesome video! Seems as if Datasat might be looking into working with the more knowledgeable AVS community members a bit more. That might play well into my email to them about a Datasat Dirac Guide.

I hope this "potentially" new mindset (crosses fingers)... does wonders for their business. They make incredible products and I would love to see it reach the hands of more knowledgeable AVS enthusiasts and calibrators like myself.

Last edited by SOWK; 10-23-2016 at 05:03 AM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3974 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 07:54 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Is there any Ipad / Iphone App that can turn the unit on and off/standby?

I don't own a control 4 system and I can use PuTTY on my PC, but thats a pain in the butt.

So other than pressing the physical power button/Control 4/PuTTY what options have people found or use to turn the unit on and off?
SOWK is online now  
post #3975 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Is there any Ipad / Iphone App that can turn the unit on and off/standby?

I don't own a control 4 system and I can use PuTTY on my PC, but thats a pain in the butt.

So other than pressing the physical power button/Control 4/PuTTY what options have people found or use to turn the unit on and off?
I use one of these IR to RS232 controllers from Celadon in combination with the Logitech Ultimate system:

http://www.celadon.com/infrared-rece...ver_specs.html

They have added a specific RS20i command table on their website now I see!:

http://www.celadon.com/infrared-rece...ode-Table.html
Wookii is offline  
post #3976 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 08:48 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Thank you Wookii. Any other suggestions from other members as well?

So far we have on/off button on unit, control 4, IR to RS232, PuTTY.
SOWK is online now  
post #3977 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 25,763
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1675 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Is there any Ipad / Iphone App that can turn the unit on and off/standby?

I don't own a control 4 system and I can use PuTTY on my PC, but thats a pain in the butt.

So other than pressing the physical power button/Control 4/PuTTY what options have people found or use to turn the unit on and off?
I used iRule. Simple. Cheap. Does all commands and feedback. iPad or iPhone.

Goodbye to a great audio and video genius and writer... JOHN GANNON. I enjoyed your friendship, wit and a nice long run we took around Indianapolis at CEDIA years back... and for buying my Runco 980 Ultra years back... you saved my ass! Rest in peace.
thebland is offline  
post #3978 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 04:20 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Has anyone attempted something like this to create a "fake" 9.2.4?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_18_15_55_923.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	105.3 KB
ID:	1733377   Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_18_16_01_378.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	1733385   Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_18_16_19_745.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	1733393   Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_18_16_23_843.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	122.2 KB
ID:	1733401   Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_23_58_03_396.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	1733865  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop_2016_10_24_23_58_06_902.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	1733873  

Last edited by SOWK; 10-24-2016 at 09:59 PM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3979 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2576 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
High and low pass at 80HZ? No comprende !!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 8.01.30 PM.png
Views:	51
Size:	73.7 KB
ID:	1733473  
grtuck likes this.
audioguy is offline  
post #3980 of 5304 Old 10-24-2016, 09:52 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
High and low pass at 80HZ? No comprende !!
I'll update the pics with the LP filter removed.

Last edited by SOWK; 10-24-2016 at 10:30 PM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3981 of 5304 Old 10-25-2016, 04:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2576 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Has anyone attempted something like this to create a "fake" 9.2.4?
I have done something similar. I created a 5.2.6 with "cloned" rear surrounds for the equivalent of a 7.2.6 by doing what you have done. I'm not sure why you put filters on the "cloned" speakers and the -3db may have to be adjusted but other than that, what you have laid out should work just fine.
audioguy is offline  
post #3982 of 5304 Old 10-25-2016, 04:21 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Reminder. I am doing this outside a working system for now, so I can't test anything directly yet. So Without direct feedback from my system I may have some "issues".

Would the "cloned" speakers have the same HP/LP filter of the Ltf and Rtf in the bass management menu? I would think the routing menu takes place before the bass management menu in the way the signal flow logic is laid out.

If the HP/LP filter of the Ltf and Rtf in the bass management menu are not applied to the "cloned" channels you would still want a HP filter to make sure you are not sending the full range to a non full range atmos speaker.

The -3 dB on the Ltf and Ltr (same for Rft and Rtr) is so when the two speakers play together they accommodate for the 6 dB boost you gain by having the same sound play out of both speakers. (But as you said in real world and in a real room it might have to be adjusted.)

Last edited by SOWK; 10-25-2016 at 04:25 AM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3983 of 5304 Old 10-25-2016, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2576 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Reminder. I am doing this outside a working system for now, so I can't test anything directly yet. So Without direct feedback from my system I may have some "issues"
.

I understand. Once your system is operational, you can test (with something like REW and your ears) to fine tune.

Quote:
Would the "cloned" speakers have the same HP/LP filter of the Ltf and Rtf in the bass management menu? I would think the routing menu takes place before the bass management menu in the way the signal flow logic is laid out.

If the HP/LP filter of the Ltf and Rtf in the bass management menu are not applied to the "cloned" channels you would still want a HP filter to make sure you are not sending the full range to a non full range atmos speaker.
You do have the "cloned" speakers filtered in the BM screen as they should be.

Quote:
The -3 dB on the Ltf and Ltr (same for Rft and Rtr) is so when the two speakers play together they accommodate for the 6 dB boost you gain by having the same sound play out of both speakers. (But as you said in real world and in a real room it might have to be adjusted.)
Don't tell anyone but I have my ceiling speakers set a few db higher than they are supposed to be. NOT the Directors Intent but it is my theater !!
audioguy is offline  
post #3984 of 5304 Old 10-25-2016, 04:46 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
You do have the "cloned" speakers filtered in the BM screen as they should be.

Don't tell anyone but I have my ceiling speakers set a few db higher than they are supposed to be. NOT the Directors Intent but it is my theater !!
I'm going to claim ignorance on this one. Where do you see my "cloned" speakers in the bass management menu? I have a HP/LP on the Ftl and Ftr. But does that transfer over to a speaker that I have cloned in the routing menu?

I would think the routing menu takes place before the bass management menu and that the "cloned" speakers would receive the entire 1hz-20Khz unless I set a HP filter in the routing menu.

I could be incorrect.

I would have ways of testing if I had it in my working system.


As for raising the dB in the ceiling speakers... I see no issue with that and I will likely do the same... I, along with a lot of people, upgrading to atmos are spending a lot of money to do so... so we better "hear" the difference.

Last edited by SOWK; 10-25-2016 at 05:38 AM.
SOWK is online now  
post #3985 of 5304 Old 10-26-2016, 08:05 AM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Dealers and users alike. Please PM me if you have a Dirac Live 2.0 Kit avail to sell.
SOWK is online now  
post #3986 of 5304 Old 10-26-2016, 08:20 AM
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 17,735
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2273 Post(s)
Liked: 1296
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
.

Don't tell anyone but I have my ceiling speakers set a few db higher than they are supposed to be. NOT the Directors Intent but it is my theater !!
Yeah screw the Directors, and certain calibrators that while being great people and techncicians are regretably TOO GERMAN in this way. If you have a good ear, start with the correct settings, but then GOOSE UP THE IMMERSIVE CHANNELS to whatever sounds more realistic.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #3987 of 5304 Old 10-27-2016, 12:09 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
There is rumor that DTS:X might be avail before the end of the year if everything goes well.

(Crosses my fingers and toes)
grtuck likes this.
SOWK is online now  
post #3988 of 5304 Old 10-27-2016, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,572
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2576 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
There is rumor that DTS:X might be avail before the end of the year if everything goes well.

(Crosses my fingers and toes)
Are there not only about a dozen DTS:X movies available for purchase?

I will be more than pleased (but incredibly surprised) if DTS:X is appreciably better than Atmos.
audioguy is offline  
post #3989 of 5304 Old 10-27-2016, 06:37 PM
SomeOne Who Knows
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,559
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Are there not only about a dozen DTS:X movies available for purchase?

I will be more than pleased (but incredibly surprised) if DTS:X is appreciably better than Atmos.
It would likely sound the same in a 7.1.4 setup, but as mentioned the "potential" of dialog volume control and dialog being an object for placment is what would take it one step further.

Up to the sound engineers though.
SOWK is online now  
post #3990 of 5304 Old 10-29-2016, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 648 Post(s)
Liked: 351
hey guys - does anyone use one of these in a living room theater, or are these pretty much mean for dedicated HT's?

Selling in AVS Classifieds
Salk Songtower RT (RAAL)
URC MX-880 Remotes

madhuski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off