Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 148 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 662Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4411 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 5,952
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2142 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzrock View Post
I've upload pix of my room that performs well now. I expect the 3-d experience to be awesome!!
Great looking room.

Who is doing the RS20i audio/room calibration for you, if you don't mind me asking?

Our Theater

Work as though you will live forever; live as though you will die tomorrow!

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
audioguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4412 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Great looking room.

Who is doing the RS20i audio/room calibration for you, if you don't mind me asking?
Datasat Team. While I like to tinker I am NOT a do it yourselfer. I prefer a professional setup.
jazzrock is offline  
post #4413 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Anyone ever have the RS20i volume control knob come loose, quit functioning and then come off?
I just saw this post now as I was searching back through the thread to see where people are getting breakout cables from. Anyway, did you get this sorted out?
I had an ATC SCA2 preamp and was having a bunch of my audio buddies over. One of them goes to adjust the volume on the preamp itself and doesn't the volume knob
come off. Kind of embarrassing, lol, but at least it was just a matter of tightening the set screw.

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
 
post #4414 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 5,952
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2142 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
I just saw this post now as I was searching back through the thread to see where people are getting breakout cables from. Anyway, did you get this sorted out?
I had an ATC SCA2 preamp and was having a bunch of my audio buddies over. One of them goes to adjust the volume on the preamp itself and doesn't the volume knob
come off. Kind of embarrassing, lol, but at least it was just a matter of tightening the set screw.
I know how to fix it but to do so requires disconnecting everything and removng from the rack. Then removing the faceplate!! What a pain !!!

Our Theater

Work as though you will live forever; live as though you will die tomorrow!

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
audioguy is online now  
post #4415 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
oy. yeah having to remove anything out of the rack with a gajillion cables in it is a pita.

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4416 of 4668 Old 03-09-2017, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
I was reading a previous post which mentioned that the pin out standard for the RS20 is "Dolby cinema standard", is that the same as Yamaha pinout standard?

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4417 of 4668 Old 03-10-2017, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Great looking room.

Who is doing the RS20i audio/room calibration for you, if you don't mind me asking?
Audioguy....I just tried to respond to your pm but dont know if my limited number of posts will allow that to be delivered to you
jazzrock is offline  
post #4418 of 4668 Old 03-10-2017, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
post 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzrock View Post
Audioguy....I just tried to respond to your pm but dont know if my limited number of posts will allow that to be delivered to you
post 14
jazzrock is offline  
post #4419 of 4668 Old 03-10-2017, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
post 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzrock View Post
post 14
post 15. This should do it!
jazzrock is offline  
post #4420 of 4668 Old 03-10-2017, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 5,952
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2142 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzrock View Post
Audioguy....I just tried to respond to your pm but dont know if my limited number of posts will allow that to be delivered to you
Got the PM and have responded. Thanks.
sdrucker likes this.

Our Theater

Work as though you will live forever; live as though you will die tomorrow!

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
audioguy is online now  
post #4421 of 4668 Old 03-10-2017, 11:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Raul GS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
I was reading a previous post which mentioned that the pin out standard for the RS20 is "Dolby cinema standard", is that the same as Yamaha pinout standard?
I don't think so.
Raul GS is offline  
post #4422 of 4668 Old 03-21-2017, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coral Springs Florida
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Great News! Beta for DTS-X for RS20 is coming to me this week!

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #4423 of 4668 Old 03-21-2017, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 5,952
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2142 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Integration View Post
Great News! Beta for DTS-X for RS20 is coming to me this week!
That's encouraging !!
llang269 likes this.

Our Theater

Work as though you will live forever; live as though you will die tomorrow!

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
audioguy is online now  
post #4424 of 4668 Old 03-21-2017, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul GS View Post
I don't think so.
ok thanks. I'll just buy from proaudiola as mentioned earlier in this thread...they seem to know how to build cables to work with the RS20

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4425 of 4668 Old 03-22-2017, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 5,952
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2142 Post(s)
Liked: 1388
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
ok thanks. I'll just buy from proaudiola as mentioned earlier in this thread...they seem to know how to build cables to work with the RS20
I'm not sure exactly what cables you are looking for but Datasat sells them --- but of course at top dollar. I purchased their extra length XLR output cables and their digital input cables as well.

Our Theater

Work as though you will live forever; live as though you will die tomorrow!

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
audioguy is online now  
post #4426 of 4668 Old 03-22-2017, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ganymed4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
ok thanks. I'll just buy from proaudiola as mentioned earlier in this thread...they seem to know how to build cables to work with the RS20
Do you need the pin-outs for the DB25 connectors? It is on the last pages of the RS20i manual, in case you need this. Tell me which one you need and I post it here. There is no secret about it.
Ganymed4 is offline  
post #4427 of 4668 Old 03-22-2017, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
matted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
I was reading a previous post which mentioned that the pin out standard for the RS20 is "Dolby cinema standard", is that the same as Yamaha pinout standard?
I'm not sure what the Dolby Cinema standard is, but I compared the pinout of the RS20i with the "common" Tascam and Yamaha standards and it is different from both of them.

A Dolby Reference decoder that I use at work has DB25 connectors on it which use the Tascam standard, however this is a Dolby Broadcast decoder and likely comes from a separate division of Dolby then the Cinema products.

To have any cable made, pretty much any Pro Audio dealer/rental house for recording/DJ/musical instruments should be able to custom order anything you need as long as you can specify the pinout, length, and gender of the cables required. In my experience even these custom cables should be considerably cheaper then what Datasat provides. If the custom cable can use Mogami parts then it will even be identical to the Datasat cable, although there will be a small premium for Mogami cable/connectors.
matted is offline  
post #4428 of 4668 Old 03-22-2017, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
I'm just looking for a digital out cable - I will connect my turntable prepreamp to the analog input on the Datasat and I wanted a digital out from the RS20 to go into my Alesis digital recorder. Also, since the Datasat will be located fairly close to my multichannel amp I was going to have a cable made up that would go from db25 to male xlr directly into the amp rather than having a jumper cable between the Datasat cable that came with the RS20 and the amp.

I saw the pinout arrangement on the cd version of the manual and could always photocopy it and send it to the cable maker. As noted, Datasat does sell the cables but for my needs I don't think I want to spend the Datasat bucks for their cable.

The Trinnov Altitude wins hands down for connectivity options - digital in with xlrs, digital outs, etc... but at least it's only a minor inconvenience and expense to get things for the RS20.

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4429 of 4668 Old 03-22-2017, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 24,519
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4773 Post(s)
Liked: 3174
Quote:
Originally Posted by matted View Post
I'm not sure what the Dolby Cinema standard is, but I compared the pinout of the RS20i with the "common" Tascam and Yamaha standards and it is different from both of them.

A Dolby Reference decoder that I use at work has DB25 connectors on it which use the Tascam standard, however this is a Dolby Broadcast decoder and likely comes from a separate division of Dolby then the Cinema products.
I think the current Dolby cinema decoder (CP-850) uses the Tascam pin-out while the previous model (CP-750) used the THX pin-out (as does the Datasat AP20). See attached.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DB-25 Pin Inputs.pdf (177.8 KB, 28 views)

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #4430 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
The secondary server has V1.05 alpha builds with DTS:X. If you know how to download non release builds you can install the latest alpha 4.
I felt reckless and installed it. Did not brick my unit and sounds good so far with the samples from the 2015 DTS Sampler Disc.
Any UHD BDs I should try? Which one has the best DTS:X soundtrack?
(Don't ask how to access these builds if you don't know already. I don't want to be responsible if you brick your unit.)
grtuck likes this.
mhafner is offline  
post #4431 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
The secondary server has V1.05 alpha builds with DTS:X. If you know how to download non release builds you can install the latest alpha 4.
I felt reckless and installed it. Did not brick my unit and sounds good so far with the samples from the 2015 DTS Sampler Disc.
Any UHD BDs I should try? Which one has the best DTS:X soundtrack?
(Don't ask how to access these builds if you don't know already. I don't want to be responsible if you brick your unit.)
Great to hear DTS:X is on its way - did you notice any other changes with this update?
stephenbr is online now  
post #4432 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Off Topic Question

My Datasat is being installed next week with calibration the following week. Getting pumped!

Two Questions;

While there are more Bluray discs being released with Atmos/dts-X there are also several being released on 4k discs. To be able to take advantage of the soun dtracks on 4k discs I was thinking of replacing my Oppo 105D with the new 203 4k unit. The issue is I have a Runco VX22-d 1080 projector that i will not be replacing for couple years. Is it possible to play 4k discs to get the 3-d audio but send a 1080 video to the projector? Even if this is possible, will it end up delivering an inferior video image to the projector than the standard 1080 Bluray? I don't want to degrade my picture quality just to get the 3d audio.


Lastly, for those who listen to hi-res audio.....I have always listened to my SACD and DVD-A music discs in direct mode by-passing all processing. I know this isn't exactly available in the Datasat and, in many respects, isn't as much of a necessity to get the best direct playback quality from source audio since I now will be able to send the audio signal into the processor for conversion to analogue....but I still would like to get the most accurate playback from the source without coloring it or adding unecessary eq. How do you listen to hi res discs to maintane the purest stream from the disc?

Really value the experience you guys have and appreciate any feedback.

Thanks!
jazzrock is offline  
post #4433 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Jazzrock, I assume you realize you will need to have the Oppo convert the sacd to output pcm and not dsd. Then you will be basically using the dacs in the RS20. You can do this with no processing if you want, but if you do any bass management or if you are using multichannel sacd then you may as well enjoy the benefits of the RS20 such as dirac, peq etc...

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4434 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
The secondary server has V1.05 alpha builds with DTS:X. If you know how to download non release builds you can install the latest alpha 4.
I felt reckless and installed it. Did not brick my unit and sounds good so far with the samples from the 2015 DTS Sampler Disc.
Any UHD BDs I should try? Which one has the best DTS:X soundtrack?
(Don't ask how to access these builds if you don't know already. I don't want to be responsible if you brick your unit.)
I don't even know where the primary server is.

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4435 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
Also, since the Datasat will be located fairly close to my multichannel amp I was going to have a cable made up that would go from db25 to male xlr directly into the amp rather than having a jumper cable between the Datasat cable that came with the RS20 and the amp.
Sometimes it pays to just look at the manual, or in this case actually look at the cable. It already has male xlr connectors so it can plug directly into the amp. yay, now I don't have to buy one.

Just need a digital out cable. Too bad they didn't have just one digital out connector on the RS20. Or do they? Maybe I'll read the manual.

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is offline  
post #4436 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
Great to hear DTS:X is on its way - did you notice any other changes with this update?
No.
stephenbr likes this.
mhafner is offline  
post #4437 of 4668 Old 03-23-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bogg View Post
Jazzrock, I assume you realize you will need to have the Oppo convert the sacd to output pcm and not dsd. Then you will be basically using the dacs in the RS20. You can do this with no processing if you want, but if you do any bass management or if you are using multichannel sacd then you may as well enjoy the benefits of the RS20 such as dirac, peq etc...
Get your point. For 5.1 in particular. Had forgotten the need to decode DSD IN THE PLAYER. I did read that quite a few pages back.

Thx Bogg
jazzrock is offline  
post #4438 of 4668 Old 03-24-2017, 03:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
No.
Did you compare upmixer for DTS:X, Atmos and Auro?
westmd is offline  
post #4439 of 4668 Old 03-24-2017, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Did you compare upmixer for DTS:X, Atmos and Auro?
Not really. I wait for the final release for that.
mhafner is offline  
post #4440 of 4668 Old 03-24-2017, 04:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1063 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
Not really. I wait for the final release for that.
You're a braver man than me, being willing to load an Alpha release, I've been waiting for the beta version to appear on that server!

Is the DTS Neural X upmixer working on the version you tested?
Wookii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off