Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 1814 Old 04-04-2013, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
schlitzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No need to currently as my RS35 is putting out the absolute best image it is capable of -- and it really is quite good. While I do have the urge to upgrade, I want to change my screen first, to go from 16:9 to CinemaScope. Maybe later this year if the income gods smile on me
schlitzie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 1814 Old 04-05-2013, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Oh my - what do I see here? RA7300 and RA2400 running the demo room at Datasat I think!

djnickuk likes this.

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #603 of 1814 Old 04-05-2013, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The back of the room showing the Cineversum Blackwing projector, the tiny little Wisdom Audio P2i surrounds and the lovely CinemaTech chairs.

djnickuk likes this.

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #604 of 1814 Old 04-05-2013, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
multimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by multimedes View Post

Yes I am able to communicate using the Putty Lan IP connection but cannot communicate using the PUTTY com port connection. Are you using IP or Comport?
The only reason I am testing with PUTTY is because I have written my AMX code but it also will not connect.
I have changed cables, tested with another piece of equipment which works but no joy with the RS20i. I do get garbage down the link when first powered on but no response from the commands.
Also to get the IP connection working I needed to leave the CR off as using PUTTY to enter the command you hit the enter key which itself is a CR. All commands then worked via IP.
Just to add I have tried all the obvious baud rate speeds from 9600-115K.

Answer to my own question:

HEY PRESTO!!! Made up a new RS232 cable with just pins 2,3 and 5 connected and everything works fine. Should have followed the diagram in the manual.
So a standard straight through RS232 cable fully populated does not work, but I should have known that, but did not think of it until 1.30am this morning, 3 days wasted.

The clue that triggered my thought process was Datasat support, after I sent then a log print out, telling me there should be no garbage received from the Control port, after a hard reboot, therefore I concluded some other connection was causing this on reboot and then the penny dropped.

Thanks again Datasat for the support.
multimedes is offline  
post #605 of 1814 Old 04-14-2013, 06:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by multimedes View Post

Peter, Are you using Netlinx?

Yes, but duracomm is the programmer.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #606 of 1814 Old 04-16-2013, 01:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just got the news that a very desirable piece of upgrade hardware will be in my hands on Thursday smile.gif
djnickuk likes this.

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #607 of 1814 Old 04-16-2013, 01:59 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is that the Dolby HD expansion card Neil?
stephenbr is online now  
post #608 of 1814 Old 04-16-2013, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
:-)

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #609 of 1814 Old 04-18-2013, 02:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
New firmware update available! I guess to coincide with today's release of the dsp card.....
djnickuk is offline  
post #610 of 1814 Old 04-18-2013, 03:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I would suggest you DO NOT update the machine until you have your new decoder card. I just did and need to roll it back as it looks for the decoder card and I can not get any sound out of the pro so its back to the previous firmware until my card is delivered.
djnickuk is offline  
post #611 of 1814 Old 04-18-2013, 03:55 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I wonder whether Datasat will take this opportunity to update the RS20i's manual?
stephenbr is online now  
post #612 of 1814 Old 04-22-2013, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by multimedes View Post

Peter, Are you using Netlinx?

Yes it is.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #613 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Oh happy days......

Phil from Genesis kindly dropped my DSP update card to me this afternoon.

Installation is a breeze. All instructions are included. But basically one takes the included USB stick and insert into the USB input on the front of the RS20i. Then navigate to the update menu and select to update from USB stick. You can of course update from the main server also. USB stick is a lot fast tho.

Once the software is updated you turn the machine off at the rear. Unplug and then strap yourself to the machine using the included Anti-static wrist strap and remove the very top expansion port cover.

Once removed, take the new dsp card and carefully insert into the slot down the guide rails and firmly push into place. Screw the two end screws back into place and that's it, jobs done.

Plug back in, turn on and enjoy. Your RS20i is now THE MOST POWERFUL PROCESSOR AVAILABLE.

My HT room is in the final stages of being overhauled but as soon as I have finished, this weekend, I will get to experimenting with DTS NEO X and in particular the wide speakers. If I like the sound with wides then I shall get wides installed ready for when Neil comes to calibrate the now 16 channels of Dirac Live!

Here are some pics of the card and some screen shots of the new screens. I'm currently listening in 2 channel mode with phantom centres and surrounds so I can not really comment about any audio improvements.










djnickuk is offline  
post #614 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 01:11 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks very much for the info and the pics. Never imagined installation would be so easy.

I got a missive from Datasat saying I can expect my card sometime in May, so it looks like the colonies are lagging a bit behind.
GGA is online now  
post #615 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks Nick - interesting to note the option on the last screen shot called 'Direct Mode' that appears to be new - have you tried that?
stephenbr is online now  
post #616 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just the benefit of knowing the right people wink.gif

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
post #617 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 02:42 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post

Thanks Nick - interesting to note the option on the last screen shot called 'Direct Mode' that appears to be new - have you tried that?

This is in the current menu under Decoder options. The explanation I received when I queried Datasat was:

DD/DTS is still decoded.
Dirac, EQ, Parametrics, bass/treble and HP/LP filters are disabled.
GGA is online now  
post #618 of 1814 Old 04-25-2013, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thx GGA - I hadn't noticed it before.
stephenbr is online now  
post #619 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Well had a chance to play around with my front height channels and Neo x / pl2z yesterday.

Mind blowing. I'm only running 7.0H at the mo as I am still finishing off the room, but from my first experiments the heights deliver a great deal to the mix.

I was a bit sceptical at first but once I heard what they do I am more than impressed. NEO X Being a fair bit better than pl2z IMO. Better steering and dynamics. Also better centre channel dialogue.

Watched abit of Elementry and the new Hannible thing. Atmospherics are stunning. Gun shots ringing around really quite realistically. And listening to 2 channel music content upmatrixed to NEO X 7.1H is really good. A live performance, say Adele in the royal Albert hall delivers a massive open sound stage that makes the ceiling feel as tho its much higher than it is.

I now can not wait to get the full 11.2 system all running, which should be this weekend, all being well.
djnickuk is offline  
post #620 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 843 Post(s)
Liked: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

NEO X Being a fair bit better than pl2z IMO. Better steering and dynamics. Also better centre channel dialogue.
Were you comparing Neo:X to PLIIz using a multi-channel mix? Or were you extracting dialogue from a 2-channel movie soundtrack?

Sanjay
sdurani is online now  
post #621 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I was experimenting with 2 channel PCM and 5.1 dd. I always prefered PL2 to neo 6 but, to me, neo x seems a bit better.
djnickuk is offline  
post #622 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 225
^^ If you are saying Neo:X gives >>better centre channel dialogue<< than PLIIz when using 5.1 sources, it's a little confusing because neither process touches the center channel. It is possible that the processes cause a difference in overall gain (including the center channel), so that would have to be checked with a test disc.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #623 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 05:05 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
DTS has these rather mysterious statements on their website that I have wondered about for awhile:

Cinema mode: This mode offers a clear and enhanced Center channel that makes center stage action stand out in movie soundtracks, with a firm position for dialogue. It also enables listeners to experience the full audio effect across a wider range of audience seating.

Music mode (enhanced immersion for music): In this mode, use of the Center channel is more controlled to prevent narrowing of the front of the musical soundstage.


Any idea what they mean?

http://www.dts.com/professionals/sound-technologies/audio-processing/dts-3d-audio.aspx
GGA is online now  
post #624 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Sounds like a fancy way of saying higher center level for the former and less for the latter

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #625 of 1814 Old 05-08-2013, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGA View Post

DTS has these rather mysterious statements on their website that I have wondered about for awhile:

Cinema mode: This mode offers a clear and enhanced Center channel that makes center stage action stand out in movie soundtracks, with a firm position for dialogue. It also enables listeners to experience the full audio effect across a wider range of audience seating.

Music mode (enhanced immersion for music): In this mode, use of the Center channel is more controlled to prevent narrowing of the front of the musical soundstage.


Any idea what they mean?]
Yes. But be advised, these statements only pertain to 2-ch sources.

The Cinema mode (analogous to Dolby PLII's Movie mode), extracts dialog from the L/R and steers it to the center speaker. That leads to the benefits described.

Music mode leaves some of the "dialog" (i.e., main vocals) in the L/R. In PLII, the Center Width control varies the dialog distribution from 2-ch pure phantom, to full center, and several steps between, one of which is the default setting used for Music mode.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #626 of 1814 Old 05-09-2013, 03:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Roger has that description nailed!

But what I was eluding to was that Dolby pl2z seems to 'bleed' thru a bit of centre dialogue into the heights. This doesn't happen with Neo X.
djnickuk is offline  
post #627 of 1814 Old 05-09-2013, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

But what I was eluding to was that Dolby pl2z seems to 'bleed' thru a bit of centre dialogue into the heights. This doesn't happen with Neo X.
Is that bleed coming from center channel or L/R? If you play a test disc of center only, with the center speaker muted, does PLIIz make a sound?
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #628 of 1814 Old 05-09-2013, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Ill give that test a whirl tomorrow and report back! But my thoughts were that pl2z was sending some centre channel dialogue to the front heights.
djnickuk is offline  
post #629 of 1814 Old 05-11-2013, 02:00 AM
Newbie
 
yagmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I need some help. I just had the new Dolby Digital card installed. Everything seems to work fine but when I look at what the Datasat is processing when I play a Dolby Digital TrueHD bluray (Mission Impossible :Ghost Protocol), it show output as 7.1 and on the right hand side shows me 3/2/1 and underneath that DTS 48K, if i enable DTS NEO X then it shows me DTS 48K + DTS:NEO X. DRC is set to On/TRUEHD-AUTO.

Where I am getting confused is that if I am play a DDTrueHD disc should it not show that instead of DTS 48K and then what ever post processing we are doing? I guess I expect to see DDTrueHD somewhere on the screen as the source. My Oppo shows that it is outputting DDTrueHD.

Is this a bug or do I need to change some setting?


Thanks for your help on this.
yagmeister is offline  
post #630 of 1814 Old 05-11-2013, 03:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yagmeister I am not sure what is going on there. But this is what it should be displaying,

If I have DRC engaged or not, it makes no difference to the main screen.





djnickuk is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off