Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1720 Old 03-28-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Huff View Post

As I understand your question, the answer is 'Yes!'. All crossovers between drivers and channels are configured by the RS20i hardware and not within Dirac Live. Bass Management crossovers can be set to either 12dB or 24dB per octave. Frequency is adjustable from 31Hz to 160Hz. Gain and delays are independently adjustable for each of the 4 subwoofer channel. Any questions that you might have are best answered by reviewing the following ...

The RS20i Installation and Operating Guide is here ...
http://www.datasatdigital.com/docs/archive/TM-H529_V1.01_RS20i_User_Guide.pdf

The addendum to that guide that includes description of the recent enhancements is here ...
http://www.datasatdigital.com/docs/archive/TN-H620revARS20iDecodercardsetup.pdf
____________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff

Thanks for that, Carl. Very interesting how the subs are paired with speakers that are close when they are labeled front, right, rear, etc. I think its pretty clear how that would steer movie content, where the .1 channel goes to all the subs and discrete channels near the subs get the content below the crossover point sent to the closest sub, but when listening to a stereo music source that is expanded to PLIIx, do all the subs play the low frequency content or just the ones playing content that PLIIx steered to the channel near that sub? Or would the real world difference be minimal? The reason I ask is because if the subs are calibrated as a summed whole, it would seem that on music you would want all the subs playing back all content below the crossover frequency (especially if all of the speakers are the same and have the same crossover).
hifiaudio2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1720 Old 03-28-2014, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carl_Huff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Dirac Live setup is done with all decoding, matrixing schemes, EQ and BM (Bass Management) shut off. Doing so allows Dirac Live to provide you with a flat amplitude and time corrected palette to build upon. Once the Dirac Live filters are applied only then do you turn on Bass Management. After turning on BM I setup at the 'prime listening position', run pink noise thru each channel fine tuning BM xovers, adjusting levels using my Simpson SLM (Sound Level Meter) and spectrum analyzer software running on my laptop. I use the same measurement microphone that I used to gen the Dirac Live filters.

That's all there is to it!
________________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Carl_Huff is offline  
post #1443 of 1720 Old 03-28-2014, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Right, any boffs out there able to shed some light onto this for me.

When I play an SACD from my oppo 93 via HDMI into the RS20i it of course receives a MCH LPCM signal. I am able to use Dirac on this but can not add any further processing, for eg, run pl2x on a stereo SACD LPCM.

Yet with a blu ray film encoded with LPCM I can apply any processing I desire?

Is there some signal being sent along with the SACD LPCM signal to disallow the addition of further processing?
djnickuk is offline  
post #1444 of 1720 Old 03-28-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Right, any boffs out there able to shed some light onto this for me. When I play an SACD from my oppo 93 via HDMI into the RS20i it of course receives a MCH LPCM signal. I am able to use Dirac on this but can not add any further processing, for eg, run pl2x on a stereo SACD LPCM. Yet with a blu ray film encoded with LPCM I can apply any processing I desire? Is there some signal being sent along with the SACD LPCM signal to disallow the addition of further processing?

IIRC, When I play back a SACD on my Sony S370 BD player as MCh LPCM, the delivered content sample rate is 176.4 kHz rather than the 44.1 kHz usual from a BD movie soundtrack.
_

[Home Office system schematic]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is online now  
post #1445 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 01:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Right, any boffs out there able to shed some light onto this for me.

When I play an SACD from my oppo 93 via HDMI into the RS20i it of course receives a MCH LPCM signal. I am able to use Dirac on this but can not add any further processing, for eg, run pl2x on a stereo SACD LPCM.

Yet with a blu ray film encoded with LPCM I can apply any processing I desire?

Is there some signal being sent along with the SACD LPCM signal to disallow the addition of further processing?
There is no flag that would disallow processing.

Oppo outputs the seldom used sample rate of 88.2 kHz for SACD PCM. Perhaps the RS20i is allergic to that? How does it behave with 96 kHz 5.1 sources? 192 kHz?
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #1446 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

There is no flag that would disallow processing.

Oppo outputs the seldom used sample rate of 88.2 kHz for SACD PCM. Perhaps the RS20i is allergic to that? How does it behave with 96 kHz 5.1 sources? 192 kHz?

Thanks for that.

I just put in one of my 2L.NO blu rays which has 7.1 96/24 DTS MAHD and 5.1 192/24 DTS MA HD and it would seem the Datasat will not apply processing to any signal above 96/24. But this is an error on the software as the unit is applying Dirac which means the signal is getting downsampled to diracs capabilities of 96/24.

Not that this really means anything in the real world as I have hardly any content above 96/24 and all that I do have I probably wouldn't really want to add further processing to anyway.

But this leads me on to the next thing.

Since I have had my new Datasat amp, previously coming from ADA amps I have noticed a really annoying thing.

On a lot of blu rays and TIVO / Netflix or Sky Now TV I notice a fair bit of what sounds like distortion on the centre channel around voices. Particularly female voices and people who are shouting.

At first I thought I had blown my tweeter, or damaged it as its that kind of overly driven, resonating distortion. I first noticed when watching the breaking bad series on blu ray

And the volume doesn't seem to matter.

Thinking it was a damaged tweeter I shifted the speaker mapping around so that the left or right front was acting as the centre and this distortion was still present.

So that led me on to Dirac thinking perhaps it's boosting some upper frequency too much due to a bum calibration session. Not the case as this still happens with Dirac off.

But, I do not get ANY kind of distortion when playing music thru my nad streamer, male or female voices being played back near reference are all clear as day.

So I thought perhaps it's an HDMI issue.

But again, if I play back one of my sacds, DVD audios or any of my dolby or dts blu ray test demo CES disks again, no distortion.

So this leads me to one conclusion. Im hearing poor mix down and clipping / over compression of the mics used for recording. Which I just find really odd.

All my previous amps have been of high quality like the Ada 2502s. I can't believe that the Datasat amps has that much more detail and resolution that I can now hear bad mix downs where previously I had been completely unaware of such distortion.

Any ideas?
djnickuk is offline  
post #1447 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Thanks for that.

I just put in one of my 2L.NO blu rays which has 7.1 96/24 DTS MAHD and 5.1 192/24 DTS MA HD and it would seem the Datasat will not apply processing to any signal above 96/24. But this is an error on the software as the unit is applying Dirac which means the signal is getting downsampled to diracs capabilities of 96/24.

Not that this really means anything in the real world as I have hardly any content above 96/24 and all that I do have I probably wouldn't really want to add further processing to anyway.
88.2 is not above 96 and it does not work either, so it is apparently not a MIPS issue. It seems to be a simple oversight. If you notify Datasat, they ought to be able to enable these processing modes for all sample rates. It used to be a requirement of Dolby that PLIIx work for all sources, but it may not have been tested.

Quote:
But this leads me on to the next thing. On a lot of blu rays and TIVO / Netflix or Sky Now TV I notice a fair bit of what sounds like distortion on the centre channel around voices. Particularly female voices and people who are shouting.

But, I do not get ANY kind of distortion when playing music thru my nad streamer, male or female voices being played back near reference are all clear as day.

So this leads me to one conclusion. I'm hearing poor mix down and clipping / over compression of the mics used for recording. Which I just find really odd.
Production dialog often has such distortion (no excuse for it, yet it remains). It is virtually non-existent in animations or ADR. I hear obvious vocal clipping even in big budget music recordings from little-known artists like Celine Dion (O Holy Night is a perfect example), so I have re-recorded such music through Perfect Declipper which can often reduce the problem effectively -- completely in the case of O Holy Night (waveforms attached FYI).

Unfortunately, it is not convenient to run this tool for movies as it imposes latency. I think I'll ask FilmMixer if they tried such tools for predub cleanup.

Once I became aware of the problem, I am more prone to detect it, not unlike what happened once I learned what MP3 artifacts sounded like. Perhaps you have reached your "clipping threshold." Too bad we cannot roll back the clock and rejoin the "ignorance is bliss" listener profile. wink.gif

DeClipped.pdf 102k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DeClipped.pdf (102.2 KB, 4 views)
djnickuk likes this.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #1448 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundChex View Post

IIRC, When I play back a SACD on my Sony S370 BD player as MCh LPCM, the delivered content sample rate is 176.4 kHz rather than the 44.1 kHz usual from a BD movie soundtrack.
_

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

88.2 is not above 96 and it does not work either, so it is apparently not a MIPS issue. It seems to be a simple oversight. If you notify Datasat, they ought to be able to enable these processing modes for all sample rates. It used to be a requirement of Dolby that PLIIx work for all sources, but it may not have been tested.
Production dialog often has such distortion (no excuse for it, yet it remains). It is virtually non-existent in animations or ADR. I hear obvious vocal clipping even in big budget music recordings from little-known artists like Celine Dion (O Holy Night is a perfect example), so I have re-recorded such music through Perfect Declipper which can often reduce the problem effectively -- completely in the case of O Holy Night (waveforms attached FYI).

Unfortunately, it is not convenient to run this tool for movies as it imposes latency. I think I'll ask FilmMixer if they tried such tools for predub cleanup.

Once I became aware of the problem, I am more prone to detect it, not unlike what happened once I learned what MP3 artifacts sounded like. Perhaps you have reached your "clipping threshold." Too bad we cannot roll back the clock and rejoin the "ignorance is bliss" listener profile. wink.gif

DeClipped.pdf 102k .pdf file

Hi Roger,

Thanks for your help. I wasn't sure what the sampling rate of the sacds were, confused by soundchex stating his sacds play back at 176.4.

I suppose that 88.2 may not be a supported sample rate? Either way, I have informed Datasat and I'm sure they will sort the issue out.

And re the distortion issues, I was really hoping someone would come up with a potential hardware or setup issue and feared the answer you actually gave. If it's truly the case that these recording are actually screwed at the mixing stage then that is really annoying. I would expect it on some lesser budget tv shows, but on things like Breaking Bad I would expect top notch mixing and sound production.

Oh well, as you say, bring back the ignorance is bliss.
djnickuk is offline  
post #1449 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post


Hi Roger,

Thanks for your help. I wasn't sure what the sampling rate of the sacds were, confused by soundchex stating his sacds play back at 176.4.
Soundchex is correct that Sony players decimate DSD to 176.4 kHz PCM, while Oppo's is 88.2 kHz. Those are independent choices for the decimator function. All these rates, 44.1, 88.2, 176.4, are evenly divisible factors of 64, 32, and 16, respectively, from the native DSD rate of 2.8224 MHz rate.
Quote:
And re the distortion issues, I was really hoping someone would come up with a potential hardware or setup issue and feared the answer you actually gave. If it's truly the case that these recording are actually screwed at the mixing stage then that is really annoying. I would expect it on some lesser budget tv shows, but on things like Breaking Bad I would expect top notch mixing and sound production.
I was speaking in generalities. To really know what was afoot for any specific program, it would be good to eliminate the variables. For Breaking Bad, what was the delivery mechanism? Internet streaming with unknown processing/compression, or was it from an optical disc which is a shorter, cleaner path?

As "big budget" as Breaking Bad may be, it was still not a full on cinematic production budget. Again, with modern technology I can see no good reason to have distorted audio coming from a shoot, but I must be missing something that prevents mic clipping from being extinguished from the planet!
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #1450 of 1720 Old 03-30-2014, 04:41 PM
GGA
Advanced Member
 
GGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Topanga CA
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Thanks for that.

I just put in one of my 2L.NO blu rays which has 7.1 96/24 DTS MAHD and 5.1 192/24 DTS MA HD and it would seem the Datasat will not apply processing to any signal above 96/24. But this is an error on the software as the unit is applying Dirac which means the signal is getting downsampled to diracs capabilities of 96/24.

Not that this really means anything in the real world as I have hardly any content above 96/24 and all that I do have I probably wouldn't really want to add further processing to anyway.

But this leads me on to the next thing.

Since I have had my new Datasat amp, previously coming from ADA amps I have noticed a really annoying thing.

On a lot of blu rays and TIVO / Netflix or Sky Now TV I notice a fair bit of what sounds like distortion on the centre channel around voices. Particularly female voices and people who are shouting.

At first I thought I had blown my tweeter, or damaged it as its that kind of overly driven, resonating distortion. I first noticed when watching the breaking bad series on blu ray

And the volume doesn't seem to matter.

Thinking it was a damaged tweeter I shifted the speaker mapping around so that the left or right front was acting as the centre and this distortion was still present.

So that led me on to Dirac thinking perhaps it's boosting some upper frequency too much due to a bum calibration session. Not the case as this still happens with Dirac off.

But, I do not get ANY kind of distortion when playing music thru my nad streamer, male or female voices being played back near reference are all clear as day.

So I thought perhaps it's an HDMI issue.

But again, if I play back one of my sacds, DVD audios or any of my dolby or dts blu ray test demo CES disks again, no distortion.

So this leads me to one conclusion. Im hearing poor mix down and clipping / over compression of the mics used for recording. Which I just find really odd.

All my previous amps have been of high quality like the Ada 2502s. I can't believe that the Datasat amps has that much more detail and resolution that I can now hear bad mix downs where previously I had been completely unaware of such distortion.

Any ideas?

Hello Nick,

Regarding the distortion, you might try decoding in the Oppo and sending PCM. I would turn off everything I can, Dirac, EQ, decoding (NEO), BM, etc. and mute all the speakers except the Center.

Are all wires and power cords well seated?

If you go to the Graphic EQ screen you can look at the incoming and outgoing frequency responses of the Center and see if you notice anything unusual. I was watching an 1940s moving on Satellite (Turner Classic Movies) and was getting a terrible hum. I looked at the incoming chart and saw a big spike at 60Hz. Using the Graphic and Parametric EQs I was able to reduce the hum to inaudibility.

You might also engage the Pink Noise and see if there is anything unusual in the outgoing signal.

Like you stated it seems unlikely that the new amps are providing so much more detail than your previous high quality amps. Is it possible to put the old amps back and recheck?
GGA is offline  
post #1451 of 1720 Old 04-17-2014, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Just thought I'd show a little Datasat Porn from their new UK disti Pulse.

RS20i, 2 x RA2400 and 2 x RA7300



Driving an 18.10 triad system.

stephenbr likes this.
djnickuk is offline  
post #1452 of 1720 Old 04-17-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Nice, looks sick

Blazar!
blazar is online now  
post #1453 of 1720 Old 04-18-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Triad?? Which model?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1454 of 1720 Old 04-18-2014, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's the two speakers from the Triad Reference range, found here:

http://www.triadspeakers.com/products/intropagecr.html

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is online now  
post #1455 of 1720 Old 04-18-2014, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Very interesting. High output / folded ribbon tweeter / waveguide..... I would love to hear those.
hifiaudio2 is online now  
post #1456 of 1720 Old 04-19-2014, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Similar to the Questeds I have for testing. The ribbons are nice and make quite an improvement over my compression drivrers.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1457 of 1720 Old 04-19-2014, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 19
stephenbr is offline  
post #1458 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Add a second HDMI out and more HDMI inputs, a quieter fan and potential for Atmos ability and it'd be ideal. But, none the less, a bench mark.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1459 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Add a second HDMI out and more HDMI inputs, a quieter fan and potential for Atmos ability and it'd be ideal. But, none the less, a bench mark.

Considering the Datasat Ls10 will be along shortly and offering around 8 HDMI inputs and 2 outputs..the Rs20i should have had as many as that to start with.

Instead of waiting for any amendments that may not land, I think a dedicated video processor would be more suitable. Roll on the super lumagen that can handle 4k inputs,outputs and the rest of it.

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is online now  
post #1460 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Yes it's the lack of 4k pass thru chips that are delaying the LS10. And I imagine that we won't see an HDMI expansion card for the RS20i until HDMI 2 is available. I certainly know I would buy an expansion card for mine until HDMI 2 is released.

And as stated, I would rather buy a new lumagen.
djnickuk is offline  
post #1461 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Yes it's the lack of 4k pass thru chips that are delaying the LS10. And I imagine that we won't see an HDMI expansion card for the RS20i until HDMI 2 is available. I certainly know I would buy an expansion card for mine until HDMI 2 is released.

And as stated, I would rather buy a new lumagen.

So,has Datasat promised HDMI 2.0 on the RS-20i?
Does it have room for an Atmos card when that comes to be?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1462 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

So,has Datasat promised HDMI 2.0 on the RS-20i?
Does it have room for an Atmos card when that comes to be?

Datasat hasn't promised anything in regards to any upgrades apart from the Auro 3D update. I guess it's not a wise business move to promise something which is still yet to be finalised let alone manufactured by a 3rd party company.

And same goes with Atmos. The only murmurings about domestic Atmos have hinted at a 9.1 system. But if any processor has the capabilities it is the RS20i.

Chances are, like with the Auro update, Atmos would not require a new card. And if it did there is still 2 expansion ports free.
djnickuk is offline  
post #1463 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

Datasat hasn't promised anything in regards to any upgrades apart from the Auro 3D update. I guess it's not a wise business move to promise something which is still yet to be finalised let alone manufactured by a 3rd party company.

And same goes with Atmos. The only murmurings about domestic Atmos have hinted at a 9.1 system. But if any processor has the capabilities it is the RS20i.

Chances are, like with the Auro update, Atmos would not require a new card. And if it did there is still 2 expansion ports free.

Hvae they announced an exact date for Auro?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1464 of 1720 Old 04-20-2014, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Hvae they announced an exact date for Auro?

I've been told by the end of this month.
djnickuk is offline  
post #1465 of 1720 Old 04-21-2014, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Nice bit on Auro 3D.

Nice to see 3 major avr manufacturers are picking up the codec along with the super high end like CAT.

http://www.insideci.co.uk/articles/why-height-is-the-missing-dimension-in-sound.aspx
djnickuk is offline  
post #1466 of 1720 Old 04-23-2014, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
djnickuk is offline  
post #1467 of 1720 Old 04-23-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I noticed on one of the bass graphs from the review above shows a freq response that goes down to 20hz. Can you tweak bass down to 10 hz? 5 hz? Does it display graphs down to 5Hz?

Thanks

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1468 of 1720 Old 04-23-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #1469 of 1720 Old 04-24-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

I've been told by the end of this month.

Funny - I had some questions about it and I placed a call last week to Datasat. I just got a return phone call from Datasat a minute ago and she said Auro for the RS-20i by the end of the year as they are still working on the LS-10 version. I've heard 'very soon' from everyone else!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1470 of 1720 Old 04-24-2014, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carl_Huff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Funny - I had some questions about it and I placed a call last week to Datasat. I just got a return phone call from Datasat a minute ago and she said Auro for the RS-20i by the end of the year as they are still working on the LS-10 version. I've heard 'very soon' from everyone else!

The difference is you spoke with the crew building it versus the 'sales guys' selling it! Ha, ha ...
____________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Carl_Huff is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off