Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1940 Old 07-09-2014, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibia View Post
I am giving serious consideration to a major updating of my A/V system. It is essentially a 7.1 layout with the left and right front channels quad-amplified. Presently I am using Behringer crossovers and Rane audio delays to achieve time alignment of the various drivers and an Audio Precision System One to determine optimal delay and crossover settings. Have any of you used your RS20i to time align multi driver speaker enclosures? If so I would appreciate hearing your comments. One thing that concerns me is if the RS20i time delay incremental adjustments are fine enough. The Rane units allow for adjustments to hundredths of a millisecond.

Thanks and best regards,
Dennis
I had Carl Huff help me align the multiple drivers in my system. Dirac live did a great job of EQing them as well.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1940 Old 07-17-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Mike Schurzak (to be corrected) from Datasat visited Prometheus to discuss auro and yes atmos upgrade path for that room. YOUTUBE Post 2 here shows how the datasat adapts to the different speaker configurations while communicating the correct edid to the blu ray player.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1713 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I didn't wanted to post Datasat vs. Storm Audio because both brands ooze quality and rock in .

However a comparison between thse 2 sets would be something useful.

Datasat has a storng Processor, the RS20i with the lateast (and the oldest) decoding we can ever demand, and besides it has empty slots for the future. In terms of Amps, their amps are Class A circuit.

Storm Audio has also an amazing processor with lots of decoding (not so much for the old ones we need once a while) and in terms of Amps they went to Class D.

Well Datasat Amps are rated like 300 watts per channel, and the Storm Audio provided us a strong 350 watt per channel.

Question is:

- How does Class A vs. Class D compares in terms of performance?
- Is this the technology of the future or Class A will continue to rule?

P.S: Athem Statement Line of Amplifiers are truly remarkable also and i don't know in terms of directly comparisson if they are even superior to Datasat RA7300
Back_to_the_Sound is offline  
post #1714 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I think from a company size, pedigree, ongoing support, and product viability the datasat will outsell storm 2-1, the company is largfer and has a huge client base, their software upgrade record is best in inbdustry. The current vs future offerings Storm appears to have zero advantages, class a sound is rich and warm class d does not offer velvetty upper range like class a.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1715 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
I think from a company size, pedigree, ongoing support, and product viability the datasat will outsell storm 2-1, the company is largfer and has a huge client base, their software upgrade record is best in inbdustry. The current vs future offerings Storm appears to have zero advantages, class a sound is rich and warm class d does not offer velvetty upper range like class a.

I also share that opinion right now.
Back_to_the_Sound is offline  
post #1716 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 2
To make Auro 3D there is the need for a ceiling speaker, so te best is to combine for example a Datasat RA7300 with a RA2400 right?

Or for example an ATI Signature Amplifier, guess the quality should be the same with their Signature Line.
Back_to_the_Sound is offline  
post #1717 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 02:24 PM
Member
 
jeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think Datasat amps are class AB but I could be wrong.
jeno is online now  
post #1718 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Boonyarat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
As I know Datasat Power Amplifier RA-7300 & RA-2400 are the same units of ATI AT-6000 Signature Series , only few things differ from original designed . The ATI AT-6000 Signature series suppose to be Class AB designed same as AT-3000 Series . Actually we can't say which designed Class , A ,AB ,A/AB or D will made sound better , it depend on and varies from one to the another brand .
Boonyarat is offline  
post #1719 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I actually think the Datasat units are a little different to the ATI signature series - at least their rear architecture is different, their configurability is different, some of the internal components are apparently meant to be different, active cooling is apparently also used on the Datasat units, their specs are a little different and their prices are also quite different!
stephenbr is online now  
post #1720 of 1940 Old 07-27-2014, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Boonyarat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes, I'm agree with you that price is extremely different between ATI AT-6000 Signature Series and DATASAT RA-7300 & RA-2400. The main reason is Manufacturer cost might be lower than marketing cost
Boonyarat is offline  
post #1721 of 1940 Old 08-01-2014, 07:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeno View Post
I think Datasat amps are class AB but I could be wrong.
I think so too, I never said DS amps were just describing class a.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1722 of 1940 Old 08-01-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
dschulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
I think so too, I never said DS amps were just describing class a.
The Datasat amps are indeed Class AB.
dschulz is online now  
post #1723 of 1940 Old 08-02-2014, 05:50 AM
Member
 
jeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
I think so too, I never said DS amps were just describing class a.
The Datasat amps were said to be class A circuit by somebody else in post #1713 . I just questioned that statement. Probably should have put in a quote in the first place to avoid any misunderstandings.
jeno is online now  
post #1724 of 1940 Old 08-02-2014, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 103
So what are they, A or AB?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #1725 of 1940 Old 08-02-2014, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
They are AB. if they were class A they would run so hot. Mine runs quite cool.
djnickuk is online now  
post #1726 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
We'll I have been outed on another site so I shall post this here also.

I have been lucky enough to be running Auro in my Datasat for the last week.

And Yes the Auro update is stunning! And it also includes the Dirac 2 update.

I have spent the last week listening to various formats and it's all mind blowingly good.

2 channel music sounds somewhat similar to using Trinnovs remapping. Rather than sounding like you have 2 channel content being played back in multichannel, it sounds much more like you have the best imaging pair of stereo speakers you have ever heard.

Then of course onto movies. I watched Divergent yesterday, and Auro helped turn what would have been a very mediocre film into one that was gripping, the atmospherics created by the upmixing just pull you into the movie.

2 particular stand out film scenes for me so far have been the sand storm scene from Mission impossible Ghost Protocol - when the sand storm hits, the sound is so enveloping it's almost disorientating, literally bing pummled from all directions by sand. And it's as tho you can hear each individual grain. The clarity is stunning.

Then there is the Hit Man David Foster Blu Ray concert. I was showing this to my dad yesterday. First we played back with no processing and then Neo x. Both sounds great. But as soon as you engage Auro they sound flatter than a pancake.

One of the first things you notice with Auro is that the audience really is all around you. The cheering and clapping is everywhere. Then when the concert begins you really get a sense of the location it was recorded in. Ie, a large hall. My small 7m x 3m x 2.56m cinema room was transformed into an auditorium. Ceiling and walls gone. Just an expanse of sound.

I won't go showing screen shots just yet as we are still in Beta phase, but it's really simple to use. You have 4 presets. Small, Medium and Large room and then speech. I have small room selected. I'm guessing these control the amount of reverb applied.

Then there is a fader for between 1 - 15. This tells the system how much info to put thru to the Auro height channels. I find 10 is about right for music. And you can easily go up to 15 for films. It does something to the bass also. With the 15 setting sounding too rich for music. But for films it seems to increase the amount of punch delivered from the subs.

There are a few issues to be ironed out. But as this is beta that is too be expected. Most issues are down to installation or moreover incorrect installation instructions.

But for me, the biggest issue is with 2 channel PCM or DD tv / film content. The auromatic upmixer doesn't really handle this too well. It doesn't extrapolate the speech into the centre channel. Almost like listening to a film or tv thru a music upmixing codec. But it also sounds a little out of phase. But again I'm sure this will get sorted.

All in all, I'm super happy. Well worth the money. And with more Auro encoded content being released things can only get better.
djnickuk is online now  
post #1727 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
matty1137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^
What changes come along with Dirac 2? Will Dirac now calculate channel delays and levels?
matty1137 is offline  
post #1728 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by matty1137 View Post
^
What changes come along with Dirac 2? Will Dirac now calculate channel delays and levels?
Sonically there is no difference between Dirac 1 & 2. It's more a change in pc software GUI. And I believe it will output sweeps rather than PN for calibration which will speed the process up.

It was mentioned that Dirac 2'will calculate delays and levels but I'm not sure right now as I'm waiting my Dirac 2 pc software. But I think the auto delays and levels don't work on the theta with Dirac 2. But I could be wrong and am happy to stand corrected.
djnickuk is online now  
post #1729 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Routings and crossovers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	210505  
djnickuk is online now  
post #1730 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Bass management
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	106.9 KB
ID:	210513  
djnickuk is online now  
post #1731 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Surround page accessible from front screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	114.7 KB
ID:	210521  
djnickuk is online now  
post #1732 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Auro enabled
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	210529  
djnickuk is online now  
post #1733 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Well congratulations but don't think for a moment that I was going to let you Brits upstage us. We upstage YOU with the world's first Quested AURO.

MORATORIUM LIFTED-FIRE AWAY JEFF!!

And new AURO firmware coming by weekend.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1734 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Well congratulations but don't think for a moment that I was going to let you Brits upstage us. We upstage YOU with the world's first Quested AURO.

MORATORIUM LIFTED-FIRE AWAY JEFF!!

And new AURO firmware coming by weekend.
For now I'll have to make do with the worlds first B&W diamond 13.4 auro setup. Being British I should perhaps have questeds, but I don't require the high spl levels the quested put out.
djnickuk is online now  
post #1735 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
All diamonds that is great product from an otherwise all hack (sold their mother to the devil in the nineties)brand.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1736 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,977
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Well congratulations but don't think for a moment that I was going to let you Brits upstage us. We upstage YOU with the world's first Quested AURO.

MORATORIUM LIFTED-FIRE AWAY JEFF!!

And new AURO firmware coming by weekend.
Now I can talk about it!! I'm very excited about Auro and djmick's early review of such. Except, until I get final installation, there's little to discuss. Next Wednesday, I'll have all installed.

Should be fun! Thanks, Peter!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1737 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,738
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 78
NEWSFLASH your rs20i has the very latest firmware disregard previous post.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1738 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carl_Huff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
NEWSFLASH your rs20i has the very latest firmware disregard previous post.
The latest RS20i firmware is V1.03.02 RC2. That is the final version for the AURO/ Dirac Live v2 upgrade. I chatted with Datasat Engineering on that very topic earlier today. Check your RS20i to verify that what you have.
_____________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Carl_Huff is offline  
post #1739 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,977
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
NEWSFLASH your rs20i has the very latest firmware disregard previous post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Huff View Post
The latest RS20i firmware is V1.03.02 RC2. That is the final version for the AURO/ Dirac Live v2 upgrade. I chatted with Datasat Engineering on that very topic earlier today. Check your RS20i to verify that what you have.
_____________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Sounds like I am good but how do you navigate to see the latest firmware version?

Thanks!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1740 of 1940 Old 08-13-2014, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post
For now I'll have to make do with the worlds first B&W diamond 13.4 auro setup. Being British I should perhaps have questeds, but I don't require the high spl levels the quested put out.

Quick question if you don't mind, what diamonds are you using i.e. generation and models? I'm a diamond user myself thus I'm curious what you are running and if all the speakers are diamonds, well at least the main plain as B&W haven't yet used the diamond tweeters in any of their ceiling/wall speakers, not even the CI800's unfortunately as that would be great for timbre matching the 800 diamond series for Atmos and Auro installations.

Rod#S is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off