Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 1814 Old 08-27-2014, 04:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
Do they offer training for non-installer individuals (i.e. users)? Although I plan to have my calibrator work his magic on the RS20i once I order one, I need to be able to modify as changes are made and channels are added.
Didn't you purchase a Theta CB??

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 1814 Old 08-27-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post
You should be able to buy the kit with training.

But one thing you should be aware of, if you change something or add more channels you can not just modify your current Dirac calibration and add more calibrated channels. You have to start the whole process again.

The only things you can modify once calibration is complete is the target curves and HF / LF roll off.

Mind you I am talking from my experience with Dirac v1 perhaps d2 will be different but I doubt it as in general this is how all other room corrections I have used have operated.
Thanks very much for the info....I have much to ponder. Any change requires at least a few hours of recalibration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Didn't you purchase a Theta CB??
Sold it in Feb after analyzing Theta's HDMI adoption time (6 years?) and pondering the likely turn around time for Atmos (or even Heights/wides). Not waiting six years!
audioguy and Billybobjimbob like this.
BrolicBeast is online now  
post #1803 of 1814 Old 08-27-2014, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post
Thanks very much for the info....I have much to ponder. Any change requires at least a few hours of recalibration.



Sold it in Feb after analyzing Theta's HDMI adoption time (6 years?) and pondering the likely turn around time for Atmos (or even Heights/wides). Not waiting six years!
You must've been reading my Theta 'truths' (re: the long HDMI wait, etc). Fact is, I'd bet they haven't sold a single new CB IV in many months and after the upcoming CEDIA, when they announce (deflect) that there will never be an Atmos release, no Auro, and that DIRAC will never work as well as in the RS-20i, it will be pronounced dead (or rise again as a new model). There was so much anticipation of DIRAC in the CB before it was released but since then, few members have upgraded and those that did are conspicuously quiet.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #1804 of 1814 Old 08-27-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 3,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
You must've been reading my Theta 'truths' (re: the long HDMI wait, etc). Fact is, I'd bet they haven't sold a single new CB IV in many months and after the upcoming CEDIA, when they announce (deflect) that there will never be an Atmos release, no Auro, and that DIRAC will never work as well as in the RS-20i, it will be pronounced dead (or rise again as a new model). There was so much anticipation of DIRAC in the CB before it was released but since then, few members have upgraded and those that did are conspicuously quiet.
Maybe related to that is that the high end audio business in general and $20,000 SSP's is not a huge opportunity. The advantage that Datasat has over Theta is that if they never sell many RS20's they will still probably do fine as they are a major player in the commercial theater business.

My guess is that Theta has nowhere near the deep(er) pockets that Datasat has and nowhere near the man-power that Datasat has assigned to this product. Architecture and sound quality aside, I think the CB-IV or whatever comes next is DOA. Go read the Theta thread compared to the RS20 thread.

I'm sure the Theta fan boys will say otherwise but just look at how long Theta has taken to first get the CB IV out the door and now to still be trying to get Dirac to function correctly and consistently.

I'm not in the market for any $20,000 SSP's but if I were, Theta would not make the short list while Datasat would be on the top.

It really is sad since Theta made some great products in the "old days". Oh well!!!
audioguy is offline  
post #1805 of 1814 Old 08-27-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
You must've been reading my Theta 'truths' (re: the long HDMI wait, etc). Fact is, I'd bet they haven't sold a single new CB IV in many months and after the upcoming CEDIA, when they announce (deflect) that there will never be an Atmos release, no Auro, and that DIRAC will never work as well as in the RS-20i, it will be pronounced dead (or rise again as a new model). There was so much anticipation of DIRAC in the CB before it was released but since then, few members have upgraded and those that did are conspicuously quiet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
Maybe related to that is that the high end audio business in general and $20,000 SSP's is not a huge opportunity. The advantage that Datasat has over Theta is that if they never sell many RS20's they will still probably do fine as they are a major player in the commercial theater business.

My guess is that Theta has nowhere near the deep(er) pockets that Datasat has and nowhere near the man-power that Datasat has assigned to this product. Architecture and sound quality aside, I think the CB-IV or whatever comes next is DOA. Go read the Theta thread compared to the RS20 thread.

I'm sure the Theta fan boys will say otherwise but just look at how long Theta has taken to first get the CB IV out the door and now to still be trying to get Dirac to function correctly and consistently.

I'm not in the market for any $20,000 SSP's but if I were, Theta would not make the short list while Datasat would be on the top.

It really is sad since Theta made some great products in the "old days". Oh well!!!
Yeah, I mean...as I put in my review (click to read: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/dbtreview.php?do=view_review&id=4580) the theta was the best sounding pre/pro I have ever heard. But folls like us need more than sound quality...we need ***features*** that match our HT passions.

I heard the Datasat a few times and it was glorious! Theta glorious in terms of sound quality? It was definitely in the same ballpark.
BrolicBeast is online now  
post #1806 of 1814 Old 08-28-2014, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 118
After hearing comments on a loud fan, looks like the fan spped is variable (10% below pic) and there is virtually no noise.

The 1-ton minisplit in the equipment room is very effective at cooling the 9 amplifiers, Projector, Datasat and sources... all in a sealed equipment room 4 X 7 X 8.




One more of Mark Seaton placing the 2 rear F2 subs:


There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #1807 of 1814 Old Yesterday, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Marcus Gan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Yes. With Auro included.

So much to learn.

Can you set up a standard volume at start up, rather than where the volume was at last use?

Thanks!
Hi Thebland

I think you can set a start up or default volume. I can do it on my AP20.
Just go to Menu>fader control>Select Format. Back to home menu. Turn the knob to require volume and hold the format button for 5 sec.

BTW you have to set on each format.
Cheers

Last edited by Marcus Gan; Yesterday at 10:02 PM.
Marcus Gan is online now  
post #1808 of 1814 Old Yesterday, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
After hearing comments on a loud fan, looks like the fan spped is variable (10% below pic) and there is virtually no noise.

The 1-ton minisplit in the equipment room is very effective at cooling the 9 amplifiers, Projector, Datasat and sources... all in a sealed equipment room 4 X 7 X 8.




One more of Mark Seaton placing the 2 rear F2 subs:

How many subs did you go with Jeff?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #1809 of 1814 Old Today, 04:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Hi Dave,

6 Submersives.



Thanks Marcus, I'll try that. Appreciate it!@

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #1810 of 1814 Old Today, 04:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Gan View Post
Hi Thebland

I think you can set a start up or default volume. I can do it on my AP20.
Just go to Menu>fader control>Select Format. Back to home menu. Turn the knob to require volume and hold the format button for 5 sec.

BTW you have to set on each format.
Cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Hi Dave,

6 Submersives.



Thanks Marcus, I'll try that. Appreciate it!@
We don't have those options on the RS20i!
djnickuk is online now  
post #1811 of 1814 Old Today, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Marcus Gan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just downloaded the rs20i manual yup don't have this function. Fade control. Btw if you guys find this useful just feedback to datasat and they can put it in the next firmware update.

I find this function very useful. I can set different volume for different formats. Eg for movie I set very loud and music average.
Marcus Gan is online now  
post #1812 of 1814 Old Today, 05:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I'm out if town now but am returning today where I'll be able to spend time. I thought Nick posted somewhere that you can set a start up volume or something similar? Maybe I'm incorrect but I was going to start going through threads and the manual.
thebland is offline  
post #1813 of 1814 Old Today, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Marcus Gan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If AP20 can I don't see why RS20i can't since RS20i is a much better Processor with more bells & Whistle. Probably different way of setting the start up volume.

Carl will know better.

Last edited by Marcus Gan; Today at 09:25 AM.
Marcus Gan is online now  
post #1814 of 1814 Old Today, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
I'm out if town now but am returning today where I'll be able to spend time. I thought Nick posted somewhere that you can set a start up volume or something similar? Maybe I'm incorrect but I was going to start going through threads and the manual.
Currently, there is no way of setting the rs20i to use a start up volume. It will always revert to the state it was in when last turned on.

However, I did say you could create a macro within your control gear so that when turned on, after a delay, it could send a command t set the volume to whatever setting you like.

As said, if you hit Datasat tech with an email they can indeed add this to a firmware update.
djnickuk is online now  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off