Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 66 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1951 of 1961 Old 11-26-2014, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Yes

Yes it will require replacement of the Dolby True Hd card.

No, there is also DTS UHD to contend with...

Cheers!
May I know why the Barco AP24 3D not decode the auro 3d blu-ray?
Is there has any software update for this?
drifterxy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1952 of 1961 Old 11-26-2014, 11:06 PM
Member
 
yapota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drifterxy View Post
May I know why the Barco AP24 3D not decode the auro 3d blu-ray?
Is there has any software update for this?
I am very keen to get a view on what people who on the Datasat RS20i plan to do in terms of options:

1. Stick with Auro 3D if they already have it
2. Switch to ATMOS
3. Have both Auro 3D and ATMOS
4. Do nothing and see which standard becomes dominant

I ask because I read somewhere that ATMOS were now claiming that they had 200+ titles available. Does anybody know who may Auro 3D have?
yapota is offline  
post #1953 of 1961 Old 11-26-2014, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Yes it will require replacement of the Dolby True Hd card.
That's interesting news - the key question now will be the cost (considering the competitive rates set by Trinnov and Storm Audio).
stephenbr is online now  
post #1954 of 1961 Old 11-26-2014, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by yapota View Post
I am very keen to get a view on what people who on the Datasat RS20i plan to do in terms of options:

1. Stick with Auro 3D if they already have it
2. Switch to ATMOS
3. Have both Auro 3D and ATMOS
4. Do nothing and see which standard becomes dominant

I ask because I read somewhere that ATMOS were now claiming that they had 200+ titles available. Does anybody know who may Auro 3D have?
may need wait a while to see what's happens next.
there has some auro available titles for music, I got 3 of them.
drifterxy is offline  
post #1955 of 1961 Old Yesterday, 12:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
That's interesting news - the key question now will be the cost (considering the competitive rates set by Trinnov and Storm Audio).
may just free firmware upgrade to get atmos
drifterxy is offline  
post #1956 of 1961 Old Yesterday, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Yes it will require replacement of the Dolby True Hd card.
This is news to me too Peter - has this been confirmed to you by Datasat themselves? I was also under the impression it was going to be a firmware upgrade . . .
Wookii is online now  
post #1957 of 1961 Old Yesterday, 05:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,015
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Will this be something we send in for?

**PETER, I am finally getting around to setting up my APC 7901 switched PDU.

IM HAVING TROUBLE SEEING IT ON MY NETWORK.

Dhow do you set it up? I ordered a cable that hooks to the phone input and serial on one end. Apparently you use Hyperterminal in Windows to set up. Is this the easiest way??

More complicated than I thought. Any advice??

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1958 of 1961 Old Yesterday, 05:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Will this be something we send in for?

**PETER, I am finally getting around to setting up my APC 7901 switched PDU.

IM HAVING TROUBLE SEEING IT ON MY NETWORK.

Dhow do you set it up? I ordered a cable that hooks to the phone input and serial on one end. Apparently you use Hyperterminal in Windows to set up. Is this the easiest way??

More complicated than I thought. Any advice??
Im asking John My Programmer, sit tight. He controls via ip.

Last edited by CINERAMAX; Yesterday at 05:23 PM.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #1959 of 1961 Old Yesterday, 05:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by drifterxy View Post
May I know why the Barco AP24 3D not decode the auro 3d blu-ray?
Is there has any software update for this?
No the Barco ap-24 decodes the 40 plus AURO cinema movies from a DCP file using a cinema system, it cannot decode the HDMI auro.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #1960 of 1961 Old Today, 07:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,015
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Im asking John My Programmer, sit tight. He controls via ip.
I believe you need this cable to initially program it. Not sure though as it seems to be a complex piece with a poor manual.

I want to program and serial commands to execute the commands to power on my 4 Quested Amps in sequential order.

Any help would be great!

The cable is a serial to phone-jack connector


APC 7901 PDU

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009

Last edited by thebland; Today at 07:26 AM.
thebland is online now  
post #1961 of 1961 Old Today, 07:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,015
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 166
As a note. I noticed an odd behavior of my OPPO 103 BD player.

Like many here, I use the OPPO SECOND HDMI output for a monitor I use in my equipment room.

I was playing a movie last night and wondered why the dialog sounded a bit low. I looked at my DATASAT and saw the Preset was Auro and all speakers high and low were firing as they should. All else seemed fine. I checked my Oppo player and its display was DTS MA Multi-Channel. So, the output was correct. However the Datasat display said PCM 2.0 for input signal rather than 5.1 as my player showed. So, I was getting stereo upmixing to 11.1. That was what I was hearing. I could not figure out how to remedy this for a few minutes. Then, I checked the manual and Oppo says if both HDMI outputs are active, then the audio will be down-res'd to 2.0. However, my monitor was powered OFF.

So, I thought to simply unplug the HDMI cable from my monitor. and low and behold, the audio reset to 5.1 multi-channel.

It appears you cannot have a powered off monitor on the second HDMI output of the OPPO player or you'll get 2.0 output from both. It seems that I will have to use the 480i composite out to monitor the Oppo player!

As much as I have felt the sonics of my new set up have been fantastic, it appears all praise has been through 2.0 upmixing!!!
When I remedied it last night, things were improved... Doh!!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off