Official DataSat RS20i thread. (Setup Tips, Questions,General Info, etc) - Page 88 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 427Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 3768 Old 08-08-2015, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I think HDMI 2.0 and especially HDCP 2.2 need to be hardware in any case regardless of Altitude, Datasat, D&M. etc.

BTW 10 years is also what I am aiming for with my LS10. I don't think that a channel count above 16 channels will be in any rate realistic for home theatres so this shouldn't be the shostopper. Biggest risk IMHO is either the company getting bust or loosing inferest in that line of business or product which can happen to you however 'great' your unit is!
Agreed on hdmi, semi agree on 16 channel counts, 24 is really the sweet spot. Highly unlikely the last part of your narrative. Their house sound is tops.
24 channels does sound good but that will be a tiny fraction of people ever to install this. I thumink with 16 channels you are already way above your standaed and even uprange cinema. I had 5.1 from 1992-2000 then upgraded to 7.1 untill March of this year. That is over 20 years living with 6 respectively 8 channels. So I would assume (at least for me) 16 channels will stay for quite some time.
I fully agree with house sound of Datasat, therefore I went in that direction! I for myself couldn't imagine anything better at the moment!
NextLevel217 likes this.
westmd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 3768 Old 08-08-2015, 02:50 PM
MESSING WITH YOUR SENSES
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: TOMORROWLAND: REALITY RECREATION PAVILION.
Posts: 15,917
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1337 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Not at all.in fact the MDA four inputs one output cards are already being validated with the processor manufactures wereas some of the aeight input are not....
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #2613 of 3768 Old 08-08-2015, 07:25 PM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
24 channels does sound good but that will be a tiny fraction of people ever to install this. I thumink with 16 channels you are already way above your standaed and even uprange cinema. I had 5.1 from 1992-2000 then upgraded to 7.1 untill March of this year. That is over 20 years living with 6 respectively 8 channels. So I would assume (at least for me) 16 channels will stay for quite some time.
I fully agree with house sound of Datasat, therefore I went in that direction! I for myself couldn't imagine anything better at the moment!
My plan is to use 15 channels including the subs!! And I know that will be enough for me for a very long time!! I have to agree I love the Datasat sound. Best Ive heard in my system
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #2614 of 3768 Old 08-09-2015, 02:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Just a 10 band manual PEQ. I tried to set it myself with XTZ room correction pro kit but was hopelessly lost!
Thanks.

AFAIK, the RS20i retails for around $18,000-$19,000 and the 16-channel Altitude32 retails for around $28,000. Other than the remapping feature, what makes the Altitude32 worth $10,000 more than the RS20i?
Be careful with comparing prices here! You have to make sure that you really compare the same level. Also do not forget you are comparing a US unit (Datasat) vs. a France/EU product Trinnov. I was once interested in the Trinnov and got a quote for the Trinnov with immersive codecs and 16 channels. It was around 21.000EUR here in Germany. The RS20i with Auro installed (and we still don't know what the Atmos and DTS:X upgrade will br) would be already 21.500EUR in comparison. Now if you also look at the fact that the Trinnov comes with the microphone and software for installing whilst this is on top of the Datasat prices are more or less the other way around, the Trinnov is at the end even cheaper here!

Last edited by westmd; 08-10-2015 at 12:46 PM.
westmd is offline  
post #2615 of 3768 Old 08-10-2015, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 3,006
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 954 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Be careful with comparing prices here! You have to make sure that you really compare the same level. Also do not forget you are comparing a US unit (Datasat) vs. a France/EU product Trinnov. I was once interested in the Trinnov and got a quote for the Trinnov with immersive codecs and 16 channels. It was around 21.000? here in Germany. The RS20i with Auro installed (and we still don't know what the Atmos and DTS:X upgrade will br) would be already 21.500? in comparison. Now if you also look at the fact that the Trinnov comes with the microphone and software for installing whilst this is on top of the Datasat prices are more or less the other way around, the Trinnov is at the end even cheaper here!
Good point. Are those prices you mentioned in USD or Euro?
Kain is offline  
post #2616 of 3768 Old 08-10-2015, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain View Post
Good point. Are those prices you mentioned in USD or Euro?
EUR, I tried to write the Euro sign and it came up with a ?
westmd is offline  
post #2617 of 3768 Old 08-10-2015, 11:25 PM
MESSING WITH YOUR SENSES
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: TOMORROWLAND: REALITY RECREATION PAVILION.
Posts: 15,917
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1337 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGA View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by schlitzie 

Well I don't have my RS20i yet but hope to in the next few weeks... My question is about near-term planning though - I will be using using either an OPPO 95 or 105 as the main source for bluray, and am wondering if there is a major benefit to going with analog audio into the datasat... I remember reading somewhere that HDMI limits audio bandwith to 48kHz no matter what is on the disc, but analog signals are passed unmolested.
Is that the case? Will the RS20i care prefer one signal type over another? In other words, is there a practical upside to using analog over HDMI? I've researched this on and off, and just haven't gotten a clear consensus yet, especially with a high-end piece like the Datasat
By the way Dave, thanks for taking the initiative to start this thread!


HDMI can go up to 192kHz. It is only if you try to output a digital signal from the RS20i that it will be downsampled to 48kHz.
Some people are figuring out the circumvention to this stupidity as we speak....
Billybobjimbob likes this.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #2618 of 3768 Old 08-12-2015, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi Folks am new here
I would like to know if the RS20i is capable to run all outputs at once.
For example 8 digital outs for the 7.1 speakers at ear-level (connected to amps with digital AES XLR-Inputs) and 4 analog outs for the four auro3d-channels on the ceiling connected to amps with analog XLR-Inputs.


If yes, its possible to use Dirac Live with this mixed output-Setup?


I ask bec. its not described nerd-secure in the manual on page 63 (Digital Volume Enable) and page 86 (Digital Out Setup).
(tried to link pictures but im not allowed to post links on first post)


...and what exactly the last part means on page 86: "Select Off for best performance..." ?




Thanks in advance
Salami
Salamigurke is offline  
post #2619 of 3768 Old 08-15-2015, 02:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salamigurke View Post
Hi Folks am new here
I would like to know if the RS20i is capable to run all outputs at once.
If yes, its possible to use Dirac Live with this mixed output-Setup?

...and what exactly the last part means on page 86: "Select Off for best performance..." ?

Salami
I think yes, yes again, and if you need no digital out deactivate for best analogue performance.
mhafner is offline  
post #2620 of 3768 Old 08-15-2015, 02:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It's mid August and no statement from Datasat. WHEN is the Atmos stuff coming and at what price?????
mhafner is offline  
post #2621 of 3768 Old 08-15-2015, 03:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhafner View Post
It's mid August and no statement from Datasat. WHEN is the Atmos stuff coming and at what price?????
It's been mentioned a few times that it's around mid-September now.

Westmd mentioned $3,000 on the Ls10 thread, not sure how accurate that is and if it includes all 3 immersive codecs or just Atmos and DTS:X.

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is offline  
post #2622 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Got my demo unit calibrated by Jerry Hanna with beta Dirac 2. Totally amazing perfomance. Waiting for Atmos card (only rummors that they will show working unit at Cedia but we will wait till end of the year ((
westmd likes this.
zArtur is offline  
post #2623 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billybobjimbob View Post
It's been mentioned a few times that it's around mid-September now.

Westmd mentioned $3,000 on the Ls10 thread, not sure how accurate that is and if it includes all 3 immersive codecs or just Atmos and DTS:X.
As I know it will be pack of codecs. Not shur regarding the price but 3k sounds real.
zArtur is offline  
post #2624 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by zArtur View Post
As I know it will be pack of codecs. Not shur regarding the price but 3k sounds real.
According to Datasat official press release for LS10 Atmos upgrade price and details will be in September! 3000 USD is the 'offical rumor'!
westmd is offline  
post #2625 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 03:02 PM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
According to Datasat official press release for LS10 Atmos upgrade price and details will be in September! 3000 USD is the 'offical rumor'!
Where did you see this press release??
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #2626 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Where did you see this press release??
I phoned datasat and they told prices and availability will be announced in September. The other information I got from a Datasat dealer.

Again, it was all about the LS10!
grtuck likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #2627 of 3768 Old 08-16-2015, 03:17 PM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I phoned datasat and they told prices and availability will be announced in September. The other information I got from a Datasat dealer.

Again, it was all about the LS10!
Since I have the Ls10 thats what I care about!!
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #2628 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by zArtur View Post
Got my demo unit calibrated by Jerry Hanna with beta Dirac 2. Totally amazing perfomance. Waiting for Atmos card (only rummors that they will show working unit at Cedia but we will wait till end of the year ((
Can anybody explain what exactly the difference is between DIRAC and DIRAC2?
westmd is offline  
post #2629 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Can anybody explain what exactly the difference is between DIRAC and DIRAC2?
End result, nothing,

But uses sweeps rather than PN so should be quicker to setup. And also will calculate delays and gains for you.
djnickuk is offline  
post #2630 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post
End result, nothing,

But uses sweeps rather than PN so should be quicker to setup. And also will calculate delays and gains for you.
Nick, do we know whether Dirac 2 will still use a dongle, or require an internet connection to confirm licence details?
Wookii is offline  
post #2631 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Nick, do we know whether Dirac 2 will still use a dongle, or require an internet connection to confirm licence details?
I'm not sure mate. I'm actually a little confused. I spoke with Rhandir a few weeks back to ask and got told that they are awaiting for Dirac to sort bits out and not even Datasat have it running. This was the day before Peter posted a vid showing Mike talking about how he can use Dirac1 or 2! So clearly Datasat do have Dirac 2 up and running.

It would make sense for them to stick with the dongle as then existing users can easily upgrade.
djnickuk is offline  
post #2632 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,283
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Will Dirac 2 be tied to Atmos update? The reason for delays in release info?

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Clos Martinet Tinto, Priorat DOCa, Spain ~$60. If you've not had a good Priorat, you've not truly tried Spain's smallest, yet most unique terroir.
My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon
thebland is online now  
post #2633 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post
End result, nothing,

But uses sweeps rather than PN so should be quicker to setup. And also will calculate delays and gains for you.
I just got feedback that DIRAC2 will also have some optimized filters. It is essentially the same version that is also in use in the MiniDSP88A!
grtuck likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #2634 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carl_Huff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I just got feedback that DIRAC2 will also have some optimized filters. It is essentially the same version that is also in use in the MiniDSP88A!
Mmmm ...

A couple of points.

#1 ) The listener experience of Dirac Live v1 versus v2 is identical. Much effort has been spent making them sound the same.

#2 ) Altho the Mini DSP products use the same GUI to generate the filters, the filters themselves are quite different. The MiniDSP products internally process at 48kHz, whereas the Datasat products process at 96kHz. Processing at 96kHz requires four times the MIPs as does processing at 48kHz, but the difference is clearly audible on a properly configured system.

Running the internals at 96kHz is key to the 'Datasat sound'.
___________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Carl_Huff is offline  
post #2635 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Huff View Post
Mmmm ...

A couple of points.

#1 ) The listener experience of Dirac Live v1 versus v2 is identical. Much effort has been spent making them sound the same.

#2 ) Altho the Mini DSP products use the same GUI to generate the filters, the filters themselves are quite different. The MiniDSP products internally process at 48kHz, whereas the Datasat products process at 96kHz. Processing at 96kHz requires four times the MIPs as does processing at 48kHz, but the difference is clearly audible on a properly configured system.

Running the internals at 96kHz is key to the 'Datasat sound'.
___________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Interesting info. For me the question will be whether to upgrade to DIRAC2 once available for the LS10 or to stick with my MiniDSP's?
westmd is offline  
post #2636 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl_Huff View Post
Mmmm ...

A couple of points.

#1 ) The listener experience of Dirac Live v1 versus v2 is identical. Much effort has been spent making them sound the same.

#2 ) Altho the Mini DSP products use the same GUI to generate the filters, the filters themselves are quite different. The MiniDSP products internally process at 48kHz, whereas the Datasat products process at 96kHz. Processing at 96kHz requires four times the MIPs as does processing at 48kHz, but the difference is clearly audible on a properly configured system.

Running the internals at 96kHz is key to the 'Datasat sound'.
___________
Best Regards,
Carl Huff
Welcome back Carl!
stephenbr is offline  
post #2637 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 12:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 26,283
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1263 Post(s)
Liked: 633
If you have a dongle and software (minus the calibration kit), what can you do with the Datasat (minus the calibration kit)? Curves for individual speakers, crossovers, etc?

It's back!! Wine of the Week! Clos Martinet Tinto, Priorat DOCa, Spain ~$60. If you've not had a good Priorat, you've not truly tried Spain's smallest, yet most unique terroir.
My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

Last edited by thebland; 08-18-2015 at 12:41 PM.
thebland is online now  
post #2638 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salamigurke View Post
Hi Folks am new here
I would like to know if the RS20i is capable to run all outputs at once. (mixed digital outs and analog outs)...
Just got answer from datasat about "Digital Volume Offset":


"Digital out is at 100% at all times, however if youenable Digital Volume Offset and choose a volume setting for example -30 thenthis will be the 100% digital output, if you lower it, yes the digital volumewill lower, if you rasie the volume level past -30 it will not get louder past-30 because you set this value as your maximum 100% digital output."


That made me happy and i just want to share this info :-)
grtuck likes this.
Salamigurke is offline  
post #2639 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 07:49 PM
VGI
Advanced Member
 
VGI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boca Raton Florida
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Ive heard both and they both sound awesome! I just purchased the Ls10 from Craig at Theatermax. This is the best that my system has ever sounded! A real game changer!!
Next -

Hope your enjoying !!

Thank you for the kind words.. Appreciate it..

Thanks
Craig
NextLevel217 likes this.

Craig Shumer
20 Years of Audio Video Excellence
President of Theatermax LLC
VGI is offline  
post #2640 of 3768 Old 08-18-2015, 08:09 PM
VGI
Advanced Member
 
VGI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boca Raton Florida
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Had a great conversation with Steve E of Datasat today and I have to tell you guys he got me more excited about Datasat than I already was and that was alot

What totally blew my mind is he told me that ATMOS for RS20i is going to be a field installable rear board..

Now maybe to the average guy this upgrade design sounds like an easy task and it sounds like something every Pre Pro should be able to do but thats not the case.

The RS20i has been around for a few years and I don't think they even knew what Atmos was when they started down the Pre Pro Design path. For them to be able to have such a major upgrade with a simple board install is incredible and the first time I have seen a Machine of this caliber be field upgradable like this..

Huge Thumbs up to Datasat for this !!

Thanks
Craig
Theatermax LLC
Mr. Integration and grtuck like this.

Craig Shumer
20 Years of Audio Video Excellence
President of Theatermax LLC
VGI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off