Trinnov MC set up guide with SSP and JVB modded Oppo! - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 276 Old 01-18-2017, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post
What VNC software do you use?
VNC Viewer. Always worked perfect for me.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 06:41 AM.
CaptCapitalism is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 276 Old 01-18-2017, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
appelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptCapitalism View Post
VNC Viewer. Always worked perfect for me.
VNC Viewer for Google Chrome should also work. I use both, depending on the VNC client I am trying to talk to.

Adam Pelz ,Acoustic Mafia - Hear No Evil
Master ARCOS Calibrator, Cedia Designer, HAA Instructor LIII, THX HT1+ HT2+ Video
appelz is online now  
post #273 of 276 Old 02-03-2017, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did anyone ever resolve the lipsync issues with this setup?

Audio is double delayed with the Trinnov and Vanity's reclocking.
I started a thread on how to configure a video delay:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptCapitalism View Post
My audio gets delayed twice...
Also, JVB said a Vanity 203 should be ready soon.
So it looks like the Vanity is not going anywhere soon.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 06:41 AM.
CaptCapitalism is online now  
 
post #274 of 276 Old 02-06-2017, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Trinnov is amazing. It tells you the latency in ms & frame rates. How very honest of them.
As per the screen shot below, my latency is 40 ms.

I ordered the Roland vc-1-dl. I read the manual and spoke with my Vintage king Trinnov dealer, it should work.
It's HDCP. The Roland device is the only HDMI video delay in existence so not much choice. Roland does not mention 4k, do not have 4k anyway. I would rather have my lip sync corrected more than 4k anyway.

I had bad luck with HDMI in the past. I got the HDMI NanoAvr and it was not compatible with my PrePro. I really hope this works! Will keep you posted.

Since the Roland only delays by (1/2) frame rates (they call fields) and I most of the time watch 1080p60, I am 2.26 frames behind with just the Trinnov as per the 30fps screen shot below.

If the Vanity latency is 10ms I would be able to "dial" in 2.5 frames.

If you look at the 2nd pic, the Trinnov 24fps, the delay is .91 frame. If the Vanity is a mere 4 ms delay, I would be able to dial in 1 frame. Even.
I know nothing about syncing A/V, but I would not round frames. I would not want to be ahead a pic/frame. So if the Vanity has no delay I would have dialed in .5 frame. But if the Vanity delay is 4ms I can do a frame.
Yes, I would have to manually dial in the delay when I switch 24fps vs 60fps. But I am manually putting in BD anyway...
Just hope I remember to put it back . BD frame rates are more than double the ms time of 60fps.

I figure I'll start with the Trinnov delay and then move on to the Vanity's. Either Vanity will know their audio reclocking latency or I will have to buy the Sync one2 to analyze.

BTW: We can add syncing A/V to the list of "What does a PrePro do for me."
I have a whole new respect that they reclock the A/V in sync.

This is so cool. I will have a dedicated device just delay the video. I love componentizing things. Do you know they make PSU's as seperate components. I think I''l get one for my Tivo.






Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 06:40 AM.
CaptCapitalism is online now  
post #275 of 276 Old 02-06-2017, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Really odd coincident

The Roland has a single 110ohm RCA input ?!!??!!
In the manual it says to only use one input for dig.

That's another thing, I did not know devices can have use the same input for dig and analog. Never seen that.

Last edited by CaptCapitalism; 02-07-2017 at 06:40 AM.
CaptCapitalism is online now  
post #276 of 276 Old Today, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
CaptCapitalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Oppo has an A/V sync settings!
Never realized. You must scroll down.
I thought I had to return the HDMI Video delay box.

But the A/V sync settings has no effect. Is it that the setting is for HDMI A/V and would not have had worked on the analog board or the settings has no effect on the Vanity?

To make sure, I set the A/V sync to 200ms and it had no effect. I added a 200ms dedlay to the Trinnov and that did have an obvious effect.

Revel: 3 x F206, 2 x M105 | Fathom e112|3 x Krell S-150m| Emerald Physics EP 100.2 | Trinnov Demon 6| XTZ Pro | Oppo BDP-103 & Vanity HD| Tivo Roamio+ | Furman SPR-20i | Radiance 2021 & ChromaPure Auto-Calibrate | JVC DILA X3 | Stewart Studiotek 130 | Apple TV | Salamander Matteo | Jensen Transformer (PC-2XR)
CaptCapitalism is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off