Best Surround Processor Currently Available? - Page 19 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Best Multi-Channel processor currently on the market?
Classe SSP800 24 9.88%
Bryton SP3 22 9.05%
ADA Mach IV 4 1.65%
ADA Mach IV+Trinnov 28 11.52%
Datasat RS20i 45 18.52%
Theta CB3 HDMI + Extreme Dacs 33 13.58%
Krell Evolution 707 14 5.76%
Mcintosh MX151 25 10.29%
JBL Synthesis with SDEC 4500 17 7.00%
Other (comment on your answer) 33 13.58%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 243. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
ceenhad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

What's the price on that Auro decoder?
It isn't stand alone, correct?

That ICE system contains both a RS20i abd the Auro decoder, yes?

Dan

We have the RS20i, AP24 and the commercial decoder unit (soon to replaced with an upgrade to the projector IMB).

You can't get an AP24 or decoder outside a DCI compliant system. As far as I know ICE is the only system Like this for high end customers with approval of the relevant manufacturers. We are very much looking forward to creating the first ICE demo room for our US dealers next year but until then London remains the place to visit to experience the full system.

The F1 approved race simulator is also great fun!!!

Neil Davidson - Visit my facebook page
ceenhad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

I think even the Denon AVP-A1HD is better than Mcintosh MX-151, for movies...

I owned both, and can tell you not even close.

Have you owned both?
thrang is offline  
post #543 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Owned both? I would be impressed if he has heard both in any kind of setting.
G-Rex is offline  
post #544 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

To me, a format war occurs when incompatible formats compete, like VHS/Beta, where you needed 2 different players. Audio codecs do not present that sort of choice for the user. We already have the ability to decode several audio formats in the same AV system.
The reason that Auro can be used on BD is that it folds down to a 5.1 PCM channel soundtrack, so it is technically compliant. That is what will come out the BD player, as I doubt you will see 9.1 Auro decoding there.

When it comes to Atmos or MDA on BD, they will be carried inside TrueHD and DTS-HD MA bitstreams into the AV processor for full decoding. A processor with Auro, Atmos, and MDA will handle whatever the disc offers, seamlessly. No format war. smile.gif

Good to know. I think I will need more than 8 inputs on the Trinnov for these formats as the input signal will be LPCM (unless Trinnov adds a decoder inside the 8 channel model).

Thanks

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #545 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

Owned both? I would be impressed if he has heard both in any kind of setting.

That's BS

You were just posting about wanting to eval one in previous threads.
adidino is offline  
post #546 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I assume you're addressing this to MV_Cinema. That's who I questioned (not Thrang).
G-Rex is offline  
post #547 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

I assume you're addressing this to MV_Cinema. That's who I questioned (not Thrang).

When addino gets angry, everyone's in danger, even the innocent! smile.gif
thrang is offline  
post #548 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 11:33 AM
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

Owned both? I would be impressed if he has heard both in any kind of setting.

Actually i never had any of those, just heard them and in different occasions. I've always heard more dynamics with Denon, more clarity, but opinions are different.

In a while you guys are also saying that for movies Mcintosh MC's are better than Datasat RA7300...

I tell you what, connect the MX-151 and Mcintosh Amps, 602's for the fronts for example, and MC303's for the other channels for example then on another setup connest the RS20i and the RA7300.

Connest these sets to good cinema speakers, like JBL Synthesis, REVEL... put a reference movie like Dark Knight or Jurassic Park and you will see the difference in soundstage and sound deepness, as well as bass...it's different, Mcintosh is smoked by Datasat.
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #549 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

Actually i never had any of those, just heard them and in different occasions. I've always heard more dynamics with Denon, more clarity, but opinions are different.

In a while you guys are also saying that for movies Mcintosh MC's are better than Datasat RA7300...

I tell you what, connect the MX-151 and Mcintosh Amps, 602's for the fronts for example, and MC303's for the other channels for example then on another setup connest the RS20i and the RA7300.

Connest these sets to good cinema speakers, like JBL Synthesis, REVEL... put a reference movie like Dark Knight or Jurassic Park and you will see the difference in soundstage and sound deepness, as well as bass...it's different, Mcintosh is smoked by Datasat.

I'll get right on that...
adanny likes this.
thrang is offline  
post #550 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Funny how every time a Datasat doesn't blow someone away here the fans quickly blame the professionally trained installer, while the 5 or 6 of us here (nonprofessionals) who installed/calibrated our own 151s all had great results.
G-Rex is offline  
post #551 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

Funny how every time a Datasat doesn't blow someone away the fans quickly blame the professionally trained installer, while the 5 or 6 of us here who installed/calibrated our own 151s all had great results.

Yup. I gave the RS20 two legitimate demo's at authorized dealers, whose setups were performed by Datasat personnel. Unimpressed. I still believe it should sound better than I heard, but someone's going to have to bring one to my theater and prove it. I wasted 7 hours, 150 miles, and two crappy overpriced lunches chasing them...
thrang is offline  
post #552 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
adanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

When addino gets angry, everyone's in danger, even the innocent! smile.gif

FRIENDLY FIIIIRE!! Down, everyone, down...
adanny is offline  
post #553 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 01:34 PM
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Yup. I gave the RS20 two legitimate demo's at authorized dealers, whose setups were performed by Datasat personnel. Unimpressed. I still believe it should sound better than I heard, but someone's going to have to bring one to my theater and prove it. I wasted 7 hours, 150 miles, and two crappy overpriced lunches chasing them...

Just a note, the Datasat RS20i that you've heard had Dirac Live installed? What amps was the dealer using?

I bet they were Mcintosh Amps... biggrin.gif
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #554 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
No, I think they were using Ypsilon amps wink.gif
G-Rex is offline  
post #555 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:05 PM
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post

No, I think they were using Ypsilon amps wink.gif

No, they were Mcintosh or something like that. Not that i have anything against Mcintosh, but their sound is not for Theater...they're Amps are very "harsh" sounding, no deepness...no soundstage.
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #556 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I prefer thread crapping.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #557 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:37 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 281

Whoa every one chill, it sounds like mine is bigger than yours!! Who cares enjoy what you have I do :)

wse is offline  
post #558 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

I prefer thread crapping.

Let's get it ON!.....


thrang is offline  
post #559 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I agree. Post removed. Going down wrong path here.
G-Rex is offline  
post #560 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

No, they were Mcintosh or something like that. Not that i have anything against Mcintosh, but their sound is not for Theater...they're Amps are very "harsh" sounding, no deepness...no soundstage.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #561 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:10 PM
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post


Had to laugh...you were very funny now! smile.gif

But what i mean is that Mcintosh Amps don't have dynamics for movies. Is this silly to say? I don't think so...

If you want Amps with dynamics for movies, go JBL Synthesis, Mark Levinson 500 Series, or Datasat...they are more adequate for home theater. Now Mcintosh has good amps, but i think they sound better with music.

By the way the RS20i with "Dirac Live" has a room correction with more detail than MX151.
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #562 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Sorry GRex. That was meant for our esteemed colleague MV_Cinema.

That's what I get for trying to use the quote function on a phone app.
adidino is offline  
post #563 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

Had to laugh...you were very funny now! smile.gif

But what i mean is that Mcintosh Amps don't have dynamics for movies. Is this silly to say? I don't think so...

If you want Amps with dynamics for movies, go JBL Synthesis, Mark Levinson 500 Series, or Datasat...they are more adequate for home theater. Now Mcintosh has good amps, but i think they sound better with music.

By the way the RS20i with "Dirac Live" has a room correction with more detail than MX151.

It's very silly of you to say almost everything you are saying right now - it might behoove your future reputation on AVS to change gears, since you don't own either and have no deep experience with either.
thrang is offline  
post #564 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Adidino....I figured. smile.gif
G-Rex is offline  
post #565 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanFrancis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
All those amps he mentioned are made in the same building.

Just sayin'

Dan Francis
Head of Sales US
C'SEED Entertainment Systems GMBH
www.cseed.tv
df@cseed.tv
DanFrancis is offline  
post #566 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanFrancis View Post

All those amps he mentioned are made in the same building.

Just sayin'

Datasat is not making their own amps?
thrang is offline  
post #567 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I'm pretty certain Datasat amps are made by ATI
adidino is offline  
post #568 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceenhad View Post

... the auro layouts need all round height channels to be included. For best effect and max support with other formats a 15 channel layout is best. This will also work superbly with Trinnov. You could front wide but this would add 4 channels (standard and height to maintain the Trinnov sound field). Would depend on the room if this interesting for you or not.

Trinnov of course will handle EQ but cannot do remapping for that many channels until the s/w is upgraded to handle that channel format.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #569 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

Trinnov of course will handle EQ but cannot do remapping for that many channels until the s/w is upgraded to handle that channel format.

Really? In my conversations with Curt, 16 is where it is at.

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #570 of 820 Old 09-21-2013, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

Trinnov of course will handle EQ but cannot do remapping for that many channels until the s/w is upgraded to handle that channel format.

Trinnov will do spatial remapping for that many channels; Trinnov will put each of sixteen channels exactly where they should be spatially, and, will do peq/correction on each of those sixteen.

Curt/Trinnov can pretty easily create a "format" that specifies where each of those sixteen channels is assumed to be physically located by the Auro decoder.

What Trinnov won't do is the original Auro (or PLx, etc) decoding into sixteen channels.
Brucemck2 is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off