Hey Rich Guysâ?˘ Who has a high end music server? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 05-10-2013, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Although I love the Sooloos Control 15, it's made for the Meridian Digital environment, and would require an additional outboard unit to make it compatable with my current setup. Therefore, I got an Olive O4HD server, a sweet unit that has pretty much the same functionality as the 15 (minus the georgous screen) and very good sound quality. I love that it is standalone - dedicated - vs. a PC based music server.

Do you have a music server?

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 05-10-2013, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Mike Ferrara View Post

Although I love the Sooloos Control 15, it's made for the Meridian Digital environment, and would require an additional outboard unit to make it compatable with my current setup. Therefore, I got an Olive O4HD server, a sweet unit that has pretty much the same functionality as the 15 (minus the georgous screen) and very good sound quality. I love that it is standalone - dedicated - vs. a PC based music server.

Do you have a music server?

Various >$10K+ servers have been coming out of the high-end woodworks lately (e.g. Weiss, Audio Research, Boulder). Not a good investment if you ask me. In my estimation, price performance of these things is improving so fast, the sweetspot is to spend $2-$3K on a good server, live with it for a year or two and check back in with the current state of the art.

I personally just ordered the Red Wine Audio powersupply, and will use JRiver on a CAPS 3.0 as my server when the powersupply is ready (total outlay about $3K). This replaces my CAPS 2.0 with JRiver.
edorr is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 05-12-2013, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,578
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2581 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
I purchased my server from http://www.musicvaultcat.com/MVDiamond.html

Using JRiver with JRemote which I love.

(But I am certainly no "rich guy" eek.gif )
prerich likes this.
audioguy is online now  
 
post #4 of 35 Old 05-12-2013, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,758
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Bryston BDP-1 + IPad as controller. An unused late model P4 system will become a dedicated server.

(It's all computer in reality though........ )
Tedd is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 05-13-2013, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post

I purchased my server from http://www.musicvaultcat.com/MVDiamond.html

Using JRiver with JRemote which I love.

(But I am certainly no "rich guy" eek.gif )
Ohhhh, looks sweet.
I've heard good things about JRiver - seems to be the software of choice for HD FLAC files.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 05-13-2013, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,758
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Bass management, 64 bit digital volume, built in parametric EQ and support for third party room correction and crossover convolution files.
Nice user interface that can be set up as a shell. I can see the possibilities with a ssd boot drive, and preloading software upon boot up, in the
start up folder, so the computer acts like a dedicated music player.
prerich likes this.
Tedd is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 05-13-2013, 08:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Server from Core Audio Technology using J River for playback software (J Remote on iPad for remote) and Empirical Audio to feed spdif input on processor

http://www.coreaudiotechnology.com/music-servers/

http://www.empiricalaudio.com/products/off-ramp-converter
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 05-13-2013, 08:13 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Olive 06HD here: it serves me well smile.gif

very quiet operation: no fans and you can barely hear the HD

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 07-01-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MIkeDuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: eastern PA
Posts: 7,029
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 216
I am not rich biggrin.gif but I am very happy with the Baetis HT with Jriver.
http://www.baetisaudio.com/
The higher models have more ram (for intermediate storage of ripped files) standard and higher end connections but I upgraded my Ram so I am pretty happy. It sounds great for music with the Jriver software. All media storage is with external HD's.

It ain't easy being green.
My System
MIkeDuke is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 07-08-2013, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How about lumin with DSD support?
Kei Clark is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 07-21-2013, 04:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
akhter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a Linn Akurate DSM as my Pre/DAC/UPNP Renderer and my server is a Synology DS412+.

The linn streamers are fantastic. Also have a Majik DSM in my vacation home smile.gif
akhter is offline  
post #12 of 35 Old 07-29-2013, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of Turnpike
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Meridian MC200 rocks if used with the rest of Meridian gear.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 03-23-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Armand07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude View Post

Meridian MC200 rocks if used with the rest of Meridian gear.

Have recently got the totaldac d1-server with reclocking. It replaced an Aurender S10 and it is quite a lot better, more analog, blacker background, just more musical.
Armand07 is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 03-24-2014, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Using an old Mac to feed Squeezeboxes around the house, many into high quality DACs. Also JRiver from the computer directly into another good DAC.

Am entirely unconvinced there is any SQ benefit to 'hi-end' servers.
ccssid123 and HTsHT like this.
rblnr is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 03-24-2014, 09:43 AM
isb
Member
 
isb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have you had a look at the Meridian MS200 audio endpoint? It would integrate well with your C15. You'd still have the excellent Sooloos interface, with analog and digital output options from the MS200. I had a SB Touch with digital output into a G68ADV (via a custom Speakerlink to S/PDIF + Comms cable - Speakerlink is balanced S/PDIF over RJ45) and thought it to be a nice sonic upgrade, that's pretty affordable (in Meridian terms).
isb is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 07:05 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
sorry to bump an old thread but thought it best place to post this:

http://www.aurender.com/page/x100

Got an Aurender X100L: this is a high end unit not for everyone: very, very nice unit: I got it mainly to stream Tidal.

Has 6TB storage (two 3GB HDD) and a 120GB Solid State Drive: the SS drive allows songs in the queue to play quickly and the unit and GUI are extremely fast

You can drag files from a PC to the X100L, and you can stream Tidal:also works with NAS server and you can develop playlists that mix the sources.

Unit is a digital source only: X100L USB out to OPPO HA-1 to Krell Foundation 4K via XLR

It has a front panel display and you can toggle between title and artist scrolling, or two different colors of analog VU meter, and adjust brightness

The GUI is excellent…once you get past the learning curve it works quite well: very fast: even searches come back very quickly

All in all this is a high quality, highly engineered unit that is a pleasure to use: sound quality is excellent as expected
Mr. Integration and Goalline like this.

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b

Last edited by markrubin; 12-10-2015 at 09:49 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
sorry to bump an old thread but thought it best place to post this:

http://www.aurender.com/page/x100

Got an Aurender X100L: this is a high end unit not for everyone: very, very nice unit: I got it mainly to stream Tidal.

Has 6TB storage (two 3GB HDD) and a 120GB Solid State Drive: the SS drive allows songs in the queue to play quickly and the unit and GUI are extremely fast

You can drag files from a PC to the X100L, and you can stream Tidal:also works with NAS server and you can develop playlists that mix the sources.

Unit is a digital source only: X100L USB out to OPPO HA-1 to Krell Foundation 4K via XLR

It has a front panel display and you can toggle between title and artist scrolling, or two different colors of analog VU meter, and adjust brightness

The GUI is excellent…once you get past the learning curve it works quite well: very fast: even searches come back very quickly

All in all this is a high quality, highly engineered unit that is a pleasure to use: sound quality is excellent as expected
FUNNY!

My friend Lon's Aurender X100L is arriving any minute now today. I'm setting it up for him. HA! Got it from my Theta dealer, also an Aurender dealer, VGI/Craig Shumer.

Me - I've gotta stereo only music server, CAPSv4 Pipeline & also a multi-channel HDMI only music server, CAPSv3 modded with an ATI-Sapphire video card and a larger cooler case.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #18 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 11:42 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Hello Steve

that is funny

couple of hints:

there are 3 USB ports on the back: be sure you connect to the one marked USB audio

suggest you power it through a UPS: it warns you the hard drives can be corrupted if AC power is cut off: my power went out and it went through a recovery process (nothing lost or corrupted): I added a sine wave UPS to power it

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
Hello Steve

that is funny

couple of hints:

there are 3 USB ports on the back: be sure you connect to the one marked USB audio

suggest you power it through a UPS: it warns you the hard drives can be corrupted if AC power is cut off: my power went out and it went through a recovery process (nothing lost or corrupted): I added a sine wave UPS to power it
Already done! HA!

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #20 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just got my Aurender N10 from Craig today.
Going to spend the weekend setting things up.
Of course, can't tell anything til Tuesday,
when Mark Seaton comes to set up the sonics.
David
David Shapiro is online now  
post #21 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post
Using an old Mac to feed Squeezeboxes around the house, many into high quality DACs. Also JRiver from the computer directly into another good DAC.<br><br>
Am entirely unconvinced there is any SQ benefit to 'hi-end' servers.
using an old pc, with several external hardrives...sky is the limit....
JRiver (of course). Gizmo is the android app...all into an Oppo 105.

used strictly for 2 channel. Good DAC . Better Music. Able to stream Tidal (and pandora on the cheap)
ccssid123 is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 12-10-2015, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post
Using an old Mac to feed Squeezeboxes around the house, many into high quality DACs. Also JRiver from the computer directly into another good DAC.<br><br>
Am entirely unconvinced there is any SQ benefit to 'hi-end' servers.
using an old pc, with several external hardrives...sky is the limit....
JRiver (of course). Gizmo is the android app...all into an Oppo 105.

used strictly for 2 channel. Good DAC . Better Music. Able to stream Tidal (and pandora on the cheap)
ccssid123 is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 12-11-2015, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Very much liking the Bluesound Nodes these days btw -- $500 with a very nice app, and sounds as good as a digital out as anything I've A/B'd against it, all more expensive.
rblnr is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 12-17-2015, 12:07 PM
Member
 
justin42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
JRiver + DIRAC on a MacMini feeding my Benchmark HGC-DAC2 has made me very happy for around $3,000. After experiencing the difference DIRAC makes, I can't imagine running an audio server without it.
justin42 is online now  
post #25 of 35 Old 12-17-2015, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Aurender N10 running into Theta Casablanca 4 with Extreme D3
DACs and Dirac. Outstanding!
David Shapiro is online now  
post #26 of 35 Old 12-17-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,753
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Aurender

Good company!

I know these guys locally in Burbank CA as they are a division of TVlogic who also make a line of professional LCD monitors.
Glimmie is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 12-17-2015, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 18,474
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post
Good company!

I know these guys locally in Burbank CA as they are a division of TVlogic who also make a line of professional LCD monitors.
Yea - I just setup for my friend Lon an Aurender X100L last weekend. Sounds great. Outstanding software. Easy to use.

You mean you don't remember me? Back 1999 - 2003, I started and moderated the AVS Tweaks forum and also the AVS Special Guests forum.

My home theater at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1158431
Steve Bruzonsky is online now  
post #28 of 35 Old 03-04-2016, 03:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Aurender pushed a software update 5.4.58 overnight: I see that Qobuz streaming service has been added

You have to go into app/ settings/upgrade to upgrade the Aurender itself

Qobuz offers 3 levels of streaming: highest quality is called Sublime described as true CD quality in 24 bit Hi-Rez (Qobuz is based in France)

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b

Last edited by markrubin; 03-04-2016 at 04:12 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 05-19-2016, 03:42 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Aurender X100L MQA ready

according to Aurender, my X100L, which requires a separate DAC, is already MQA ready:

You don’t need update any firmware to make it work. It is already working.
Please try it. When you use MQA, you need to turn off Fade In/Out option with the Aurender Conductor app.


so I am thinking of getting the Mytek Brooklyn once Tidal starts offering MQA

anyone have any idea when Tidal will offer MQA?

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 10-27-2016, 08:29 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,159
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Aurender A10 in the house

Aurender let me upgrade my X100L to the new A10 http://www.aurender.com/page/a10

the A10 is similar to the X100L but also has analog outputs, is MQA capable, and comes with an IR remote. It uses 4 linear power supplies

I used the clone feature to transfer all my music and playlists to the new unit: working nicely

Aurender told me to give it 200 hours of use before critical listening: not sure I need that much time to break it in as it already sounds excellent

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off