Datasat RS20i - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,007
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 162
I saw a price of $13K USD... Still not cheap.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2014, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
They do not say that Auro is extra. But as with all SSPs to have Auro - it's a chargeable add on.
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-03-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I find myself in a similar situation. I have the ADA rhapsody along with the Trinnov MC8.
The Trinnov Altitude32 looks very interesting but without decoding is of little use
To use the datasat Ls10 I would have to add various circuit boards to accomodate the extra speakers and analogue out if I want room correction.
Without room correction on the LS10 it would'nt be much better than the Marantz AV8001 for a very much cheaper price

Alan
euphonium is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I can assure you that even without room correction the LS10 will be quite a step up above the marantz. The dacs are much superior over the marantz and then there is the processing.

A friend had the Ada suite 7.1HD and now uses the marantz due to down grading. The sound quality of the marantz with audyssey engaged is not as good as the Ada suite 7.1HD.

I used to have the suite hd then the crm4 which was a bit better in sq than the suite 7.1hd. I then added the trinnov mc to my crm4 and now have the Datasat RS20i. Even with Dirac turned off the Datasat sounds much more cinematic than the crm4 and trinnov.

The sound quality of the RS20i and LS10 are supposed to be the same just minus the flexibility and Dirac.
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi nick,
I know that you had the MC8, i think I have that particular unit(from Keith at purite) I am not getting at the datasat but the room does play a important part in how one hears the end result, also heard the rs20 at andy bone's house, very good.
I have to make a decision will the Ls10 be better on it's own or with it playing into the Trinnov MC8.

Alan
euphonium is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Ah ha! small world.

I would upgrade the crm4 to the LS10 or RS20i if you can so you can use your aes input card on the trinnov mc that you have. The dacs on the trinnov are very good and the room correction will of course improve upon the LS10 performance.
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks nick,

The RS20i is just a little out of reach for me, i have been in touch with Keith forbadvice but he is not a multichannel user.
While i am in contact with you,have you any idea what boards are in the MC8, and what i would need to pass the LS10 to the Trinnov.

Alan
euphonium is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Well if its the unit I had then I believe it has 8 analogue in and out and 8 digi aes in / out. So you would really need another 8 channel analogue in and out cards to make full use of the LS10s outputs.

You may be able to contact Trinnov France and see if they will do you a deal to exchange your 8 chan digi card for analogue cards. But I think you may be looking at around £4000 for an extra 8 channel analogue in / out. If I recall they are £2000 each card.
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-03-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that,

I thought that was the situation and why I was hoping that the new processor from trinnov would include decoding and then I could part exchange my unit for it.
Perhaps a manual set up of the LS10 by Genesis might be ok.

Thanks for your help, things are never straight forward.

Alan
euphonium is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Well Andy is running his RS20i with just PEQ ATM and he says it sounds stunning, so I would imagine a fully calibrated LS10 to sound very good indeed!
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-03-2014, 02:51 PM
Member
 
euphonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi
Iam wating for andy to get the LS10 and then go across, I might go earlier to his hear is RS20i.
I will also contact keith if I can swap the digital boards out to see if I can reduce the cost.
Again thanks for help

Alan
euphonium is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 03:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1361 Post(s)
Liked: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by djnickuk View Post

The dacs are much superior over the marantz and then there is the processing.
What processing? Are you talking about the option to buy Auro or is there some other processing that the LS10 has that the 8801 doesn't have?

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
Old 03-03-2014, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Indeed, the extra processing that comes with the auro up mixer. Plus the fact it's native processing speed is at 96/24 with the ability to operate at 192/24.
djnickuk is online now  
Old 03-04-2014, 10:39 AM
Member
 
abone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We are running just PEQ at the mo so it will sound the same as the LS10 even the channels are maped the same and to be fair I'm blown away with how good it sounds, we did have the right man on the job though ( Graham from Genesis ). The reson we are on PEQ is that we are waiting for Genesis to get a new install kit, Auro update and a change of rear subs ( asthetics only for subs )
abone is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Marantz 8801 op amps have too much hiss for high sens. speakers. Im not impressed with that aspect of their circuit. Adding inline resistors (pads) may reduce s/n ratio a little according to some circuit designers i have emailed.

I havent tested datasat personally to be sure to provide a testimonial on this issue.

Blazar!
blazar is online now  
 

Tags
Ayre Dx 5 Blu Ray Player , U 571 Blu Ray
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off