The Official Mcintosh Labs MX-151 & MX150 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 654 Old 08-23-2014, 03:00 AM
Newbie
 
gubab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sgbroimp,

this is the firmware update I received from Chuck Hinton:

System: 1.4RC5
SVN revision 1:3072
SVN built time 23/05/2014
RP modules 8.20.a

My MX 150 was bought in the United States of America - not in Germany and has not been modified.

Last edited by gubab; 08-23-2014 at 03:06 AM.
gubab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 654 Old 08-29-2014, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
mischkailjine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
I agree with Thrang, though may companies do the same, i.e. publish updates only upon cause/need/demand etc. Here is some late breaking info on the MX150/151 from someone in Germany, who was having Sat TV issues and reports having just received a new update from Chuck H. It is from May 23 and numbered 1.4RC5, SVN 1:3072. This is later than mine which solved some issues for me back in April. Might want to give it a shot, though it could be a Germany-only fix, so that may need clarification.
hi thrang,


i have a german mx150.
can you u send me the latest firmware file ?


cheers

mischka
mischkailjine is offline  
post #633 of 654 Old 09-09-2014, 08:50 PM
Member
 
borkaenjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if Chuck Hinton is on hollidays?
I've been trying to contact him for a week and normally he answers within one day.
I really need some help, or else I can throw my MX151 in the garbage.
borkaenjo is offline  
post #634 of 654 Old 09-11-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by borkaenjo View Post
Does anybody know if Chuck Hinton is on hollidays?
I've been trying to contact him for a week and normally he answers within one day.
I really need some help, or else I can throw my MX151 in the garbage.
Don't throw it in the garbage. Give me your address and I will drive across country if necessary to dispose of it for you.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is offline  
post #635 of 654 Old 09-11-2014, 08:31 PM
Member
 
borkaenjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That would be a long drive, and I hope you can hold your breath for a long time,
as I'm from the Netherlands.
I spoke on the phone with Chuck yesterday, so I hope he can help me.

Last edited by borkaenjo; 09-14-2014 at 04:37 AM.
borkaenjo is offline  
post #636 of 654 Old 09-18-2014, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
MX151 not playing nice with Savant

Hey everyone - new to the forum. Someone else in the forum recommended I post on this thread to get a better response.

I've got a question for you all and I hope someone has some experience and recommendations.

I recently picked up a Mac MX151 paired with the MC205. The problems are with the MX151 working with the Savant home automation system. The HDMI switching on the MX151 doesn't play nice with Savant which leads me to either the new MX121 or the new Classe Sigma SSP.

I understand the HDMI board on the MX121 was sourced from Denon (or something close) and is probably much better than whats in the MX151. I love the sound of the Mac but am open to other options. Another thing that bothered me about the Mac gear was the startup times. This system is my primary audio/video system and is used a lot. Having to wait 20 seconds or so for the system to power up is a small gripe.

anyway - thanks for any input.
hedkase is offline  
post #637 of 654 Old 09-18-2014, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by hedkase View Post
Hey everyone - new to the forum. Someone else in the forum recommended I post on this thread to get a better response.

I've got a question for you all and I hope someone has some experience and recommendations.

I recently picked up a Mac MX151 paired with the MC205. The problems are with the MX151 working with the Savant home automation system. The HDMI switching on the MX151 doesn't play nice with Savant which leads me to either the new MX121 or the new Classe Sigma SSP.

I understand the HDMI board on the MX121 was sourced from Denon (or something close) and is probably much better than whats in the MX151. I love the sound of the Mac but am open to other options. Another thing that bothered me about the Mac gear was the startup times. This system is my primary audio/video system and is used a lot. Having to wait 20 seconds or so for the system to power up is a small gripe.

anyway - thanks for any input.
For the power on time, make sure the Power Saving setting is set to No

For the control issue, I use Roomie with no issue switching (Serial commands over IP) Other users here use different control software with no issues.

Sounds like whoever is programming the Savant is not doing something correctly...are they attempting control over serial or IR? Do they have the serial documentation for the 151 (posted in the first page of this thread)

The 121 is not in the same league as the 151. 121 uses a less refined HW architecture than the 151, and uses an older version of Audyssey while you have a much superior correction tool in Room Perfect.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 11.49.06 PM.png
Views:	15
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	268898  
thrang is offline  
post #638 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I'm happy to know this beautiful forum.

This is my story:

- in 30/08/14
I got a gift from my cousin in USA an MX 150, now it is in Italy, but it has a problem.

in “Inizialiting” I have this sequence on screen:

* Updating RP1... *

after few seconds
* RP1 SW update *
* FAILED! *

after few seconds
* Speakerconf err *
* 3 (comm) *

in this condition, no audio from speakers.

I solve by leaving it in this condition for 25 min, then switch off and switch on and the inizialiting is OK.
But this is not a good solution for me.

Can you help me?
FabioDS is offline  
post #639 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
- in 08/09/14
I wrote to the friendly Chuck from Mcintosh, he advised me to reset the microprocessor.

The Owner’s Manual describes the procedure to reset the cpu, it is very simple,
but if I press and hold in the STANDBY/ON Push-button does not appear "MCU reset” like in manual.
So I abandoned the procedure for to reset the 150 and I read also the procedure to reset the cpu of the MX151, it is different from MX150, but gave good result.
After unplugging the power cord and hung up several times as the procedure, now just insert power cord I see on screen "Booting delay 5-4-3-2-1 sec" and start
a fast Initialiting and after in standby, if I push Standby button, the 150 started Initialiting very fast and run OK.
I used it without problem for 1 week.

- in 19/9/14
I had to unplug the power cord for the work near my TV, now I again the initial problem
* Updating RP1... *

after few seconds
* RP1 SW update *
* FAILED! *

after few seconds
* Speakerconf err *
* 3 (comm) *

I'm desperate, can you help me?
Thank you.
FabioDS is offline  
post #640 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
borkaenjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try Factory reset, or the MCU reset again.
You can also ask Chuck for the newest firmware and install that.

Before you may take it to a dealer in Italy to get it serviced, write down
the serial number of your unit, make sure you have a original receipt
and ask if they will service and repair it.

Dealers and distributors in Europe have a hard time getting parts for an American unit.
Especially a second hand unit without original receipt.

Last edited by borkaenjo; 09-19-2014 at 10:09 AM. Reason: removed quote
borkaenjo is offline  
post #641 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Yes, get them to email you the latest firmware and try updating it...if still an issue you will likely have to get it serviced
thrang is offline  
post #642 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Maybe I can fix it with this firmware!
Is it possible try it?
My email is fndesantis@gmail.com.
Thanks
FabioDS is offline  
post #643 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 08:46 PM
Member
 
borkaenjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to ask Chuck for the newest firmware.
I would mail you the latest firmware I got from Chuck, but I have a MX 151.
So, best to ask Chuck.
borkaenjo is offline  
post #644 of 654 Old 09-19-2014, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the tips. One question - by turning off the power savings does that leave the amp on all the time? If so, is that bad or does it cause more wear?
hedkase is offline  
post #645 of 654 Old 09-20-2014, 12:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
In this weekend I had time to devote to my 150, but today Chuck does not work.
I hope that "Gubab" send me the file, because I read that he has.
How can I contact him quickly?

I reloaded the firmware 3.30.12, so now my 150 is always in error, instead of waiting 25 minutes and before I could use it. Maybe I could unlock it with another firmware.
Thanks.
FabioDS is offline  
post #646 of 654 Old 09-23-2014, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Fabio, I was away till today but have both the MX 150 and 151 firmwares May. For the benefit of the thread I've uploaded them. Thrang, you may want to add the links into the first page.

MX150 - 2013/9/17:
http://rg.to/file/aaf4d489675aeb2620...7.tar.bz2.html

MX151 - 2014/04/28:
http://rg.to/file/414dab93a4d1ae40e6447af1ffa874a9/mcintosh_mx151_20140428.tar.bz2.html

Although you can interchange the firmware files on the 150 by changing the filename on the 151 update to read 150, I wouldn't recommend it as there's nothing to gain, but will instead most likely introduce minor glitches due to the hardware differences.


Last edited by OzHDHT; 09-23-2014 at 10:18 PM.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #647 of 654 Old 09-27-2014, 01:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank very much for your courtesy,
Now the MX150 is in assistance, because I ask to McIntosch assistance and they said me they you may have a broken connection somewhere in the MX150 that is interrupting power to the RP sections.
I hope that the assistance can solve it.

I have another question:
my 150 has a predominance of sub often annoying having to turn the volume down to 20% who are not able to eliminate.
I tried lowering all the sub to -10 db, but it's always annoying, it could depend that I had not made ​​the Room Perfect?
FabioDS is offline  
post #648 of 654 Old 09-27-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
tspotorno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
MX151 Beta Update

I got the beta update from Chuck at McIntosh, however, he added the following line:

I do have a BETA version of an update that should fix the problem. The Beta version still has at least one bug, ( the AUX outs stop working)

I use the AUX outs cause I have dual subs. I use AUX 3/4. Will installing this update disable those outputs? Otherwise I'll just stick with the current firmware till it is fixed.

It does seem like this issue with the beta has been broken for a while... Wonder why it is taking so long to get a new firmware out?
tspotorno is offline  
post #649 of 654 Old 09-30-2014, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tspotorno View Post
I got the beta update from Chuck at McIntosh, however, he added the following line:

I do have a BETA version of an update that should fix the problem. The Beta version still has at least one bug, ( the AUX outs stop working)

I use the AUX outs cause I have dual subs. I use AUX 3/4. Will installing this update disable those outputs? Otherwise I'll just stick with the current firmware till it is fixed.

It does seem like this issue with the beta has been broken for a while... Wonder why it is taking so long to get a new firmware out?
I do not use any AUX output, for me is perfect, could you send it in order to try it?
FabioDS is offline  
post #650 of 654 Old 09-30-2014, 11:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
tspotorno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FabioDS View Post
I do not use any AUX output, for me is perfect, could you send it in order to try it?
The file I received has a date of 05/23/2014. It appears to be a month after the ones OzHDHT posted above.

Since nobody has responded, I've sent an email to Chuck to explain what exactly is not working before I install it.
tspotorno is offline  
post #651 of 654 Old 10-01-2014, 10:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
tspotorno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just FYI,

Heard from Chuck at McIntosh and the firmware dated 5/23 does indeed disable ALL of the AUX outputs. He said to add a splitter to the sub out and run both subs that way vs Aux outputs...
tspotorno is offline  
post #652 of 654 Old 10-03-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
tspotorno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
MB100 Music Server

I know this is the 151 thread, but does anyone here have hands on experience with the MB100? Looking for something to help manage my music and provide Sirius Radio and be completely controllable via web or mobile app interface.

Thanks,
Tony
tspotorno is offline  
post #653 of 654 Old 10-03-2014, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The assistance told me that my MX150 has the CHANNEL RP card broken and I must replace it. Anyone know how much is it?
FabioDS is offline  
post #654 of 654 Old 10-19-2014, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
scanido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto Suburbs
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have a Mac connected to their MX150/151 via HDMI and can successfully get 8ch 24bit / 192khz output?

On my Late 2012 MacMini, If I go to Audio Midi configuration in OSX, the max seems to only be 96khz. There is no option for 192khz.

According to this excerpt from Apple the Macmini should support this audio output and as far as I remember the Mx150 DACs should support this resolution.

"Apple supports 8-channel, 24-bit audio at 192kHz, Dolby Surround 5.1, and traditional stereo output."

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4214

Any help is appreciated.
scanido is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off