The Official Mcintosh Labs MX-151 & MX150 Owner's Thread - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 106Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1222 Old 11-28-2015, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigimonagas View Post
Do not waste your time with RP. You'll have to run it again after the next firmware. I know, it sucks.

Another issue to report. The MX160 doesn't recognize PCM as HD Audio as the MX150/151 did. Audio is not as stellar as if the MX decodes it. Just confirmed this last night.

The popping issue appers to be with just some discs. I watched Dark Night Rises Last Night without a single pop.

Another thing that needs to be added to the next firmware are test tones for each speaker and the option in the GUI to disable the volumen in the screen.

The Crestron module for the old MX150 works perfect over IP, by the way.
To be honest, Room Perfect is not that much of hassle to do at all. Especially compared to Audyssey Pro, which I've had to do about 4 times in the last 3 months in setting up a new room with my 8802. It's so much more time consuming and exacting, really a pain in the arse.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impounder View Post
I think it is about time now the the moderators of this forum make a new page for MX 160
That's generally something for the members to take the initiative of doing. I have to think there's enough owners now for someone to start one. Obviously it won't be me since I don't own one as yet.
OzHDHT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1222 Old 11-28-2015, 09:27 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,539
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
To be honest, Room Perfect is not that much of hassle to do at all. Especially compared to Audyssey Pro, which I've had to do about 4 times in the last 3 months in setting up a new room with my 8802. It's so much more time consuming and exacting, really a pain in the arse.



That's generally something for the members to take the initiative of doing. I have to think there's enough owners now for someone to start one. Obviously it won't be me since I don't own one as yet.
On it.
OzHDHT likes this.

My Sony 5000ES Review PART 2 FINISHED:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1462841668379
joerod is offline  
post #1203 of 1222 Old 11-29-2015, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Curious
Is your dealer helping mitigate these issues for you or is it Mc. For me, it is Chuck. For sure.
daimler2015 is offline  
 
post #1204 of 1222 Old 11-29-2015, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 31
What are your impressions of Party mode with music ??
daimler2015 is offline  
post #1205 of 1222 Old 11-30-2015, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Ron has been helping me. Haven't tried Party mode.
Impounder is offline  
post #1206 of 1222 Old 12-22-2015, 03:26 PM
Member
 
sleepie89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, have a question about mcintosh. I know this thread is really for the mx. I figured you guys probably could help me. I posted in the McIntosh owners thread that seemed dead. Anyways, my question is what is the going price for a used mc501?

Thank you.
sleepie89 is offline  
post #1207 of 1222 Old 12-23-2015, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepie89 View Post
Hi, have a question about mcintosh. I know this thread is really for the mx. I figured you guys probably could help me. I posted in the McIntosh owners thread that seemed dead. Anyways, my question is what is the going price for a used mc501?

Thank you.
Two sources to explore the answer to this are: www.audiogon.com and www.usaudiomart.com.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #1208 of 1222 Old 12-23-2015, 04:16 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,141
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 1026
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
Two sources to explore the answer to this are: www.audiogon.com and www.usaudiomart.com.
And another would be eBay. There are several in the completed auctions that will show what they actually sold for.
gsr is offline  
post #1209 of 1222 Old 01-29-2016, 05:50 PM
Audio Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
New/Old user to the forum. Your posts have helped me immensely over the past 2 days in configuring my MX160. And yes when you upgrade the firmware the RP goes bye bye. Horrible process compared to the MX121/122 but that is the price we pay. Keep up the good work. It will probably take me a few weeks to get it all configured right.

Noushy

2 Channel - MC452, C2500, MCD550, LH Dac, Aurender server
9 Channel - MX160, MC8207. MC152, MVP891, B&W CI700 and JL F113x2, Sony VPL600ES
noushy is offline  
post #1210 of 1222 Old 02-05-2016, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Ron32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ron32 is offline  
post #1211 of 1222 Old 02-07-2016, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Ron32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This question is for JoeRod, the two aux xlr outputs can they be used for front height speakers. Also I know you reviewed the 8802, mx160, and the rs20i. Based on sound only rate them on a scale of 1-10. For movies and music. Example mx160 9/8.5 movies then music. Thanks man for what you do.
joerod likes this.
Ron32 is offline  
post #1212 of 1222 Old 07-07-2016, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
grey9hound's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Given it has been now a good 8 months since I moved on my MX-150, my recollection of adjustments in Room Perfect is a bit sketchy. In saying the the 2 Lyngdorf systems that I have it in give you fairly simple trim adjustments and allow you to of course set custom 'voicing' modes. The amount of adjustability, isn't greatly different to competing RC systems really. Also, given it does a damn good job with most rooms (it can't do miracles of course), I've never found myself wanting to play around with the corrected sound really.
Are you back with the MX or still using the AV8802. I would like to know the sound qualities of the marantz Vs the MX150/151, especially in 2 channel please if you can. I am currently on the fence as to which way to go MX150/151 or Marantz av8802
grey9hound is offline  
post #1213 of 1222 Old 07-08-2016, 11:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by grey9hound View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
Given it has been now a good 8 months since I moved on my MX-150, my recollection of adjustments in Room Perfect is a bit sketchy. In saying the the 2 Lyngdorf systems that I have it in give you fairly simple trim adjustments and allow you to of course set custom 'voicing' modes. The amount of adjustability, isn't greatly different to competing RC systems really. Also, given it does a damn good job with most rooms (it can't do miracles of course), I've never found myself wanting to play around with the corrected sound really.
Are you back with the MX or still using the AV8802. I would like to know the sound qualities of the marantz Vs the MX150/151, especially in 2 channel please if you can. I am currently on the fence as to which way to go MX150/151 or Marantz av8802

Back to a MX-160 now and very pleased to be back with a McIntosh processor. It's probably going to be a closer contest for 2ch between processors as its not what you're really investing in a 11.2 ch processor for so to speak. I though still give the nod to the McIntosh there with 2ch as you are still very much able to utilise RP just as you would with say the Lyndorf 2ch unit and to my ears it's a nicer result than even Audyssey Pro for room correction. Then again you may be a person who dislikes the idea of using room correction. Still I think you're going to be happier with the 150/151. You could also look at the option a of dedicated 2ch pre-amp which I know some people do along side their surround processors. I no longer have a multi-use room, so I don't tend to sit away in my HT listening to music, as nice as it can sound as its now a pretty anti-social scenario to do so in my current place, you don't score well with the Mrs by doing that unfort.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #1214 of 1222 Old 07-11-2016, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I added a second powered sub and have been trying to figure out the best way to install. I see using the Aux1/Aux2 and biamp is the way recommended at the beginning of this thread. I tried this but am not satisfied with the subs performance.


I thought maybe I was setting something up wrong so I called Mac tech support. I'm still not sure if I had all the crossover and speaker sizes correct. Tech support recommends using the Sub out and connect the second sub to the first. Now I'm confused but I think I will try this unless someone can explain why the biamp setup is better. I guess if it doesn't sound right I can always go back but I don't really enjoy running Room Perfect.
KRGM1 is offline  
post #1215 of 1222 Old 10-16-2016, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an oppurtunity to purchase an MX151 from a a local audio place. It's a demo model that they are blowing out to get rid of it, sub-$5k. The salesmans logic is they are basically giving it away because it doesn't have the ability to work with 4K. Do I even care?

Also, does anyone know the specs for how many watts this unit produced? I can't seem to find the info?

Thanks in advance
five Russells is offline  
post #1216 of 1222 Old 10-16-2016, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,201
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1382
Quote:
Originally Posted by five Russells View Post
I have an oppurtunity to purchase an MX151 from a a local audio place. It's a demo model that they are blowing out to get rid of it, sub-$5k. The salesmans logic is they are basically giving it away because it doesn't have the ability to work with 4K. Do I even care?

Also, does anyone know the specs for how many watts this unit produced? I can't seem to find the info?

Thanks in advance
How does anyone know if you care??

It's a great unit but besides not 4K UHD pass through you cannot take advantage of Atmos, DTS:X or Auro 3D.

It's a processor not a receiver so it doesn't produce watts. You need a separate amp (multichannel, monoblocks, whatever combination for the number of speakers you use)
OzHDHT likes this.
thrang is offline  
post #1217 of 1222 Old 10-16-2016, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
How does anyone know if you care??

It's a great unit but besides not 4K UHD pass through you cannot take advantage of Atmos, DTS:X or Auro 3D.

It's a processor not a receiver so it doesn't produce watts. You need a separate amp (multichannel, monoblocks, whatever combination for the number of speakers you use)
Thanks for the info but no thanks for the attitude. It was a general question so there's no need to be so gruff "dude".
five Russells is offline  
post #1218 of 1222 Old 10-16-2016, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,201
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1605 Post(s)
Liked: 1382
Quote:
Originally Posted by five Russells View Post
Thanks for the info but no thanks for the attitude. It was a general question so there's no need to be so gruff "dude".
No attitude but how does anyone know what you care about?
OzHDHT likes this.
thrang is offline  
post #1219 of 1222 Old 10-16-2016, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by five Russells View Post
I have an oppurtunity to purchase an MX151 from a a local audio place. It's a demo model that they are blowing out to get rid of it, sub-$5k. The salesmans logic is they are basically giving it away because it doesn't have the ability to work with 4K. Do I even care?

Also, does anyone know the specs for how many watts this unit produced? I can't seem to find the info?

Thanks in advance
My old MX150 is on consignment still as well for $5300, so sub $5K is ok for a MX151. But as as thrang pointed out, the MX series are processors not receivers, so you might want to go back to the drawing board there unless you are keen on purchasing a decent mult-channel amp at least on top which will start bringing the cost right back up very quickly for the kind of amp/amps you'd want to pair with it.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #1220 of 1222 Old Today, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a definitive answer regarding 4K passthrough and the MX151?

I have the McIntosh MX151 as the heart of my system. I've had it for years and HD worked fine with my various components.

This past week I upgraded my peripheral components to UHD 4k. See below. I have certified 4K HDMI cables.

Anyhow I configured the system with everything going through MX151 via HDMI. I could NOT get a 4K display output on the TV. Long story short, I tested each component separately, without going through the MX151 connecting it directly to the Sony Z9D Tv and got 4k output with no problem.

I have not updated my MX151 firmware in a couple of years. Has anyone been able to successfully use HDMI through the MX151 and get 4k display on their TV (as I am describing)?

I've got an email into McIntosh and I'm going to call them today but I hoped others had faced this problem and hopefully achieved success. Otherwise I just wasted my time.

I have seen on other threads where people have achieved this by sending the audio signal the MX151 and the video signal directly the TV. That would be a huge step back for me in terms of the way I use my system - not to mention a complete cluster with the amount of cables, et cetera.

Thanks!

Components:

- Sony Z9D UHD 4K TV
- Oppo UDP-203 Blu-ray
- Sony PS4 PRO
- Directv Genie HR54
- McIntosh MC205 (AMP - not relevant for 4K - just including it)
- Harmony Elite Universal Remote Control (makes life very easy)
JLTinCV is offline  
post #1221 of 1222 Old Today, 09:33 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,141
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 1026
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLTinCV View Post
Anyhow I configured the system with everything going through MX151 via HDMI. I could NOT get a 4K display output on the TV.
The MX151 doesn't support 4K. You either have to replace it (the MX160 supports 4K) or go with a dual cable setup with 4K direct to the TV and audio to the MX151.
gsr is offline  
post #1222 of 1222 Old Today, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLTinCV View Post
I have the McIntosh MX151 as the heart of my system. I've had it for years and HD worked fine with my various components.

This past week I upgraded my peripheral components to UHD 4k. See below. I have certified 4K HDMI cables.

Anyhow I configured the system with everything going through MX151 via HDMI. I could NOT get a 4K display output on the TV. Long story short, I tested each component separately, without going through the MX151 connecting it directly to the Sony Z9D Tv and got 4k output with no problem.

I have not updated my MX151 firmware in a couple of years. Has anyone been able to successfully use HDMI through the MX151 and get 4k display on their TV (as I am describing)?

I've got an email into McIntosh and I'm going to call them today but I hoped others had faced this problem and hopefully achieved success. Otherwise I just wasted my time.

I have seen on other threads where people have achieved this by sending the audio signal the MX151 and the video signal directly the TV. That would be a huge step back for me in terms of the way I use my system - not to mention a complete cluster with the amount of cables, et cetera.

Thanks!

Components:

- Sony Z9D UHD 4K TV
- Oppo UDP-203 Blu-ray
- Sony PS4 PRO
- Directv Genie HR54
- McIntosh MC205 (AMP - not relevant for 4K - just including it)
- Harmony Elite Universal Remote Control (makes life very easy)
As GSR says, you're a generation too early for 4K support. As stands even the MX160 is causing a few configuration headaches for us owners with UHD HDR passthrough.
OzHDHT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off