Theta Casablanca - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-28-2013, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to the Casablanca....it arrives tomorrow from Theta! I've been reading the manual online, and it is detailed. My question being about it's set up with Magnepan speakers.
I'm running 1.7's as fronts, the CC5 Center, and MMG's for the rear surround. With all the crossover options, 'phase perfect' etc, and actual crossover hz....I was wondering if anyone here had set something similar up and could offer a word of advice? What's best to use...crossover numbers...etc. Joe
dancjodanc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-08-2013, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigbrother52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hudson River Valley, N.Y.
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post

I'm new to the Casablanca....it arrives tomorrow from Theta! I've been reading the manual online, and it is detailed. My question being about it's set up with Magnepan speakers.
I'm running 1.7's as fronts, the CC5 Center, and MMG's for the rear surround. With all the crossover options, 'phase perfect' etc, and actual crossover hz....I was wondering if anyone here had set something similar up and could offer a word of advice? What's best to use...crossover numbers...etc. Joe

I ran 3.6's front and 3.5's rear but CC5 was not available and gave up waiting with CC3's front and rear and moved onto to Aerial 9's front and rear and their wonderful CC5 center.

What I found I needed to do was to set the center channel crossover higher then 80hz because of the serious lack of low end but you may or may not have the new bass module for the CC5 too and I stopped looking to see what people were doing with that but set-up would be different if you have one.

At any-rate, with center crossover set to 160hz the center speaker still did not have a true ribbon in the speaker at the time so the timbre was always off. Hopefully you shouldn't have that problem anymore but back to your crossover.
With the blanca set to 160hz (and my preference was for the Butterworth but that's more of an individual taste) I crossed the center over to the front left and right (XOVRLR) and used the CB-III's center spread mode a bit making it seem like the center was larger then it was and more powerful, Center Spread also helped with masking the timbre mismatch. I don't remember where I had it roll off, I'm pretty sure it was one extreme or the other, so either 6 or 24.
Left and right crossovers were still set to 80Hz if I recall.

Unfortunately, as much as I love my Maggies (still own a couple of pair and recently gave 3.6's to my son) and how beautiful it all sounded with music, for movies they just didn't cut it for me as I'm a bit of a volume freak and every single time I played an action movie I lost either a tweeter or midrange fuse from one speaker or the other. I tried to make this work for me for a very long time and have the largest collection of burnt out little fuses that you've ever seen to prove it. They are all placed in a red heart shaped box and the picture is online somewhere titled Maggie Love.

I was going to just ditch the CC3's and replace it with Aerials CC5, as it probably still would have done wonders for me, but by the time I really committed to doing that the blown fuse thing during movies convinced me to go with a speaker that could handle immense power better, hence the matching 9's.
But if I had my druthers, I suppose they'ed all be Aerial 20T's so I could get back that wonderful ribbon sound but still be able to handle allot of power for movies.

I hope a similar setting for Maggies works for you.

TURN IT UP!
bigbrother52 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-18-2014, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of using HDMI to get sound from my Mac mini to the Casa instead of the USB DAC set up I'm using now. Looking at other options for a player...and I have heard that many Casa users use HDMI and the DAC's inside the Casa, instead of using an outboard dac. Just wanted someone's thoughts on this?
I'm not unhappy with my sound now...but looking at a different set up, housing music on a media player...and I would want to use the HDMI for that...Thanks
dancjodanc is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off