Kaleidescape Cinema One...the cost of entry just got a whole lot cheaper ............. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 196 Old 03-07-2014, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
yetis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes, and it is marvelous....
yetis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 196 Old 03-07-2014, 05:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 17,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by aronsonstack View Post

Can someone explain the benefits of this over your usual HTPC and viewing your collection movie covers via xmbc, zappit, etc?

Is this just a product to make things convenient for the super rich?
That is covered earlier in the thread. But in a nutshell, you will not have to learn to build anything. It is ultra reliable compared to above solutions. Anyone can use it with ease. I have an HTPC that I use for everything other than movies and it is far less reliable and predictable than the Cinema One.

The other benefit is that you can buy movies online which today come as the same encodings as Blu-ray and in some cases, is available earlier than disc release. Gravity was an example. You buy the movies using any browser and it lands on your machine in the background. Once there, is no streaming, bandwidth issues, etc.

Amir
Founder, Madrona Digital
"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is online now  
post #183 of 196 Old 03-10-2014, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Swampfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How does movie ownership work with K if you have more than one residence, can you view the movie at each location or do you need to purchase multiple copies of the movie?
Swampfox is offline  
post #184 of 196 Old 03-10-2014, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Peter Nielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampfox View Post

How does movie ownership work with K if you have more than one residence, can you view the movie at each location or do you need to purchase multiple copies of the movie?

If I got it right, you can store movies purchased in the Kaleidescape store on multiple (up to 5?) servers. However, if you own the movie on Bluray, you will need to buy multiple copies for mutliple servers.

Another option is of course to use a VPN, in which case you'll only need a server in one location...
Peter Nielsen is offline  
post #185 of 196 Old 03-10-2014, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Craig Heim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Nielsen View Post

If I got it right, you can store movies purchased in the Kaleidescape store on multiple (up to 5?) servers. However, if you own the movie on Bluray, you will need to buy multiple copies for mutliple servers.

Another option is of course to use a VPN, in which case you'll only need a server in one location...

Up to five Kaleidescape systems can be connected to the same movie store account.

Purchased movies download to all five systems, but you can also easily choose to download to particular systems.

This also applies to our disc-to-digital programs, so in the case where you own the movie on Blu-ray disc and we have it in our store with the necessary rights, you can pay just $1.99 to go disc-free AND have the Blu-ray quality movie downloaded to up to five systems.
Craig Heim is offline  
post #186 of 196 Old 03-10-2014, 05:22 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 285
is there a way to disable or change the sleep setting of the Cinema One?

mine goes to sleep after about 30 minutes of no activity: I would like to adjust that time longer: the screen saver setting does not seem to make a difference

I could do it with a timed event: sending a left cursor command every 30 minutes, but was wondering if there was an easier way...and if it might affect the life of the unit?

tia
pchannan likes this.

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #187 of 196 Old 03-10-2014, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Craig Heim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

is there a way to disable or change the sleep setting of the Cinema One?

mine goes to sleep after about 30 minutes of no activity: I would like to adjust that time longer: the screen saver setting does not seem to make a difference

I could do it with a timed event: sending a left cursor command every 30 minutes, but was wondering if there was an easier way...and if it might affect the life of the unit?

tia

Under the General tab in the setup menu you can adjust or turn off the screen saver and switch between standby and full power down, but I don't see any options for what you are seeking.

To access this menu, press the MENU button on your Kaleidescape remote, scroll to the System tab, and select Settings.

For those of you interested in the full details, here is the manual: http://www.kaleidescape.com/files/documentation/Kaleidescape-Cinema-One-Installation-Guide.pdf

If you are using an IP-based control system, we have an event called LEAVE_STANDBY that could be used instead of sending a potentially undesirable command. I do not recommend sending this command every 30-minutes 24 hours per day. Instead send it on a source change.
Craig Heim is offline  
post #188 of 196 Old 03-11-2014, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Peter Nielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aronsonstack View Post

Can someone explain the benefits of this over your usual HTPC and viewing your collection movie covers via xmbc, zappit, etc?

Is this just a product to make things convenient for the super rich?

One of the features with most value (IMHO) in Kaleidescape is the bookmarking that they provide. You can just press play and the movie starts: You don't have to sit or fast forward through a lot of trailers or other annoying menus. I love this feature. I'm sure you can achieve the same thing with a HTPC if you have the patience to bookmark all your movies. For someone with thousands of disks, it's just too tedious and effectively makes Kaleidescape worth what it costs, but YMMV.
Peter Nielsen is offline  
post #189 of 196 Old 03-11-2014, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Kevin Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Shorewood, MN
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Nielsen View Post

One of the features with most value (IMHO) in Kaleidescape is the bookmarking that they provide. You can just press play and the movie starts: You don't have to sit or fast forward through a lot of trailers or other annoying menus. I love this feature..

Completely agree. This alone has made the system worth the money for me. I often find that I barely have time to watch a movie. Kaleidescape helps allow me that time by eliminating all the crap that used to surround trying to watch a movie. Love it!

Kevin
pchannan likes this.
Kevin Snyder is offline  
post #190 of 196 Old 03-12-2014, 01:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Glad to see the DV700 has now been repriced to $3995.

Quick question regarding the Go Disc Free option.

When you choose to get the Digital version from the store, remove your disc copy from the server, and download the Digital copy they aren't the same are they?

I mean the picture and audio are 1:1 copies but you loose the Blu-Ray menu, the chapter menu, and extras?

Is that correct?
Spizz is offline  
post #191 of 196 Old 03-13-2014, 08:28 PM
Member
 
xrayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will there ever be a cinema one like product from Kscape that can ...

1. Store 100 BD's, but expandable to 1000 or more depending on HD configuration.
2. Operate completely independent of a vault, i.e. load a BD and throw the disc away, or download from the store.
3. Decode and output pcm for all audio codecs.

... I would buy one, almost irregardless of cost.
xrayyou is offline  
post #192 of 196 Old 03-14-2014, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Kevin Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Shorewood, MN
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
While I don't know the answer to your question, I do know what my dad would tell me when I would try to use that word...

Irre-g*d-d*mn-gardless
Kevin Snyder is offline  
post #193 of 196 Old 03-16-2014, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JlgLaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayyou View Post

Will there ever be a cinema one like product from Kscape that can ...

1. Store 100 BD's, but expandable to 1000 or more depending on HD configuration.
2. Operate completely independent of a vault, i.e. load a BD and throw the disc away, or download from the store.
3. Decode and output pcm for all audio codecs.

... I would buy one, almost irregardless of cost.



Your questions are obviously a "wish list" before buying, but as things currently stand.....

1. Current product can already do the 100 BD's, and although you can expand that number it requires buying another C1. There "was" a plan to build an external storage device that would increase capacity, but there have been comments that this is no longer being considered (but that might change).

2. Current product can do that now, but you must download from the K Store to be "disc free", and as you likely know, not all major studio's are available in the Store (but more are likely soon).

3. We have been asking for this for quite awhile, but it has not been a priority because of the relatively few K owner's that own processor's incapable of decoding the bitstream. It would be nice to have (for those owners), but may be awhile, if ever.



Jim
JlgLaw is offline  
post #194 of 196 Old 03-16-2014, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
trans_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In my theater
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
3. Decode and output pcm for all audio codecs.
I agree this is highly unlikely.

You could use this if you have a 7.1 input.
https://www.gefen.com/pdf/onesheets/GTV-HDMI-2-HDMIAUD.pdf
trans_lux is online now  
post #195 of 196 Old 07-12-2014, 08:11 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 285
question:

I want to setup a collection or playlist of music that will play all of the songs/albums in it continuously

I have tried various options such as favorites, collections, mix album, and I can repeat or shuffle within a given album, but how do you get an entire playlist or collection to play and or shuffle continuously?

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #196 of 196 Old 07-16-2014, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
jtjjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
question:

I want to setup a collection or playlist of music that will play all of the songs/albums in it continuously

I have tried various options such as favorites, collections, mix album, and I can repeat or shuffle within a given album, but how do you get an entire playlist or collection to play and or shuffle continuously?
Just set up a collection that has all of the albums that you want included. Go to that collection and at the top of the list of albums is a "Play Collection" line. Click on this and the system will make playlist of all the songs from all of the albums in the collection in random order and will start playing. When it gets to the end it automatically starts over so it will continue playing until you stop it.
jtjjen is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Tags
Lg Smart Bp420 Blu Ray 3d Video Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off