Theta Dreadnaught - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-30-2013, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dancjodanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a Dreadnaught II yesterday....and it's really a beauty. 2 Things
The remote trigger...I'm having trouble getting it to turn off or on correctly with the Casablanca. All the triggers on the Casa are on, DC.
I see a place for 2 triggers on the back of the Dreadnaught: remote, and surround. Do I need 2 mono plugs, for the stereo and surround channels?


Also...this thing runs HOT. I have it on it's own amp stand....nothing on top of it....and it's hot to the touch, toward the rear....even in Standby...
is that normal?
dancjodanc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-31-2013, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
sierraalphahotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post

I got a Dreadnaught II yesterday....and it's really a beauty. 2 Things
The remote trigger...I'm having trouble getting it to turn off or on correctly with the Casablanca. All the triggers on the Casa are on, DC.
I see a place for 2 triggers on the back of the Dreadnaught: remote, and surround. Do I need 2 mono plugs, for the stereo and surround channels?


Also...this thing runs HOT. I have it on it's own amp stand....nothing on top of it....and it's hot to the touch, toward the rear....even in Standby...
is that normal?

Hi there,

My Dreadnaught II gets very warm too; it's normal in my experience smile.gif. Along with my plasma screen it goes a long way to heating my tiny room up. Once I get the room fully insulated, I won't need to put the heating on at all wink.gif. I think the amp still draws considerable power in standby (120w IIRC).
sierraalphahotel is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-05-2013, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dave7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Outside Philly
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Dread do run warm/hot. Not really an issue unless you're bothered by the heat.

The triggers are pulse triggers, not constant DC. There is a fix for it, but I cannot remember it at the moment. I have had a dread in a while. It's some sort of Xantech box that does a pulse/constant conversion. It sounds complicated, but once I made the piece, it was rather simple.

Make sure the Casablanca sends a pulse trigger signal, otherwise you need the "conversion" box.

On the surround/stereo issue, there are switches for each channel to assign the module to the appropriate bus.

I seem to remember a mono cable might not work...but I cannot remember.

Dave
dave7 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-05-2013, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Cal
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancjodanc View Post

I got a Dreadnaught II yesterday....and it's really a beauty. 2 Things
The remote trigger...I'm having trouble getting it to turn off or on correctly with the Casablanca. All the triggers on the Casa are on, DC.
I see a place for 2 triggers on the back of the Dreadnaught: remote, and surround. Do I need 2 mono plugs, for the stereo and surround channels?

Not sure what problem is, but in case this might be: In the back of the Casablanca, there are 4 remote trigger jacks; you are using one of the lower ones with numeric label 1, 2, or 3, and **NOT** the top one, with the label "Remote Power" right?

The top jack that's labeled "Remote Power" is triggered by "Remote" button on the Remote Control or front CB panel.

As someone mentioned above, you also could set up whether each CB jack outputs 12V pulse or 12V DC, under "Setup" then "Global" then "Remote Power." You could also set up the pulse width and time delay of trigger. This is on page 76 of the non-indexed tongue.gif Theta manual. Hope this helps.

Regards, Can
Theta sound: Powerful and full-bodied, stunning 3D soundstage, spooky imaging in "clean & quiet" soundfield. My system & CBIII HD review & setup help - Post # 3913 & 3914
Give vinyl and tube pre-amp a try - the sound from heaven!
cannga is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off