Datasat LS10 - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 172Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 830 Old 09-23-2015, 11:57 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Does anyone know what the new update was for??
NextLevel217 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 830 Old 09-24-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Does anyone know what the new update was for??
The only thing I know about that we the new firmware you can also update the HDMI board firmware to the newest version. I followed through 3 alpha and 4 beta versions since beginning of this year to solve my HDMI audio issues. I did not have enough chance to see whether the final release finally solved my issues!
NextLevel217 likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #453 of 830 Old 10-19-2015, 09:08 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Any news after Cedia about all the upgrades for the LS10????
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #454 of 830 Old 10-19-2015, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Any news after Cedia about all the upgrades for the LS10????
The only thing I found so far is from the German Datasat distributor Takeoffmedia on their website that in December the LS10 can be upgraded to Atmos, DTSX and HDMI 2.0 in thr Datasat factory. Interestingly they state that in this version it will also feature DIRAC 2.0. It sounds like it would be on thr new board A pleasant surprise if no additional cost would occur.
westmd is offline  
post #455 of 830 Old 10-19-2015, 11:46 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Now that would be amazing!! Fingers crossed on that
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #456 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
So it had been confirmed to me that DIRAC 2 is from the hardware side on the Atmos/DTS:X board! No word on fees yet!
westmd is offline  
post #457 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
So it had been confirmed to me that DIRAC 2 is from the hardware side on the Atmos/DTS:X board! No word on fees yet!
Upgrade for Atmos/Dirac will be in the neighborhood of $5k

Datasat + Aerial Acoustics = The cure for upgradeitis!

Current Equipment: Datasat LS10 w/ Atmos and DIRAC. Datasat RA7300, Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #458 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
The Bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I wonder if the mic kit for Dirac for the LS10 will be cheaper than for the RS20? I believe it is in the thousands of dollars if I'm not mistaken. (for the mic and the program licence)

Design by Rives...dollars by The Bogg

Click for my build thread
The Bogg is online now  
post #459 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 11:40 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post
Upgrade for Atmos/Dirac will be in the neighborhood of $5k
I hope hdmi2.0 hdcp 2.2 is included in that price!
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #460 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I wasn't able to get pricing, but I was told recently that HDMI 2.0a and HDCP 2.2 is due out any day (hardware change), whereas Atmos is late this year (also a hardware change) and DTS-X is early next year (software update only, as long as you have the Atmos hardware). The only word on DIRAC was that it "is in beta" and will be a hardware change too (for a new DAC). It was even hinted that it may be able to decode more than 11 channels for Atmos/DTS-X. I have to admit, I have been holding off on upgrading from my old Onkyo, and I am getting a little anxious. I don't want to buy the LS10 then have to start upgrading it immediately.

Samsung 65" TV
Datasat LS10 (w/ DIRAC & Atmos)
Two Emotiva XPA-7's (2nd Gen)
Seven Triad InWall Silver LCR's & Four KEF Ci200RR-THX Atmos speakers
Two Deep Sea Sound Mariana 24" subs
Vicoustic room treatment

Last edited by grtuck; 10-22-2015 at 01:06 PM. Reason: Updated DIRAC information
grtuck is offline  
post #461 of 830 Old 10-22-2015, 06:49 PM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtuck View Post
I wasn't able to get pricing, but I was told recently that HDMI 2.0a and HDCP 2.2 is due out any day (hardware change), whereas Atmos is late this year (also a hardware change) and DTS-X is early next year (software update only, as long as you have the Atmos hardware). The only word on DIRAC was that it "is in beta" and will be a hardware change too (for a new DAC). It was even hinted that it may be able to decode more than 11 channels for Atmos/DTS-X. I have to admit, I have been holding off on upgrading from my old Onkyo, and I am getting a little anxious. I don't want to buy the LS10 then have to start upgrading it immediately.
Smart to wait! I only plan to send mine in one time for all the upgrades. I have no desire to keep unhooking and shipping it over and over again
Mr. Integration and grtuck like this.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #462 of 830 Old 10-23-2015, 01:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coral Springs Florida
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Your wait may soon be over. I am beta testing LS10 with Dirac 2.0 I have no idea when it is coming for purchase or cost details but I think all those manufacturers thinking about taking a piece of the Datasat Pie better rethink their strategy. It is full dirac 2.0
westmd, grtuck and NextLevel217 like this.

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #463 of 830 Old 10-23-2015, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Integration View Post
Your wait may soon be over. I am beta testing LS10 with Dirac 2.0 I have no idea when it is coming for purchase or cost details but I think all those manufacturers thinking about taking a piece of the Datasat Pie better rethink their strategy. It is full dirac 2.0
Very interesting! What can you tell us about Dirac 2.0? Exactly what functionality does it include? Does its processing differ from 1.0? Can you share any screen grabs of the interface?
Wookii is offline  
post #464 of 830 Old 10-23-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coral Springs Florida
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I did not have Dirac 1 which could never work on the LS 10. My understanding is that they are very similar. I would need to ask about screen grabs before I would post. This is beta so it may not be the final version. I just wanted end the speculation. My guess is it would be released soon. I hope it happens when the HDMI update is done because it could be done at the same time, at least mine was
NextLevel217 likes this.

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #465 of 830 Old 10-23-2015, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Integration View Post
Your wait may soon be over. I am beta testing LS10 with Dirac 2.0 I have no idea when it is coming for purchase or cost details but I think all those manufacturers thinking about taking a piece of the Datasat Pie better rethink their strategy. It is full dirac 2.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Integration View Post
I did not have Dirac 1 which could never work on the LS 10. My understanding is that they are very similar. I would need to ask about screen grabs before I would post. This is beta so it may not be the final version. I just wanted end the speculation. My guess is it would be released soon. I hope it happens when the HDMI update is done because it could be done at the same time, at least mine was
Hearing this makes me very happy, thank you for sharing =)

Samsung 65" TV
Datasat LS10 (w/ DIRAC & Atmos)
Two Emotiva XPA-7's (2nd Gen)
Seven Triad InWall Silver LCR's & Four KEF Ci200RR-THX Atmos speakers
Two Deep Sea Sound Mariana 24" subs
Vicoustic room treatment
grtuck is offline  
post #466 of 830 Old 10-26-2015, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,843
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1359 Post(s)
Liked: 1133
thrang is online now  
post #467 of 830 Old 10-26-2015, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
My dealer was indicating two separate boards for Atmos/DTS:X & Dirac...but it is confirmed to be one board?

Thanks
I was told be the German distributor it would be one board!
grtuck likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #468 of 830 Old 11-05-2015, 02:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr. Integration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coral Springs Florida
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I was told be the German distributor it would be one board!
I know of a demo LS 10 available PM for details.

I know it sounds great and looks great.....but can we communicate with it? If not it is useless:)
Mr. Integration is offline  
post #469 of 830 Old 11-13-2015, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
According to Datasar the new HDMI board is just an interims solution as it will be restricted to 10 GHz and not all input channels will support HDMI 2.0. A next board with full capabilities will be released in about 9 months! So if you don't have any immediate reasons to upgrade, let it be!
NextLevel217 likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #470 of 830 Old 11-13-2015, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Los Angeles Lakers :)
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
According to Datasar the new HDMI board is just an interims solution as it will be restricted to 10 GHz and not all input channels will support HDMI 2.0. A next board with full capabilities will be released in about 9 months! So if you don't have any immediate reasons to upgrade, let it be!


It's possible Datasat and Theta are using the same board from MDS? Is this Datasat board 4 in 1 out, with only 1 of the 4 inputs being HDMI 2 compliant? If so, might be the same.



Regards, Can
My System & CBIII HD Mini-review Theta Casablanca - the processor for music lovers: stunning 3D soundstage and imaging, rich & full sonics, "black" background, and of course off-the-chart dynamic range!
High-End Speaker Impressions & 3D Audio Comments Give vinyl and tube preamp a try, then let a tube amp complete the fantastic audio "journey" :-).
cannga is offline  
post #471 of 830 Old 11-13-2015, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
It's possible Datasat and Theta are using the same board from MDS? Is this Datasat board 4 in 1 out, with only 1 of the 4 inputs being HDMI 2 compliant? If so, might be the same.


Good pick up - they are probably the same as Datasat have advised that only 1 input and 1 output will be 2.0 compliant.
stephenbr is online now  
post #472 of 830 Old 11-13-2015, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
According to Datasar the new HDMI board is just an interims solution as it will be restricted to 10 GHz and not all input channels will support HDMI 2.0. A next board with full capabilities will be released in about 9 months! So if you don't have any immediate reasons to upgrade, let it be!
Thanks for the update, I really hope this isn't true though =(
So lame.

Samsung 65" TV
Datasat LS10 (w/ DIRAC & Atmos)
Two Emotiva XPA-7's (2nd Gen)
Seven Triad InWall Silver LCR's & Four KEF Ci200RR-THX Atmos speakers
Two Deep Sea Sound Mariana 24" subs
Vicoustic room treatment
grtuck is offline  
post #473 of 830 Old 11-13-2015, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtuck View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
According to Datasar the new HDMI board is just an interims solution as it will be restricted to 10 GHz and not all input channels will support HDMI 2.0. A next board with full capabilities will be released in about 9 months! So if you don't have any immediate reasons to upgrade, let it be!
Thanks for the update, I really hope this isn't true though =(
So lame.
You can bet its true as the Datasat engineer in charge told me hinself over the phone!
Billybobjimbob likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #474 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
You can bet its true as the Datasat engineer in charge told me hinself over the phone!
This is pretty disappointing to see how far behind the curve Datasat is currently

Samsung 65" TV
Datasat LS10 (w/ DIRAC & Atmos)
Two Emotiva XPA-7's (2nd Gen)
Seven Triad InWall Silver LCR's & Four KEF Ci200RR-THX Atmos speakers
Two Deep Sea Sound Mariana 24" subs
Vicoustic room treatment
grtuck is offline  
post #475 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 08:13 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I guess I'll be waiting for the next board! I agree, this is very disappointing!
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #476 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
I guess I'll be waiting for the next board! I agree, this is very disappointing!
I will also wait with my Atmos/DTS:X upgrade untill I know if I need a HDMI upgrade anyway so only once UHD BD players are available. I don't want to send my unit twice over the pond!
NextLevel217 likes this.
westmd is offline  
post #477 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 37
With the exception of Trinnovs Altitude, are their any processors currently available with the full bandwith 18gb Hdmi2.0 interface?

I know displays are available with the full speed ports, but I wasn't aware of processors and receivers also having full support already available.

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is offline  
post #478 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 10:21 AM
Member
 
NextLevel217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
I will also wait with my Atmos/DTS:X upgrade untill I know if I need a HDMI upgrade anyway so only once UHD BD players are available. I don't want to send my unit twice over the pond!
Thats exactly how I feel. I don't want to ship my unit multiple times!! So Ill just wait until all of it is sorted out with hdmi 2.0, Dirac and the atmos/dts x card.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #479 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
dschulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billybobjimbob View Post
With the exception of Trinnovs Altitude, are their any processors currently available with the full bandwith 18gb Hdmi2.0 interface?

I know displays are available with the full speed ports, but I wasn't aware of processors and receivers also having full support already available.
Exactly: no one does, because the folks that manufacture HDMI boards aren't there yet.

Does Trinnov? I just pulled this off their website, which says the Altitude currently ships with 1.4b (perhaps the website is simply out-of-date):

FULL HDMI 2.0 Full HDMI 2.0 specification as soon as announced by receiver chipset providers, scheduled late 2015.
Billybobjimbob likes this.
dschulz is offline  
post #480 of 830 Old 11-14-2015, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by dschulz View Post
Exactly: no one does, because the folks that manufacture HDMI boards aren't there yet.

Does Trinnov? I just pulled this off their website, which says the Altitude currently ships with 1.4b (perhaps the website is simply out-of-date):

FULL HDMI 2.0 Full HDMI 2.0 specification as soon as announced by receiver chipset providers, scheduled late 2015.
Thanks Dan, this is what I suspected. I don't think the hdmi2.0 aspect is a let down or an issue in anyway. Virtually every manufacturer is shipping with the 10gb port.

What is turning into a let down is the Atmos upgrade. Datasat have a poor track record of hitting scheduled deadlines they themselves provide information for. From the initial information given for the availability of the Atmos card..Datasat customers are way, way behind.

One would hope that if there is a delay, Datasat would release a statement detailing what the state of play is and what is expected to happen. The last official word was launch at Cedia with availability around the same time. Another month has passed and still no news

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off