Datasat LS10 - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 297 Old 08-14-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Why cant you add 2 channels if you have the capacity, send the center height channel INPUT to the left height channel OUTPUT, the mixer will add it, then do the same for right height channel, INPUT center height channel OUTPUT right height channel.

WHY NOT HERE? Consolidate 2 front subs into one if you have to, this is more important,no?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	New Auro.jpg
Views:	470
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	211929  

Last edited by CINERAMAX; 08-14-2014 at 11:30 AM.
CINERAMAX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 297 Old 08-14-2014, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Why cant you add 2 channels if you have the capacity, send the center height channel INPUT to the left height channel OUTPUT, the mixer will add it, then do the same for right height channel, INPUT center height channel OUTPUT right height channel.

WHY NOT HERE? Consolidate 2 front subs into one if you have to, this is more important,no?


The problem is that you move the output to a desired input. That output can not be in two places at once, ie on the centre height and front height L/R simultaneously. Now if you could copy the Centre Height input and move that onto the front left / right height then it would be fine.

Basically, you can have as many output channels as you want routed to a single input but you can not copy those inputs and have as many of them as you want on an output channel. Hope that makes sense.
djnickuk is online now  
post #213 of 297 Old 08-14-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I see but one of the firmware updates said it added channel matrixing capabilitities. What gives?
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #214 of 297 Old 08-15-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Is the HDMI upgradable in the future?

The spec here: http://www.datasatdigital.com/consum...-processor.php says HDMIv1.4. Upgrade to 2.0?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #215 of 297 Old 08-15-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,053
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 173
So, does anyone know if this is on Datasat's 'to do' list?

Would ATMOS have use for a Center Height or VOG??

Thanks!!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #216 of 297 Old 08-15-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
dschulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
So, does anyone know if this is on Datasat's 'to do' list?

Would ATMOS have use for a Center Height or VOG??

Thanks!!
Datasat's aware and it is on the engineering task list for a future firmware update.

Dolby Atmos does not have a Center Height. It also doesn't have a VOG as such, instead it uses multiple pairs of overheads.

Re: HDMI 2.0 in the LS10 - that is not something that can be achieved in firmware. Full HDMI 2.0 functionality would require a wholesale hardware change. However, please note that most of the desired functionality of HDMI 2.0 is supported by current hardware (UHD video at 24 or 30 fps).
dschulz is offline  
post #217 of 297 Old 08-15-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Would ATMOS have use for a Center Height or VOG??
No.

The consumer version of Atmos has 34 potential speaker locations: 24 around you and 10 above you. Pick as many or as few speakers as you want.



Notice no Centre Height nor VOG.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #218 of 297 Old 08-15-2014, 08:23 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,050
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
No.

The consumer version of Atmos has 34 potential speaker locations: 24 around you and 10 above you. Pick as many or as few speakers as you want.



Notice no Centre Height nor VOG.
I want to see a room like that Just imagine

- 24 B&W 802D2 = $180,000
- 10 B&W 805D2 = $50,000
wse is offline  
post #219 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
erwinfrombelgium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Am I the only one who finds it weird that the Left and Right front are 90° from each other, vs the normal 60°?

Building a HT with 7.2.4 layout and ◤SEOS-24◥ LCR.
erwinfrombelgium is offline  
post #220 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,053
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by erwinfrombelgium View Post
Am I the only one who finds it weird that the Left and Right front are 90° from each other, vs the normal 60°?
The whole thing is odd... and certainly not settled. I'm back in beta mode!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #221 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by erwinfrombelgium View Post
Am I the only one who finds it weird that the Left and Right front are 90° from each other, vs the normal 60°?
Sloppiness by the art department, not the official recommendation by Dolby.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #222 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Is Dolby expecting home theater architecture to resemble an oil tank or some domed temple. Why the round array?I prefer my layout better.

CINERAMAX is offline  
post #223 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
cannga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny Southern Cal
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
No.

The consumer version of Atmos has 34 potential speaker locations: 24 around you and 10 above you. Pick as many or as few speakers as you want.



Notice no Centre Height nor VOG.



Sanjay,

Is linear distance between the overhead speakers specified to be less than the left and right front speakers as seemingly indicated by above diagram? (Are the overhead speakers supposed to be closer together than front speakers, similar to positioning of overhead array of commercial theaters?) And if so, are there specific "numbers" (angle or linear distance) specified by Dolby?
Thanks.

Regards, Can
Theta: Stunning 3D soundstage, sublime details, unlimited dynamics and low end response - the processor for music lovers. My system & CBIII HD review & setup help - Post # 3913 Here and Diagrams & Surround Speaker Rec. Here
Give vinyl and tube gears a try - the sound from heaven :-).
cannga is offline  
post #224 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannga View Post
Is linear distance between the overhead speakers specified to be less than the left and right front speakers as seemingly indicated by above diagram? (Are the overhead speakers supposed to be closer together than front speakers, similar to positioning of overhead array of commercial theaters?) And if so, are there specific "numbers" (angle or linear distance) specified by Dolby?
Like I said, their art department arbitrarily labeled a couple of those locations as L/R. Front speakers aren't typically 90 degrees apart. At the Dolby presser Monday, their preliminary suggestion was to have the height arrays in line with the front L/R speakers, which they assumed were at ±30° from centre.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #225 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Why the round array?
Makes it easier to see angles.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #226 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Yeah I was just joking, though they should do a rectangle and angle the speakers like the 3 front wides in the cinema floorplan. its simpler.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #227 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 08:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Still joking.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #228 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 09:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
You should watch jodorowsky's dune. He rips Doug Trumbull a new one because JDK wants spacecraft with a soul, the a-list expert is a top method technician, but his 60 fps showscan for example has always been considered cold, perhaps SOUL-LESS?

I too thus came to the realization THAT HT's need a SOUL, (mine mostly do ) and that individuals obsessed with the subject on a purely technical basis probably are oblivious to the concept of anthropometric soul in the machine "anima-machina". This CEDIA I will make sure to walk the floor just with individuals seeking systems with soul potential...

Last edited by CINERAMAX; 08-16-2014 at 09:13 PM.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #229 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Still joking.

Are you insinuating that I was totally unaware of the angles in your graphic, and the that it flew over my head? You really think that I would let that slip , me? On the subject of atmos? You need to start using both sides of the brain when mulling over this stuff, bud....
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #230 of 297 Old 08-16-2014, 09:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,994
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1046
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post
Are you insinuating that I was totally unaware of the angles in your graphic, and the that it flew over my head? You really think that I would let that slip , me? On the subject of atmos? You need to start using both sides of the brain when mulling over this stuff, bud....
You're the one who said you were joking.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #231 of 297 Old 09-19-2014, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Does anybody has more information of Dolby Atmos in the LA10. I asked two people from Datasat independantly and only got the silent treatment so far...
westmd is offline  
post #232 of 297 Old 09-19-2014, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
erwinfrombelgium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by westmd View Post
Does anybody has more information of Dolby Atmos in the LA10. I asked two people from Datasat independantly and only got the silent treatment so far...
You know the cinema branch from Datasat competes with the Dolby cinema processors? Hence I bet some heavy negotiating is going on.


http://www.datasatdigital.com/cinema...comparison.php

Building a HT with 7.2.4 layout and ◤SEOS-24◥ LCR.
erwinfrombelgium is offline  
post #233 of 297 Old 09-19-2014, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
djnickuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by erwinfrombelgium View Post
You know the cinema branch from Datasat competes with the Dolby cinema processors? Hence I bet some heavy negotiating is going on.


http://www.datasatdigital.com/cinema...comparison.php
Datasat made an official announcement re dolby Atmos on the RS20i for Q1 2015. Whether this is also applicable to the LS10 I don't know.
djnickuk is online now  
post #234 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The Auro Crux as a Datasat LS10 clone is now available for 10,370€ Including VAT on a German dealers website:

http://www.grobi-shop.tv/product_inf...oducts_id=1823

Very interesting as European MSRP for the LS10 incl. VAT is around 15,000€,
westmd is offline  
post #235 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes, very interesting. Have these prices been seen elsewhere, so that we can confirm they are not just fishing prices?
Wookii is online now  
post #236 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
westmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookii View Post
Yes, very interesting. Have these prices been seen elsewhere, so that we can confirm they are not just fishing prices?
I did ask Auro for a list of authorized dealers to get other prizes.
The dealer I referenced that has the products on his website is one of the most reliable and well known German dealers, so definitly no fishing prizes from them! I will give them a call tomorrow and try to find a little bit more out!
westmd is offline  
post #237 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 02:09 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,050
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 376
DATASAT will have to upgrade their boards to be HDMi 2.0, and more important HDCP 2.2 compliant

"Not Backward Compatible One major challenge is HDCP 2.2, the latest evolution of the HDCP copy protection designed to create a secure connection between a source and a display.
The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) in its revised Ultra High-Definition Display Characteristics V2 guidelines, effective from September 2014, has specified that at least one of the 3840x2160 HDMI digital inputs on a display “shall support HDCP revision 2.2 or equivalent content protection” for it to be considered an Ultra HD installation. This condition is significant, as “these updated attributes will help ensure consumers get the most out of this exciting new technology and will provide additional certainty in the marketplace,” says CEA president and CEO Gary Shapiro. There is a pretty substantial problem, though: HDCP 2.2 is not backward compatible with legacy 4K displays. The legacy source device can connect just fine without native HDCP 2.2 support, as long as the display is 2.2-compliant. But don’t expect a 4K image if the TV lacks HDCP 2.2 support."


Of course a lot of people are happy about that:


"4K Ultra HD has terrific growth potential for custom integrators and HDCP2.2 compliance will be one of the secrets to the format’s success. Integrators should make sure their customers are Ultra HD-ready by specifying displays, sources, receivers and matrices that are HDCP2.2 compatible. The more HDCP2.2 devices are deployed, the more content the studios will produce – and we’ll all be in a much better 4K place."


So plan on replacing your AVR or processor, your projector or TV and of course your BluRay player but that goes without saying no BluRay players today can do 4K anyway
wse is offline  
post #238 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
DATASAT will have to upgrade their boards to be HDMi 2.0, and more important HDCP 2.2 compliant

"Not Backward Compatible One major challenge is HDCP 2.2, the latest evolution of the HDCP copy protection designed to create a secure connection between a source and a display.
The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) in its revised Ultra High-Definition Display Characteristics V2 guidelines, effective from September 2014, has specified that at least one of the 3840x2160 HDMI digital inputs on a display “shall support HDCP revision 2.2 or equivalent content protection” for it to be considered an Ultra HD installation. This condition is significant, as “these updated attributes will help ensure consumers get the most out of this exciting new technology and will provide additional certainty in the marketplace,” says CEA president and CEO Gary Shapiro. There is a pretty substantial problem, though: HDCP 2.2 is not backward compatible with legacy 4K displays. The legacy source device can connect just fine without native HDCP 2.2 support, as long as the display is 2.2-compliant. But don’t expect a 4K image if the TV lacks HDCP 2.2 support."

(snip)

So plan on replacing your AVR or processor, your projector or TV and of course your BluRay player but that goes without saying no BluRay players today can do 4K anyway

So, if you've got, say, a Lumagen Radiance Mini 3D and a two year old Panasonic VT series plasma with 3D support and HDMI 1.4 (but both are pre-4K), and if you buy or upgrade to a pre/pro with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 support, you've got to replace your display and the Lumagen VP? ?

Stuart

 

Denon 4311 with XT32 and Audyssey Pro

Oppo 93 and 103

Panasonic VT50

Sherwood R-972 with its version of the Trinnov Optimizer

MiniDSP 10x10 HD

PSB Imagine T2, Center, and Surrounds (as of 5/2014); HSU ULS-15 subs (2)

 

The Audyssey FAQ Guide can be found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/...

sdrucker is online now  
post #239 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 02:31 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,050
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post
So, if you've got, say, a Lumagen Radiance Mini 3D and a two year old Panasonic VT series plasma with 3D support and HDMI 1.4 (but both are pre-4K), and if you buy or upgrade to a pre/pro with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 support, you've got to replace your display and the Lumagen VP? ?
Unfortunately YES
wse is offline  
post #240 of 297 Old 10-07-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,036
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 884 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post
So, if you've got, say, a Lumagen Radiance Mini 3D and a two year old Panasonic VT series plasma with 3D support and HDMI 1.4 (but both are pre-4K), and if you buy or upgrade to a pre/pro with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 support, you've got to replace your display and the Lumagen VP? ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Unfortunately YES
Where does it say you have to replace your existing gear?

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off