The Official 5000ES 4K Laser Sony Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 571Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1358 Old 10-13-2016, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 1626
Has Sony ever indicated what that juicy and intriguing expansion slot is? I'm presuming HDMI 2.1; perhaps Dolby Vision???
joerod likes this.
thrang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1358 Old 10-13-2016, 11:49 PM
Member
 
Micke_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
anyone using their VW5000 with crestron? what protocol are you using since didnt find the vw5000 in the crestron library
Micke_ is offline  
post #33 of 1358 Old 10-14-2016, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post
Art:

I guarantee that you will be very happy moving from 130 gain to 100. You will not miss the texture

Lon,
I'm sure you are correct it's just dropping from 35fL down to 18 ( new larger screen) could be a shock. I've been looking at a very bright image on both the 5000 with the Studiotech and the modded Christie which gave me over 40fL with a new lamp.


Art

...
Art Sonneborn is online now  
 
post #34 of 1358 Old 10-14-2016, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Has Sony ever indicated what that juicy and intriguing expansion slot is? I'm presuming HDMI 2.1; perhaps Dolby Vision???

Not sure but I believe that is more a vestigial remnant from before the projector was released as a home theater unit.


Art

...

Last edited by Art Sonneborn; 10-14-2016 at 05:40 AM.
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #35 of 1358 Old 10-14-2016, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Those looking at a screen should give the Seymour Screen Excellence Enlightor 4K AT a serious look, especially with this projector's high light output. Zero artifacts, great accuracy, sharpness and contrast. I am 100% happy with this screen, and it passes the hockey torture test flawlessly.

I've heard the same it's just that the Screen Excellence four way masking has a limited closure which won't cover my needs. I hear something is coming but there is no time frame.


Art

...
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #36 of 1358 Old 10-15-2016, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 719 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post
Art:

I guarantee that you will be very happy moving from 130 gain to 100. You will not miss the texture
We came from the SilverStar which is a different type of beast altogher but watching Tarzan UHD tonight on the 100 it was just so clean. The sky, water, jungle and the lovely Margot Robbie just appeared so clear. I seriously doubt we could ever change screens after "seeing" how amazing movies can look.

My Martin Logan Illusion & Impressions Review:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1494808387395
joerod is online now  
post #37 of 1358 Old 10-18-2016, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Micke_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
anyone who has built an hushbox for the VW5000? I am sitting right under the projector so I can hear it a Little bit to much. Pictures on the husbox would be great
Micke_ is offline  
post #38 of 1358 Old 10-18-2016, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micke_ View Post
anyone who has built an hushbox for the VW5000? I am sitting right under the projector so I can hear it a Little bit to much. Pictures on the husbox would be great


Hyperion xxi- format agnostic alcons/trinnov mid century legacy mini-plf system
Murat is offline  
post #39 of 1358 Old 10-18-2016, 07:10 AM
LICENSED TO THRILL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: PAN-ATLANTIC
Posts: 17,632
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2224 Post(s)
Liked: 1265
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #40 of 1358 Old 10-18-2016, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Yes, I've used some acoustic foam inside on the solid walls. I covered the rear openings on the sides with very loose speaker grill foam and the front air intakes areas have black metal mesh. Hushbox and the foams inside help a lot for lessening the sound of the fans. While it's certainly not totally silent, it sure does a good job compared to have no box
Murat is offline  
post #41 of 1358 Old 10-18-2016, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Is Extended warranty available for the 5000ES? Has any one purchased it?
RS3771 is offline  
post #42 of 1358 Old 10-19-2016, 12:49 AM
Member
 
Micke_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 14
looks nice, any Pictures from the inside when you built it? How about the air to the projector, will it not get to hot and damge the projector?
CINERAMAX and joerod like this.
Micke_ is offline  
post #43 of 1358 Old 10-19-2016, 10:19 AM
LICENSED TO THRILL
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: PAN-ATLANTIC
Posts: 17,632
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2224 Post(s)
Liked: 1265
Send a message via Skype™ to CINERAMAX
Thanks for liking my bodywork design. The projector exhausts through a fan out the back into another room so you have a forced airflow through the front.
ARROW-AV likes this.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #44 of 1358 Old 10-19-2016, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
psychdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: central Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 212
A quick question for everyone who has one of these mounted to their ceilings. What projector mount works well for this beast? I found one made by Chief. Is there another that works better? Thank you.
psychdoc is offline  
post #45 of 1358 Old 10-19-2016, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 719 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychdoc View Post
A quick question for everyone who has one of these mounted to their ceilings. What projector mount works well for this beast? I found one made by Chief. Is there another that works better? Thank you.
Sony also has their own which is more money but does have a cooler look (personal taste) with helpful moving bars.


My Martin Logan Illusion & Impressions Review:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1494808387395
joerod is online now  
post #46 of 1358 Old 10-20-2016, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 719 Post(s)
Liked: 653
With Mayer reporting we will have the HDR Slider update very soon I have to admit that is very exciting. More and more recently we have started watching UHD movies. Since many are now becoming the norm with future newer release titles I expect it to become 75% to 80% of the time by year's end. It only gets better from here.


My Martin Logan Illusion & Impressions Review:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1494808387395
joerod is online now  
post #47 of 1358 Old 10-20-2016, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
With Mayer reporting we will have the HDR Slider update very soon I have to admit that is very exciting. More and more recently we have started watching UHD movies. Since many are now becoming the norm with future newer release titles I expect it to become 75% to 80% of the time by year's end. It only gets better from here.


Yea, I'm finding myself doing exactly what I've been critical of others for.....watching movies that look great but may not be so good for any other reason.



Art
chirpie, joerod and d.j. like this.

...
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #48 of 1358 Old 10-20-2016, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychdoc View Post
A quick question for everyone who has one of these mounted to their ceilings. What projector mount works well for this beast? I found one made by Chief. Is there another that works better? Thank you.

I'm using the Chief . Since I've used it for my HT5000 and HD5Kc all I had to do was purchase a new mounting plate for the 5000es.


Art

...
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #49 of 1358 Old 10-20-2016, 04:27 PM
VGI
Advanced Member
 
VGI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boca Raton Florida & Manalapan NJ
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychdoc View Post
A quick question for everyone who has one of these mounted to their ceilings. What projector mount works well for this beast? I found one made by Chief. Is there another that works better? Thank you.
I have personally hung a few of these puppies using the Sony mount which I think is actually peerless. Its quite a monster bracket but built very well. Its probably overkill for most situations as the Hardware/Metal work is seriously heavy duty. The Projector is heavy as you probably know but not that heavy.

I've used Chief for 20 years and hung hundreds of Sony's with them and always loved their stuff.If Chief has a Bracket for the 5000 its probably less money than the Sony and my guess is that its probably small and more low profile and nicer but I am just guessing I haven't seen it yet.

Definitely check out the Chief before jumping into the Sony.

Thx
Craig Shumer
Theatermax LLC

Craig Shumer
20 Years of Audio Video Excellence
President of Theatermax LLC
www.theatermax.com
Theta Digital, Trinnov, Datasat, Ayre, Sonus Faber, Aurender, ATI, Cardas, Melco Etc...
VGI is offline  
post #50 of 1358 Old 10-20-2016, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Ted C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Here ya go!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 10.19.18 PM.png
Views:	234
Size:	233.2 KB
ID:	1726945  
Ted C is offline  
post #51 of 1358 Old 10-24-2016, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I’ve installed the 5000ES as of last nite (to replace my 1100ES)!!!

I’ve swapped the stock lens with the ST lens and executed the software change associated with the lens swap (& I had an issue with trying to figure out whether it worked or not) – have sent an email to Sony Support….I'm inside the Service Menu - but don't know how to exit out of it.

I can however see a nice & extraordinarily bright and punchy projected interface of the Strato and Oppo. But when I tried to play a good old 1080p bluray from Oppo, screen goes blank/black; tried to play a UHD movie from Strato, same deal – there’s no video output – yet, the signal is perfectly fine as it displayed the Oppo and Strato interfaces (using the latest Metra 2 meter cables for 5000ES as I’ve been using for 1100ES for the last four months) – didn’t try Panny yet. So, I don’t know if the problem has anything to do with the lens swap software change or HDMI cables or Lumagen Radiance Pro or something else – of course, I could do all kinds of tests to isolate the problem.

Had my 1100ES setup calibrated four months ago – and all was fine until I changed the projector last nite- (Of course, I’ll have this re-calibrated, etc. a bit later) – but for the moment, just wanted to see what the image produced from 5000ES even looks like! Like I said, the Oppo & Strato interface come on-fine – but no image is generated when I try to play video from the Strato/Oppo.

With the 1100ES, I always turned on the Marantz SR7009, the blu ray players, and the Strato before turning on the Radiance Pro and then, ultimately would turn on the 1100ES. I’m doing the same thing with 5000ES and the signal does come on since I can see the Oppo/Strato – but not sure why the video doesn’t play. Now, I also tried the opposite – turning the 5000ES first and then the Radiance Pro and then everything else – when I do this, I don’t even get the Oppo/Strato interface….

Should I try switching the passive cable connected to the PJ with an active Metra cable? Please let me know if anyone can think of anything I should be trying – of course, I can go direct from the video source to PJ to see if it’s the Radiance Pro that’s an issue (haven’t had a chance to give that a try of course) – but what puzzles me a bit is that if it can display the 4K Strato interface, what’s the issue with playing video? Or what is possibly different between the Lumagen setup for 1100ES vs 5000ES (of course all of the calibration settings for 1100ES are untouched at the moment) – I simply switched the connection from 1100ES to 5000ES……something to do with HDCP 2.2/HDMI 2.0a?

Last edited by RS3771; 10-24-2016 at 12:50 PM.
RS3771 is offline  
post #52 of 1358 Old 10-24-2016, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,879
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 500
I'm using a relatively short inexpensive monoprice cable (not active). All inputs function including Strato Kaleidescape Premier,Comcast cable, Oppo, both region 1 and 2 Blu Rays HDDVD and Samsung UHD player using the movie pack hard drive, however, there are various lags up to 20 seconds when switching from input to input.


Art

...
Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #53 of 1358 Old 10-24-2016, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,268
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 719 Post(s)
Liked: 653
RS3771,

Did you have any luck yet? Make sure HDMI is set to "Enhanced" mode as well.

My Martin Logan Illusion & Impressions Review:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1494808387395
joerod is online now  
post #54 of 1358 Old 10-24-2016, 08:44 PM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 18
RS3771


How are your video sources connected to the 5000ES? Sources > Radiance Pro > 5000ES or do you have the Marantz SR7009 in the video chain?
StephenBishop is offline  
post #55 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
RS3771,

Did you have any luck yet? Make sure HDMI is set to "Enhanced" mode as well.
No luck yet as far as sending signal from Radiance Pro to 5000ES. I actually thought of this "Enhanced" mode discussion you guys were having. I'll figure this out tonite. I took Lumagen out of the loop last nite and connected the Strato directly to the PJ and bingo, it worked fine - so, trying to figure out the issue with the Lumagen - as I like its calibration (done previously for 1100ES + Strato but also includes Rec. 2020 calibration). Will check this enhanced mode setting wherever it is - and see what happens....
RS3771 is offline  
post #56 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post
RS3771


How are your video sources connected to the 5000ES? Sources > Radiance Pro > 5000ES or do you have the Marantz SR7009 in the video chain?
Here's what I have:
Sources > video outputs > Radiance Pro > 5000ES (previously 1100ES)
Sources > audio outputs > Marantz SR7009
RS3771 is offline  
post #57 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 07:18 PM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RS3771 View Post
Here's what I have:
Sources > video outputs > Radiance Pro > 5000ES (previously 1100ES)
Sources > audio outputs > Marantz SR7009

What is the distance from video outputs > Radiance Pro > 5000ES?
StephenBishop is offline  
post #58 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenBishop View Post
What is the distance from video outputs > Radiance Pro > 5000ES?
It's 6 ft. Been using the 2-meter Ethereal 4K 60P rated cable. See pic. below (I only use passive cables; the active cable is simply a spare intended for use between the Radiance Pro and 5000ES if the passive gives problems).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20161025_08_50_08_Pro.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	381.4 KB
ID:	1735561  
RS3771 is offline  
post #59 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RS3771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
RS3771,

Did you have any luck yet? Make sure HDMI is set to "Enhanced" mode as well.
I checked this out and yes, HDMI was actually set to "Standard" even though the Factory default is supposedly "Enhanced." The moment I switched to Enhanced, the strato image came on!! Amazing! I noticed that every few minutes the right half of the image would show horizontal bars like transparent glass panes stacked on top of each other - some scaling issue going on there that needs to be resolved. With my 1100ES, I was using the ISCO 1.25x a-lens and had set up the Radiance Pro for that purpose; now, I'm not using it any more and figured all I had to do was undo that setting - and learnt that that is not right. Anyway, I'll post on this issue in the Radiance Pro thread.

Next, I switched to the Oppo-103 on the Radiance Pro - Sony didn't like the Enhanced Mode for this one and blacked out on me. Then, I switched to Standard format and got the image. The 2.35:1 AR image was showing as a kind-of blurry large 1.78:1 image - this I'm sure is a Lumagen setting/scaling issue - which I'll post in the Lumagen thread. Then, I switched to Panny - same deal with that as well.

For the moment, I plan to go directly from video source to PJ until I resolve all Lumagen issues. I watched a few mins of "IMAX: Alaska - Spirit of the Wild" UHD on the Strato last nite - and the eye candy was unbelievable - and that too at 15% laser setting! (12.5 ft x 7 ft 1.78:1 image using ST lens) Haven't had time to check out HDR or 3D yet.
RS3771 is offline  
post #60 of 1358 Old 10-25-2016, 08:51 PM
Member
 
StephenBishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RS3771 View Post
It's 6 ft. Been using the 2-meter Ethereal 4K 60P rated cable. See pic. below (I only use passive cables; the active cable is simply a spare intended for use between the Radiance Pro and 5000ES if the passive gives problems).


I do not have a Lumagen in my video chain. However, based on my experience with a processor in the video chain (the Marantz 8802A), my guess is that it is the Lumagen in the video chain either on its own or in combination with the HDMI cables which is causing the problem. The cables on their own are unlikely the problem as they are good quality high speed passive cables and are only 2m long and are also working fine direct from source to the 5000ES- so it is not the cable on its own. I am also assuming you have set the HDMI Signal Format in the Function Menu of the 5000ES to Enhanced Format.
StephenBishop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off