For all D-Box enthusiasts ! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 6521 Old 10-24-2007, 05:58 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I was wondering if the advent of Bluray profile 1.1 players will raise any compatability issues? I ask this because they will be able to mix audio in the player, just like HD DVD, right?

Thanks.

Mark
giomania is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 6521 Old 10-24-2007, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any possibility of HDMI sync and HD-dvd solved with an announcement at CES? Also- are you guys going to do that "ultimate theater" setup you did not last year, but the year before? The one with Krell and Runco? That rocked!!
iansilv is offline  
post #543 of 6521 Old 10-24-2007, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansilv View Post

Any possibility of HDMI sync and HD-dvd solved with an announcement at CES? Also- are you guys going to do that "ultimate theater" setup you did not last year, but the year before? The one with Krell and Runco? That rocked!!

No HD-DVD is not to be announced at CES...
and we are not doing a big theatre, Runco is not coming this year so we will have our Mobile and ... (not sure yet for the other stuff).
YannickG is offline  
post #544 of 6521 Old 10-24-2007, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

Sounds great Yannick,

One more: "We are Marshall" Blu Ray, can you check into this as well... I've been holding off watching this until it is coded and heard great things about that movie...

The invisible is on the list UPCOMING and We are Marshall will be on the list TO DO

FYI the TO DO list is when we have some down time (which is getting less often )
YannickG is offline  
post #545 of 6521 Old 10-24-2007, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I'll stick with a PS3 until they get the 2.0 profile players... I haven't seen any evidence that any of the new players are any better than the PS3, particularly with the PS3 upgrades... I would like a dedicated Blu Ray player at some point, sooner than later, but until they give me a good reason, why not just stick with the PS3?
Health Nut is offline  
post #546 of 6521 Old 10-26-2007, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guy's,

We have found a little HDMI splitter (3 hdmi connector and 1 opt. out) so you can experience HD sound with your D-BOX... I will have more details on Monday for those of you who wants to give it a shot.
YannickG is offline  
post #547 of 6521 Old 10-27-2007, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume this does not solve the hddvd problem because hddvd does nto have a set dd track you can sync to, correct?
iansilv is offline  
post #548 of 6521 Old 10-27-2007, 12:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had a bunch of people over tonight and re-watched Silver Surfer due to high demand... All were extremely impressed. In fact, they had so much fun, I listened to you guys and put in "Matrix Reloaded" Yes, that was very, very good!! Talk about an ideal movie for D-Box!

I wish we could get out an extra half-inch excursion... how about 2 inches (over the current 1.5)?

I can't wait until Lord of the Rings comes in Blu Ray... I just checked the DVD box: "New Line" So that is great! New Line = Blu Ray, so that will be awesome! If Lord of The Rings comes out in Blu Ray, that will be a big boost!
Health Nut is offline  
post #549 of 6521 Old 10-27-2007, 05:53 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannickG View Post

Guy's,

We have found a little HDMI splitter (3 hdmi connector and 1 opt. out) so you can experience HD sound with your D-BOX... I will have more details on Monday for those of you who wants to give it a shot.

Awesome...can't wait for the details.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #550 of 6521 Old 10-28-2007, 03:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Istanbul - Turkey
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannickG View Post

Guy's,

We have found a little HDMI splitter (3 hdmi connector and 1 opt. out) so you can experience HD sound with your D-BOX... I will have more details on Monday for those of you who wants to give it a shot.


I wonder how this will help with the HD sound.

Right now I can get lossless HD audio with HDMI to my newly upgraded Halcro AVP. Sound is terrific, but when I choose one of these HD tracks in the movies menu, the player sends out PCM signals only (both from HDMI and usual digital outputs) and with the PCM signals D-Box can't synch. So I have to use the lossy DD or DTS tracks.

I guess what we need is a PCM to Bitstream converter in the D-Box controller.
Murat is offline  
post #551 of 6521 Old 10-28-2007, 06:02 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murat View Post

I wonder how this will help with the HD sound.

Right now I can get lossless HD audio with HDMI to my newly upgraded Halcro AVP. Sound is terrific, but when I choose one of these HD tracks in the movies menu, the player sends out PCM signals only (both from HDMI and usual digital outputs) and with the PCM signals D-Box can't synch. So I have to use the lossy DD or DTS tracks.

I guess what we need is a PCM to Bitstream converter in the D-Box controller.

Perhaps this is related when I discovered the following about my Pioneer Bluray player in August:

Quote:


For anyone who is interested in listening to high-resolution soundtracks and synching the DD track with your D-Box simultaneously:

I pulled out the manual of my Pioneer Elite BDP-HD1 Bluray player to study how it handles audio tracks. There is a matrix in the manual that indicates the disc audio format (DD, DD+, DTS, etc.) and how those formats are sent out via the analog, digital, and HDMI outputs, respectively.

When the appropriate settings are enabled, this player will send out a DD True HD track as 5.1 PCM over the analog outputs and also as DD over the digital coax output.

In addition, it will will send out a DTS-HD track as 5.1 over the analog outputs and also as DTS over the digital coax output.

So, this theoretically should allow me to listen to high-resolution via analog and have the D-Box move via the digital coax. I have two Bluray movies that have a these high-resolution formats: Kingdom of Heaven has a DTS-HD track, and the Fifth Element (Remastered) has a DD True HD track.

The only problem is that PCM seems to be the most prevalent soundtrack on Bluray discs.

So maybe this splitter/converter that they found will "strip" the lossy core DTS 1.5 Mbps out of the lossless DTS-HD HRA or DTS-HD MA soundtrack? Of course, shouldn't most players do that? However, maybe all players don't send that core track out simultaneously via SPDIF?

For DD True HD tracks, I don't think it works the same as DTS-HD whereby the extension packets allow the core lossy track to be embedded in the signal. If it does not work the same way, then my Pioneer player is doing me a favor by sending out the companion DD track out via SPDIF.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #552 of 6521 Old 10-28-2007, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Istanbul - Turkey
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark

Before the upgrade I was running 5 cables from my Panny BR players analog outputs and I was able to get the HD audio. I was also running an optical cable from the panny to the D-Box and I was also getting the bitstream signal for D-Box. While this worked just fine I didn't like the processing done in the BR player. With these analog connections your AVP has no control over the sound and I just didn't like the sound very much when it's processed in the player.

I hope D-Box comes something that will make use of a lossless MPCM signal.
Murat is offline  
post #553 of 6521 Old 10-29-2007, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
rzell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the HDMI splitter, but it doesn't work well. You have to keep switching out cables for it to work. I shut the power off of one , but it still didn't work. So far, the best movie I have found is Spiderman 2 and I, Robot. Spiderman 2 is best in the fighting scene with Dr. Octopus on the train. I, Robot is best is during the car scene in the tunnel where the robots attack Will Smith's car. I just finished watching Spiderman 3, and I think this will be the best movie when the codes come out for it.
rzell is offline  
post #554 of 6521 Old 10-29-2007, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to be able to use uncompressed PCM and HD-DVD...

Personally, I wish all studios would just use DD TRUE HD (lossless)... Need to have HDMI inputs on the controller box I think, and an HDMI input on the D-Box controller
Health Nut is offline  
post #555 of 6521 Old 10-29-2007, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yannick- with the motion codes appearing on some bluray titles, does Dbox have an exclusivity agreement with Bluray for a while?
iansilv is offline  
post #556 of 6521 Old 10-30-2007, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
something is strange...
Health Nut is offline  
post #557 of 6521 Old 11-01-2007, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Come back on my previous post about having a solution for HD audio and Spdif capabilities. Well the reason it took me so long to post the result of the switch is that it's not 100% succesful. When we were able to make it work, it work, but a lot of different configuration were not successful. So with a PS3 and a Sony monitor it was working great, but when trying to view on a Samsung Monitor it wasn't. We tried different player and monitor combination without to much luck. It's only an Hdmi 1.2 switch so we will try again when we get the 1.3 in a few weeks... Sorry I really thought we would have a temporary solution.
YannickG is offline  
post #558 of 6521 Old 11-01-2007, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about blu ray exclusivity- is there an agreement?
iansilv is offline  
post #559 of 6521 Old 11-01-2007, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking part of the FOX deal might involve exclusivity?
Health Nut is offline  
post #560 of 6521 Old 11-01-2007, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Istanbul - Turkey
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yannick

Is it possible to convert the PCM signal to Bitstream with a simple outboard box before it enters D-Box? With something like that I think our HD audio problems will be solved.
Murat is offline  
post #561 of 6521 Old 11-02-2007, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

I was thinking part of the FOX deal might involve exclusivity?

No we don't have an exclusivity clause at this point, but we fully support the format.
YannickG is offline  
post #562 of 6521 Old 11-02-2007, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murat View Post

Yannick

Is it possible to convert the PCM signal to Bitstream with a simple outboard box before it enters D-Box? With something like that I think our HD audio problems will be solved.

Murat

If this was possible it would be so easy my friend Unfortunately not!
YannickG is offline  
post #563 of 6521 Old 11-02-2007, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok- well don't go exclusive! work on the hdmi port to sync with dolby true and dts master
iansilv is offline  
post #564 of 6521 Old 11-08-2007, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ETA on Transformers?
iansilv is offline  
post #565 of 6521 Old 11-08-2007, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ETA on Spiderman 3? There are so many Blu Ray movies coming out!!!
Health Nut is offline  
post #566 of 6521 Old 11-08-2007, 05:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansilv View Post

ETA on Transformers?

yes please!

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #567 of 6521 Old 11-09-2007, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino AUS View Post

yes please!


Early next week! I was waiting for a possible sprint for this week-end but there is just too much in this movie. Gotta tell you it's going to be a good one, along with Die Hard 4.0 in a few weeks and Spiderman... Those are really big ones.
YannickG is offline  
post #568 of 6521 Old 11-09-2007, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm tempted to hold off on Transformers until the HD-DVD issue gets solved, but at least the other two you mention are Blu Ray...
Health Nut is offline  
post #569 of 6521 Old 11-09-2007, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

I'm tempted to hold off on Transformers until the HD-DVD issue gets solved, but at least the other two you mention are Blu Ray...

Well if you want my advice you may want to watch it in DVD because the wait may be long...
YannickG is offline  
post #570 of 6521 Old 11-10-2007, 06:40 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I downloaded updates last night and encountered some errors. I tried again this morning, and didn't really experience the same thing, but the movies don't show up as new when I launch the PC3 controller software. Only the movies I downloaded some time in October are listed as new. However, the movies I downloaded today are in the movie index.

Is there anything to be concerned about?

Thanks for any input.

Mark
giomania is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off