For all D-Box enthusiasts ! - Page 220 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 55Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6571 of 6597 Old 09-15-2014, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Frank_VisionHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 9
New Controller Pre-Order Infos

Hi all,

We have the ''go'' from D-Box to take pre-orders on the new controller, starting today.

All units will be shipped on November 1st and upgraded to express shipping.

We are still awaiting all the specs for the new controller, but will inform you as soon as D-Box is ready to give them to us (in the coming days, they are still refining the device).

For the MSRP and or quotations on group buys, please contact us at :

info@visionhd.ca
or
frank@visionhd.ca

Feel free to contact us at any time if you are interested, it will be our pleasure to answer your questions.
No private messages please, e-mail only.

Thanks and have a good day! =)
Frank_VisionHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6572 of 6597 Old 09-16-2014, 03:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,683
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7channelfreak View Post
I saw the new controller today. It's not cloud based but they are working on one that will be. It's to create a lower cost of entry. All licenses will transfer if you buy the new controller. the license is with the end user. It will be controlled through apps for iPads and tablets. It's still windows driven (but hoping to change to Linux) and will likely have a retail around 2500. It has USB outs to the chairs that will require that adapter they have to the rg45 for the acm. But you can run one USB and then a hub to multiple chairs. I didn't think to ask on how much the adapter is. They were showing it works with appletv and said it will work with any audio source. I was told it averages around 6 seconds to sync. I honestly didn't understand the answer to extended versions of movies but said it recognizes them. I have a couple pictures on my phone. I'm not sure when I'll get time to post up.

On a separate not...not working on longer actuators for the home. Said the codes would all have to be redone to make that work. They are going to build a lower costing actuator eventually with less travel. Also trying to build one that's not so commercial for home to help lower the cost. It sounds like they want to get the cost of entry down.
Actuator prices were slashed from 10,000 to 6,000 on 3250i
the new controller list price is 3,500, I have two videos been edited on all the features, I have a lot of functional analysis covered therein.. stay tuned.
Cilent1 and thxman like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6573 of 6597 Old 09-17-2014, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
EDIT:

Captain America, The Winter Soldier MFX codes just hit. Thanks D-Box.
Frank_VisionHD likes this.

Last edited by thxman; 09-17-2014 at 02:31 PM.
thxman is offline  
post #6574 of 6597 Old 09-17-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Any news on a Sabotage fix?

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is offline  
post #6575 of 6597 Old 09-19-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by drvais View Post
Any news on a Sabotage fix?
I have been checking every day (via downloads) and will let you know if I see anything. I only have a RedBox version to test, it should work on either. (Well maybe)

Has anyone gotten Pompeii to work?
thxman is offline  
post #6576 of 6597 Old 09-20-2014, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by drvais View Post
Any news on a Sabotage fix?
I tried a Hasting's rental and it did NOT work last night.
7channelfreak is offline  
post #6577 of 6597 Old 09-20-2014, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,683
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 69
D-Box Next Generation Processor demystified "from the horses mouths"

YOU TUBE brought to you courtesy of d-box's most advanced system integrator with 10 years experience.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	New D-Box Processor Video by your buddy CINERAMAX.jpg
Views:	304
Size:	79.5 KB
ID:	271346  
Cilent1, thxman, Dirk44 and 1 others like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by CINERAMAX; 09-20-2014 at 11:42 AM.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6578 of 6597 Old 09-20-2014, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 56
7channelfreak is offline  
post #6579 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The way I see this, with no legacy connections to the source, you are trading off the speed and reliability of the current detection algorithm for being able to sync with sources besides Blu-ray/DVD. That's a tough sell for this existing user.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #6580 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Article on the new controller.

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...-will-move-you
thxman is offline  
post #6581 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxman View Post
You gotta be kidding me, that article says it can take an HDMI input. What's the truth?

And hopefully we get an answer soon to how long the existing infrastructure is going to be supported, I'm thinking I'll live without an upgrade until then because of the trade-offs.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #6582 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
The way I see this, with no legacy connections to the source, you are trading off the speed and reliability of the current detection algorithm for being able to sync with sources besides Blu-ray/DVD. That's a tough sell for this existing user.

I'm not following. How are we trading off speed and reliability?

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is offline  
post #6583 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by drvais View Post
I'm not following. How are we trading off speed and reliability?
From the reports here and in the Sound and Vision article, it takes from 4-6 seconds to get a sync. It may even happen after pausing the source. Its quicker than this with the current setup.

Another assumption is that the current system is very rock solid for not doing false positives or failing to find a match at all and it remains to be seen if these types of problems happen in the new setup. I'm not talking about problems with syncs that everybody has across the board, we know those happen but are usually corrected without too much fuss.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #6584 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
This is good conversation. I have had some move previews/trailers almost through me out of my seat (exaggerating of course) and that was with the current sync system. It seems hard to believe that we won't get some serious sync issues with the new controller. I think the lack of detail knowledge of how it is going to work is not helping.
thxman is offline  
post #6585 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
A random release of MFX codes today, Starship Troopers 3, Marauder codes hit. I have not seen this movie however, I unfortunately saw part 2 and therefore I am cautious of part 3. Has anyone seen this and know if it is worth checking out?


On a side note, I checked out an older title, Reign of Fire (2002), which had great MFX.
thxman is offline  
post #6586 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxman View Post
A random release of MFX codes today, Starship Troopers 3, Marauder codes hit.
There was a part 3????
Haha

I did see Zombieland is coming your way
7channelfreak is offline  
post #6587 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Yes, I thanked them on their FB page. LOL to your part 3 comment.

Last edited by thxman; 09-22-2014 at 03:49 PM.
thxman is offline  
post #6588 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 07:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxman View Post
A random release of MFX codes today, Starship Troopers 3, Marauder codes hit. I have not seen this movie however, I unfortunately saw part 2 and therefore I am cautious of part 3. Has anyone seen this and know if it is worth checking out?


On a side note, I checked out an older title, Reign of Fire (2002), which had great MFX.
Reign of Fire was the title given when I asked their most experienced programmer which film he would use as a "resume" of his work. He said that while the best film, he felt it was his best example of FX programming for a movie and it was the work he was the most proud of. It has been a while since I have seen it, but I remember being very impressed with the motion coding.
turls and thxman like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #6589 of 6597 Old 09-22-2014, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Poindexter View Post
Reign of Fire was the title given when I asked their most experienced programmer which film he would use as a "resume" of his work. He said that while the best film, he felt it was his best example of FX programming for a movie and it was the work he was the most proud of. It has been a while since I have seen it, but I remember being very impressed with the motion coding.
Thank you for sharing this. Good to know.
thxman is offline  
post #6590 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
Frank_VisionHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 9
In case there was some more unanswered questions about the HEMC connectivity, I got this straight from D-BOX today :

Network connectivity

·The Home Entertainment Motion Controller can be connected to the network via Ethernet cable from the LAN port on the HEMC to the router. In this case, the connection is self-discovery and both the HEMC and the tablet on which the UI (the user application) is installed will "interact" automatically (tablet as to be on the same network... of course).

·The HEMC can also be connected via WiFi network. In this case, when the HEMC will be powered with not Ethernet cable detected, the HEMC will act as a "hotspot". This will allow the UI on the tablet to be directly connected to the HEMC. That way, the user will be able to enter in the HEMC the WiFi router information. Then, the HEMC will be connected directly to the router via WiFi.

·If the "home" network required fixed IP address it will be a different story. The user will need to connect a monitor, keyboard and mouse directly into the HEMC. Then, it will be necessary to configure the network via Windows.



Audio connection


·The HEMC required a "down-mix Stereo" sound via a simple audio jack 3.5mm.

·D-BOX will provide a list of suggested external "converter" to facilitate the "audio connection". We will recommend 2 types of converter: one with Coaxial Audio cable or Toslink cable (fiber) and one with HDMI cable. In both cases, the converted sound will travel via a simple RCA left – right to audio jack 3.5mm.

·For now, only one HEMC can be configured and controlled per Network
turls and CINERAMAX like this.
Frank_VisionHD is offline  
post #6591 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,683
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Integrating The Kai and the HEMC

Conundrum Solved......

You are Welcomed in Advance folks!!!
turls likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6592 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Wait, we can use this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16842101383

instead of the KAI?

If that is the case, it should work for games too, right?

I think I have some of these, going to test tonight.

Last edited by thxman; 09-25-2014 at 01:58 PM.
thxman is offline  
post #6593 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
OK, these cables don't work, they are RJ50 (10 pins) not RJ45 (8 pins). I think Newegg lists them like this because most folks don't notice when they go to order them.

Looking at this further, it looks like the voltage would not have matched either. I did find some converter boxes but I won't be testing, as I don't want to damage my ACMs.

Last edited by thxman; 09-25-2014 at 03:22 PM.
thxman is offline  
post #6594 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,683
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxman View Post
OK, these cables don't work, they are RJ50 (10 pins) not RJ45 (8 pins). I think Newegg lists them like this because most folks don't notice when they go to order them.

Looking at this further, it looks like the voltage would not have matched either. I did find some converter boxes but I won't be testing, as I don't want to damage my ACMs.
Thanks for testing THX!

I was not trying to avoid the kai controller, but simplifying the KAI/HEMC integration via Ipad.

Here is a tank like rs-232 usb switch. I wonder if it is matrix-able?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ipad control usb switch.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	593.5 KB
ID:	279457  


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6595 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
• The four outputs act as a USB hub. Inputs cannot be routed to specific
USB output connectors. All outputs are simultaneously connected to the
selected input
http://media.extron.com/download/fil..._SW_USB_UG.pdf
thxman is offline  
post #6596 of 6597 Old 09-25-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,683
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by thxman View Post
Yeah I sorta figured, for the big boys a digimedia will matrix usb.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6597 of 6597 Old 09-28-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
They slipped Machete Kills in, and it will be dropping on Wednesday

unOFFICIAL D-Box FAQ
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Hail to the King, baby!
drvais is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off