For all D-Box enthusiasts ! - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 59Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 09:44 AM
Member
 
mv038856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

I use the Record Output on my Lexicon MC-12b to route the SPDIF signals to my controller. I wonder if that mitigates any delay I might experience? Maybe the Onkyo has that capability as well?

The Lexicon has no video processing capabilities, but I have a dedicated Lumagen video processor which processes the video.

Mark

Mark,

I was thinking of using the digital recording output as well, but I wasn't able to get a signal out there when playing a DVD or Blu-Ray. The manual says, the output isn't working on copy protected material...

However, I will investigate further.

Thanks!

Markus
mv038856 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 09:47 AM
Member
 
mv038856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

This company makes a a very nice little delay. I have used these and they work great. Multiple inputs and it cross converts. Priced right as well.
http://www.felston.com/

Alain,

thanks for the info!

I was aware of Felston too, but they didn't offer a unit that has a RS-232 port to be controlled through my Crestron processor - or am I being wrong here? Do they in fact offer a unit with RS-232?

Cheers!


Markus
mv038856 is offline  
post #1083 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 10:04 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mv038856 View Post

Mark,

I was thinking of using the digital recording output as well, but I wasn't able to get a signal out there when playing a DVD or Blu-Ray. The manual says, the output isn't working on copy protected material...

However, I will investigate further.

Thanks!

Markus

Do you have the SPDIF (Coax or Optical) connected from the Blu-ray / DVD Player? I don't think any processor will take a bitstream signal sent via HDMI and transcode it to SPDIF, but I could be wrong.

Just want to make sure the basics are covered.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #1084 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Markus

No RS232 You would have to complicate things
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #1085 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 10:57 AM
Member
 
mv038856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

Do you have the SPDIF (Coax or Optical) connected from the Blu-ray / DVD Player? I don't think any processor will take a bitstream signal sent via HDMI and transcode it to SPDIF, but I could be wrong.

Just want to make sure the basics are covered.

Mark

Hi Mark,

to be honest, I am not sure whether it was HDMI or S/PDIF when I checked the digital out. The signal sent from the DVD/PS3 definitely was Dolby Digital or DTS (i.e. no PCM HighRes or TrueHD, DTS MA or the like). I am on a business trip this week, so I can't re-test it until I am back this Friday.

This Saturday, I will attend the HighEnd trade fair in Munich. Maybe I can have a look at some digital audio delays there... ;-)

Cheers!

Markus
mv038856 is offline  
post #1086 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 11:01 AM
Member
 
mv038856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Markus

No RS232 You would have to complicate things

Alan,

I get the first message, so here is nor RS-232 on the Felton devices, just as I expected it to be.

What is the second phrase supposed to mean... that I make things too complicated asking for RS232???
Sorry, maybe my English isn't good enough here to read between the lines.

Cheers!

Markus
mv038856 is offline  
post #1087 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Orphanage came in today!

Also got in two other Blu Rays:

One missed Call

SUBLIME

Please submit these as well, although the Orphanage seems to be the highest rated by far....
Health Nut is offline  
post #1088 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Health,

The 3 movies are done, we had a little problem with Beowolf (some new stuff) but we got it sorted out! Funny thing is that NEXT has a Dolby 2.0 HD hehehe that got some good laugh at the office. We haven't done this one track, but the other ones are done. I will have those sent back to you tomorrow.

Thanks again,

I will also submit your request -one missed call- is on the list already...
YannickG is offline  
post #1089 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NEXT? 2.0 DD? What did it have PCM as the main track?? Did it have a 5.1 track??

Thanks as well.

Apparently the U.S./Canada version of Starship troopers is coming out:

Quote:


First up, Sony has confirmed to Home Media (see this link to next week's digital issue) that both Starship Troopers and the new direct-to-video sequel, Starship Troopers: Marauder will arrive on Blu-ray Disc on 7/29.

So the Blu ray Beowulf version had some extra footage? Well, just think, wjen Paramount releases it, it will be the same, so you'll have it down already. I'm sure the U.S./Canada version wil be out by the end of the year. Nice to watch it sooner than later though an the UK versions are essentially identical to the ones coming out in our region.

How does the controller sort out subtle differences between regions? You have customers in other regions, so do you have to get all of the various regions of movies? How does the controller recognize what track/movie it is receiving?
Health Nut is offline  
post #1090 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, do you think that the Beowulf codes will work with the HD PPV version that I recorded from D*??

Phil
Free is offline  
post #1091 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's a good thought Phil, you'd think at worst case all you would have to do is manually select Beowulf. What is the typical difference between DVD, PPV HD, and Blu Ray DD tracks as far as recongition goes, other than perhaps bitrate 448K vs 640K? etc...
Health Nut is offline  
post #1092 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

NEXT? 2.0 DD? What did it have PCM as the main track?? Did it have a 5.1 track??

Thanks as well.

Apparently the U.S./Canada version of Starship troopers is coming out:



So the Blu ray Beowulf version had some extra footage? Well, just think, wjen Paramount releases it, it will be the same, so you'll have it down already. I'm sure the U.S./Canada version wil be out by the end of the year. Nice to watch it sooner than later though an the UK versions are essentially identical to the ones coming out in our region.

How does the controller sort out subtle differences between regions? You have customers in other regions, so do you have to get all of the various regions of movies? How does the controller recognize what track/movie it is receiving?


Yes the Next movie has a Dolby 5.1 as well

Every movies from other region are basically seen as a different movie by the controller. Even if it's only a single frame difference, we create a new track.
YannickG is offline  
post #1093 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

So, do you think that the Beowulf codes will work with the HD PPV version that I recorded from D*??

I would doubt it. Chances are really slim, but you never know.
YannickG is offline  
post #1094 of 6620 Old 04-22-2008, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was planning on watching it tomorrow night, so if you get it on the server, it would be an interesting experiment.

Phil
Free is offline  
post #1095 of 6620 Old 04-23-2008, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok well in this case, anyone wanting to view these movies will have to PM me there controller's serial number. I will then have to add the UK in the preferences so you can download those motion code. By doing so I will enable a bunch of other movies in DVD and BLURAY that we have coded for that region so if some of you are not watching DVD's, let me know I will disable them.

thanks,
YannickG is offline  
post #1096 of 6620 Old 04-23-2008, 06:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yannick, can you please PM the address I need to send my BD copy of The Island to you? I requested it earlier but you may have missed my message.

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1097 of 6620 Old 04-23-2008, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Watched Beowulf PPV HD, but wouldn't synch. Oh well. was worth a try. I may order this movie, it was pretty good.

Phil
Free is offline  
post #1098 of 6620 Old 04-24-2008, 06:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubted it would sync unless they actually broadcast an identical track with identical signature. If you are handy with a PC, you can actually record these broadcasts and mux in a ripped digital track from a dvd, the D-box would then sync with this track thinking it was the dvd.

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1099 of 6620 Old 04-24-2008, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino AUS View Post

I doubted it would sync unless they actually broadcast an identical track with identical signature. If you are handy with a PC, you can actually record these broadcasts and mux in a ripped digital track from a dvd, the D-box would then sync with this track thinking it was the dvd.

hehehe Gino have you done this?
YannickG is offline  
post #1100 of 6620 Old 04-24-2008, 10:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by YannickG View Post

hehehe Gino have you done this?

of course! easy way to enjoy your dvd motion codes for movies that have been broadcast in "HD" but not yet available on blu-ray... eg. Starwars series and LOTR trilogy

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1101 of 6620 Old 04-26-2008, 05:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,726
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Master and Commader just shipped from the UK.
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1102 of 6620 Old 04-27-2008, 03:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CINERAMAX View Post

Master and Commader just shipped from the UK.

Where did you order that from? I didn't know that was already released region A/free

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1103 of 6620 Old 04-27-2008, 04:09 AM
Member
 
mv038856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

Do you have the SPDIF (Coax or Optical) connected from the Blu-ray / DVD Player? I don't think any processor will take a bitstream signal sent via HDMI and transcode it to SPDIF, but I could be wrong.

Just want to make sure the basics are covered.

Mark

Hi Mark,

Yesterday evening I connected the digital audio signal through Toslink S/PDIF and the digital out of the Onkyo PR-SC885 carried the DD5.1 or DTS5.1 signal. Connecting this to the D-Box controller, the controller was able to recognize the movie played.

Still, the motion wasn't 100% in sync with the audio/video. Watching the Sixth Sense on DVD the motion came about 1 second before the audio/video. Switching languages to French and back to English improved the sync a lot, i.e. the shot could be felt almost at the same time you saw/heard it, but it still wasn't perfect. Pausing or skipping back didn't help either.

Any of you experienced something similar?

Thanks!

Markus
mv038856 is offline  
post #1104 of 6620 Old 04-27-2008, 05:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: From Coconut Grove FL to the rest of the globe with TLC.
Posts: 12,726
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino AUS View Post

Where did you order that from? I didn't know that was already released region A/free

amazon.co.uk I am not sure what region it is .it could turn out to be like Ronin...
CINERAMAX is online now  
post #1105 of 6620 Old 04-27-2008, 05:33 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mv038856 View Post

Hi Mark,

Yesterday evening I connected the digital audio signal through Toslink S/PDIF and the digital out of the Onkyo PR-SC885 carried the DD5.1 or DTS5.1 signal. Connecting this to the D-Box controller, the controller was able to recognize the movie played.

Still, the motion wasn't 100% in sync with the audio/video. Watching the Sixth Sense on DVD the motion came about 1 second before the audio/video. Switching languages to French and back to English improved the sync a lot, i.e. the shot could be felt almost at the same time you saw/heard it, but it still wasn't perfect. Pausing or skipping back didn't help either.

Any of you experienced something similar?

Thanks!

Markus

I have not. Then again, I am not using HDMI to send audio. I am getting the new Denon AVP (hopefully mid-May), so we will see if I have the same issue. I hope not, because that sucks.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #1106 of 6620 Old 04-27-2008, 04:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

I have not. Then again, I am not using HDMI to send audio. I am getting the new Denon AVP (hopefully mid-May), so we will see if I have the same issue. I hope not, because that sucks.

Mark

Hi Mark, I'm using the Denon AVP-A1HD, and have had no such issue.

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1107 of 6620 Old 04-28-2008, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Health Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 5,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yannick,

Got the movies back today. Just popped Beowulf in without turning the projector on, and it synced up just fine. Thank-you very much. Just saw that NEXT is also downloaded. Starship troopers is probably also there as well.

Thank-you! I highly recommend that people just buy these Blu Rays from Amazon.UK, it could not have been any easier. Plan on watching Beowulf with a date tomorrow Thanks!

(P.S. when you do come out with an updated controller, they have to get it so the response time is normal. There is *way* too much *lag* and 'caching' of the remote clicks. I'll be scrolling and the controller is way behind and you end up overshooting the menu choice every-time.)
Health Nut is offline  
post #1108 of 6620 Old 04-28-2008, 05:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

(P.S. when you do come out with an updated controller, they have to get it so the response time is normal. There is *way* too much *lag* and 'caching' of the remote clicks. I'll be scrolling and the controller is way behind and you end up overshooting the menu choice every-time.)

I certainly agree here!

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #1109 of 6620 Old 04-28-2008, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
YannickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know, we are coming out soon with a new controller with Bluray capabilities which should be able to reduce the "lag" in the menus... Will keep you posted on this.
YannickG is offline  
post #1110 of 6620 Old 04-28-2008, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will it take an hdmi input?
iansilv is offline  
Reply Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off