Long SPDIF cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2007, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shaun5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm moving my source equipment to a central equipment closet for the whole house. For my main room, the video processor in the closet will take care of switching audio and video. I'll need to run a 75 foot HDMI cable (video only) and 100 foot SPDIF cable to the processor. What should I consider? Since everything is currently in the same room, now is the time for me to evaluate the long runs...
shaun5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2007, 02:35 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Not sure why this is in this forum, that's a long HDMI run you may need to look into extenders for that, or a really good hdmi cable. For SPDIF at that distance, just a really good shielded 75ohm cable should be fine. Try the usualy suspects, bluejeans etc for pro-grade Canare/Belden stuff.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun5 View Post

I'm moving my source equipment to a central equipment closet for the whole house. For my main room, the video processor in the closet will take care of switching audio and video. I'll need to run a 75 foot HDMI cable (video only) and 100 foot SPDIF cable to the processor. What should I consider? ..

shaun5,

A run of 75 ft of HDMI is beyond the specs for HDMI.

You need an extender that converts HDMi-->Cat5-->HDMI.

http://www.projectorreviews.com/gefe...nder/index.php

which is one of many - just "Google" - "HDMI Extender"

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shaun5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Chris, I posted this here because I need cables to connect my Hi-End HT Gear.

I am very concerned about jitter and/or signal degredation over this length of SPDIF cable. What is the longest SPDIF connection someone has actually tried?

HDMI is a only a secondary concern because: 1)There are several cable manufacturers that claim their cable will work and 2)I know that an HDMI extender will work, if a cable doesn't.
shaun5 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dizzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
a coax SPDIF i have used over 100 feet. i know of people who have done 100 metres.

Proud Daddy to Anastasia and Christopher.
Born October 26 2005.

Ob was the delivery doc.

Since i cannot rant on a soapbox in the town square...
http://commonsensehasdied.blogspot.com/
Dizzman is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Andy Lammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can always use a cheap Monarchy DIP 24/94 to boost the signal and do jitter reduction.
The DIP 24/96 will pass SPDIF.

- Andy
Andy Lammer is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
SPDIF is a 75ohm source terminated generator so use RG59 or RG6. CATV cable with F to RCA adaptors is fine for 100 feet. Copper coated steel is also fine too as there's no DC power being transported and the frequency bandpass is in the video frequency range.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Michael Grant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
On the HDMI side, a CAT5-based extender isn't your only option; you can also go with an optical extender.

Michael
Michael Grant is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Grant View Post

On the HDMI side, a CAT5-based extender isn't your only option; you can also go with an optical extender.

Michael,

Yes - the optical extenders are more expensive though.

The Gefen HDMI-1000 HD is an optical extender that requires 1 run of optical and 1 run of
Cat5. and extends to 100 meters or 330 ft:

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=2484

The Gefen HDMI Cat 5 MS requires 2 runs of Cat 5 and goes to >300 ft:

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4504

There's also the HDMI Cat 5 which requires 2 runs of Cat 5 and goes to 200 ft:

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=3872

Do you think the optical connection is worth the extra expense?

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
shaun5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just noticed Gefen has a digital audio extender, so that would work (if needed) until I change to AES/EBU format.

I'm tempted to try a 75 foot bluejean HDMI cable and a 100 foot Apogee Wyde SPDIF cable, but holding off in hope of hearing how others are making the connection....
shaun5 is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Michael Grant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ah, OK, I see. The Gefen optical solutions are more expensive than the all-in-one optical HDMI cables, but the Cat-5 solutions come in cheaper still. DigitalConnection sells a 25-meter fiber optic HDMI cable for $579.

Michael
Michael Grant is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Grant View Post

Ah, OK, I see. The Gefen optical solutions are more expensive than the all-in-one optical HDMI cables, but the Cat-5 solutions come in cheaper still. DigitalConnection sells a 25-meter fiber optic HDMI cable for $579.

Michael,

So what would you do for a 15 meter run? I'll be upgrading to HDMI; but my current
VGA runs are about 15 meters [ 50 ft ] long. Should I go for the 200 ft Cat 5 ?

Or is there really an advantage of going optical for another $100 or so?

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun5 View Post

I just noticed Gefen has a digital audio extender, so that would work (if needed) until I change to AES/EBU format.

I'm tempted to try a 75 foot bluejean HDMI cable and a 100 foot Apogee Wyde SPDIF cable, but holding off in hope of hearing how others are making the connection....

Again any 75ohm cable be it RG59, RG6, or RG11 (overkill) will work fine for SPDIF at 100 feet. You can buy ready made CATV cable assemblies and use F to RCA adaptors. Or you can buy a 100 foot RG59 video cable with RCA's on each end. No need for esoteric brands here.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 04:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Andy Lammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI:
The Monarchy DIP as Toslink & Coax cable inputs, and will output via Coax or AES/EBU.
So it can do format conversion.

I have also had no problem with cheap dollar-store 50' Cable-TV cable, and using F-RCA connectors at each end.

- Andy
Andy Lammer is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Michael Grant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Morbius, I honestly think you should go with the cheapest solution that works. If that's Gefen's CAT5, go for it!

Michael
Michael Grant is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 05:08 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun5 View Post

I am very concerned about jitter and/or signal degredation over this length of SPDIF cable. What is the longest SPDIF connection someone has actually tried?

Professionals regularly use cable lengths at least this long. Just use a good cable (belden etc as mentioned) and you should be just fine. It's a digital signal, so it either works or it doesn't. I have no comment as to jitter concerns.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Manic1!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The HT guys tested a 100 foot HDMI cable and I dont think they had any problem with it.
Manic1! is online now  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jjwinterberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca.
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morbius View Post

Michael,

So what would you do for a 15 meter run? I'll be upgrading to HDMI; but my current
VGA runs are about 15 meters [ 50 ft ] long. Should I go for the 200 ft Cat 5 ?

Or is there really an advantage of going optical for another $100 or so?

I used the Gefen HDMI CAT-5 Extreme for my 15m. run but that was just because it was easier to run CAT-5 then a good HDMI.

You might want to check out the Az Cable Co. for excellent HDMI cables at a good price:
http://www.azhifi.org/pictures/AZCablesInfo.pdf or
http://www.arizonacables.com/ John
jjwinterberg is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a 50M run using Baluhns and Cat5E and it works fine. Do you have an option to use XLR digital out, I imagine this would be more stable.
Krobar is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off