Calling All.... Scandyna Owners! + MICRO-POD 5.1 REVIEW - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 1 Old 09-19-2008, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone! I am calling all of you Scandyna owners!
I had looked and looked for reviews regarding the 5.1micro-pod system being distributed through home theater direct http://www.htd.com/clearance/Pod-Spe...FQpatAodHHAuXg

But found hardly any information....so I figured an $800 complete surround set for the bed room running for less than $300 after shipping coming from a reputable group out of Denmark where key designers were once part of B&W it would be worth the risk...

I have worked at best buy home theater and magnolia, I have built satellites and subs, and have a decent ear in home theater audio for it is my hobby; more so than video...I am no pro, but an average enthusiast that enjoys a good sound

The micro-pod set 87db(90Hz-25Khz) from my understanding is the close out model that is being replaced with their new line Micro Pod SE 86 db(65Hz-25kHz)http://www.podspeakers.com/Products/Micropod_SE.aspx

So with that said I did not know what to expect...

Well this is what came out of the box

( I am on a 56k connection and will upload speakers pictures tomorrow)

So powering it all is my yamaha RXV661 being ran through a PS3 with hdmi and directv HDVR22 via hdmi as well.

The music tested was through "pure" mode and 7ch stereo via xm radio
I will say that I had to turn the receiver to -1 to get the right amount of loudness, but then again this is in a decent sized din where we have a 61" LED sammy two JBL E100s, 3 JBL E50s, and a JBL EC35 coupled with a Klipsch 15"sub and AV123 xsub.....