Speaker Cable for Bose? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PLUCKYHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know don't shoot me for having bose but wife loves it and won't let me swap it out.

My question is where do I get RCA speaker cable with RCA on one end and open wires on the other to replace the factory Bose speaker cables with some good 14gauge?

I know they sell the adapter but that is for inwall installations which i don't have for the fronts.
PLUCKYHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 413
How long a speaker run are you talking about? 18ga is good for up to 32 ft with 8ohm speakers. I'm guessing since you're talking about front speakers you don't need a length any more than that.

24ft of 18 gauge wire from Radio Shack may do the trick
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102959

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PLUCKYHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got over 50' to my rears and suggestions there?

18ga seems small but i am not going to act like I know.
PLUCKYHD is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CADOBHuK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable upgrades are pretty worthless in most cases, even with good speakers imho. When its bose it's kind of an amusing thing to do isn't it?
CADOBHuK is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PLUCKYHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my problem is my wires aren't good and got cut in the attic by mistake and new ones with the stupid rca plug bose puts on there are not easy to find. I will get the ones from ready shack I am sure they will work okay
PLUCKYHD is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
cybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not just splice [better] wire in to replace the wires that've been cut?
cybe is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 02:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Yes, run the 50ft of 14ga wire from your rear speakers all the way to the sub and then splice with the old wire about a 6" - 12" from the RCA jack. that way only a foot or less will be using the old wire.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Jacobisthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post

I got over 50' to my rears and suggestions there?

18ga seems small but i am not going to act like I know.

Well I have heard that for that run 14awg would work well, but if you are getting new wire, might as well get 12awg (don't see any reason that 14awg is better). Monoprice has great prices.
Jacobisthe is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 05:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Will 12ga wire actually fit into the Bose spring clips on the cube speaker?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-03-2008, 05:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

Will 12ga wire actually fit into the Bose spring clips on the cube speaker?

Forgive me but, imho, using these heavier cables is kinda pointless. If you don't like the ones you have, simply put an RCA plug on the end of some decent twinlead from Home Depot. Or see what they have at RadioShack like this http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102959

Kal

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off