Problems With Bose 901 Setup - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2008, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marksmithy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a feeling that I am out of luck, but I thought I would go ahead and ask anyway. I have a pair of Bose 901's, which up until today were working fine. The reason being is that I just replaced my dinosaur of a receiver with a Yamaha HTR-6060. This receiver does not have a Tape input. Is there any way I can hook the Bose active equalizer up to my new receiver? Thanks in advance.
marksmithy69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2008, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Don't really know that model Yamaha, but does it have preamp out jacks? If so, you could feed the Front channels to the equalizer, then to an external amp (though, of course that would incur additional expense for an amp).
petergaryr is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Denophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i may have the solution--my dad has 901's and is running via a denon 3805 receiver.

if your yamaha is similar what you can do is find out how to reassign the zone 2 or 3 amp (normally used for the back 2 channels) and use the input designated or assignable to it (see manual). use the front ch outs and rca them to the in of the eq, send the out cables of the eq to the assigned input. wire the 901s to the back surr amp outs. bingo, 5.1 surround.
Denophile is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
^ That would be a great idea if the Yamaha had assignable amps. I checked their site for the specs on that model and got this.

Doesn't look like it has that capability.
petergaryr is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marksmithy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone for the input. I will look further in the morning. Here is a detailed picture of the back of the Yamaha receiver...

http://www.yamaha.ca/av/Images/recei...s/HTR6060r.jpg
marksmithy69 is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Your cd-r function on the left in audio has in and out same as tape loop.
oztech is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
marksmithy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

Your cd-r function on the left in audio has in and out same as tape loop.

I tried connecting the equalizer to the cd-r function as you suggested, but it didn't seem to do anything. The sound is still pretty bad. Thanks.
marksmithy69 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Denophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
if you dont have assignable amps you need an external amp. the HK 3490 is a great stereo receiver with fantastic amps that can be used for this purpose--very inexpensive at jr.com. i suppose you could also resort to an emotiva.
Denophile is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:11 PM
Member
 
jgsabato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless new 901's are a lot more efficient than the originals, I wouldn't want to try to run them with a receiver. I was using a 350W/ch separate amp back then and it would clip because of all the equalization it took for the speakers.

Even assuming they are more efficient, I would by a separate amp and use the receiver as a preamp with the EQ in between
jgsabato is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Just my opinion but I'd look at the resale value on those 901's and see what I could get for them, and find something with better efficiency ratings. They require gobs of power to drive. Depending on the version you have, they go for $200 and up with the EQ unit topping out around $800 for the lV. Just a thought.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
journalista271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a pair of Bose 901 Series III speakers. Had them forever. Just bought a Pioneer VXS-1080AH-K receiver, hooking into a Bell HD sat receiver and PS3 (for Blu-ray, CD) and Panny plasma.

Trying to figure out how to use the Bose as front speakers, and previous posts lost me. But I don't think using the DVR 2 for Bose equalizer works for all inputs.

So trying to see if I can use the Pioneer Pre-out for Front speakers, using my old NAD receiver to hook up the equalizer. But not sure how to do this, or if it will work.

Here's pic of Pioneer back:
Please -- any step-by-step suggestions? I'm a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff. Thanks.
LL
journalista271 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by journalista271 View Post

I've got a pair of Bose 901 Series III speakers. Had them forever. Just bought a Pioneer VXS-1080AH-K receiver, hooking into a Bell HD sat receiver and PS3 (for Blu-ray, CD) and Panny plasma.

Trying to figure out how to use the Bose as front speakers, and previous posts lost me. But I don't think using the DVR 2 for Bose equalizer works for all inputs.

So trying to see if I can use the Pioneer Pre-out for Front speakers, using my old NAD receiver to hook up the equalizer. But not sure how to do this, or if it will work.

Here's pic of Pioneer back:
Please -- any step-by-step suggestions? I'm a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff. Thanks.

*
Here is the link to the Bose 901 with EQ.

www.bose.com/pdf/customer_service/owners/og_901.pdf

Basically you need a receiver with preamp output. Route them to the input side of the EQ, and the output from the EQ going into the amplifier input jacks on the receiver. Same directions for an integrated amp. See page 10 of the manual. Many receivers have preamp output and don't use the jumpers shown on that page. My HK AVR247 is one of them, it doesn't have direct amplifier input.

Basically the Bose EQ is placed between the preamp section and the amplifier section to massage the signal before amplification. If you don't use it, they will sound like crap.

My old HK AVR520 has the jumpers between the preamp and amp section, which would allow direct input from the Bose EQ. You will need to find a receiver or integrated amp that has direct jack inputs to the amplifier section.

Of course, having an amplifier would simplify all of this. No hunting for something compatible.

I'm selling the 520. It works perfect and looks almost new. Not bad for a unit nearly 8 years old. I'm a non-smoker so it won't stink. It is rated at 85wpc in 2 channel and 75wpc x5 channnels. The 901s need more power though, 200 watts would be much better.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
journalista271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe too much eggnog.

Pioneer 1018 has left and right preout for front speakers. My old NAD 7130 receiver, that I would use as an external amp, has left and right Preout and Main In jacks.

So do the 1018 Front Speaker preouts connect to the Bose EQ 's 'Amplifier Connections' Input (To Amp) jacks or its Output (From Amp) jacks? Then connect what on the EQ to what on the NAD --Preout or Main In ?

The other thing is that the NAD is only rated for 30 watts per channel. I used this with the Bose for many years and loved it, but is this really enough power for this application? The new Pioneer is rated at 110W per channel on fronts.

Thanks for your help. Really appreciate it.

js
journalista271 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I would guess there were times when the NAD may have gotten a bit hot. The 901 s are notorious for being power hogs.

I downloaded the 1018 manual and think I've figured it out.

Run the preamp outputs from your 1018s front left and right to the inputs of the EQ, then from the EQ outputs into your direct input jacks for the front 2 channels.

It works on either of my HK AVRs and should work the same for your Pioneer. Direct inputs go straight to the amp section, there is no preamp processing done past these jacks other than amplification.

That should do it.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
journalista271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, thanks very much.

When you say "direct input jacks for the front 2 channels", do you mean the Main IN jacks on my NAD? Because I don't see this on the 1018 -- just front speaker L-R connections and the front preouts.

J.S.
journalista271 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by journalista271 View Post

Hi, thanks very much.

When you say "direct input jacks for the front 2 channels", do you mean the Main IN jacks on my NAD? Because I don't see this on the 1018 -- just front speaker L-R connections and the front preouts.

J.S.

Lets leave the NAD out of this so you can get the 1018 hooked up properly, OK?
By now you should have the preamp outputs (L/R front) connected to the input jacks on your EQ.

The Denon has a jack section in the back labeled 'multi ch in', another term for direct amplifier inputs, there are 8 different jacks. You want to connect the output from your Bose EQ to the left and right channels of the multi channel inputs. This is an input directly to the amplifier section of the Denon, bypassing any processor modifications to the signal. Your preamp(in the Denon) and EQ have already done that.

I hope this is clear now. Let me know.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
^ I'm wondering how that would work. I have a Denon 2808CI and when selecting the external input, it is expecting some source such as a DVD, SACD or BD player.

When he selects anything connected to the receiver as a source, nothing would go to the front channels.
petergaryr is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by petergaryr View Post

^ I'm wondering how that would work. I have a Denon 2808CI and when selecting the external input, it is expecting some source such as a DVD, SACD or BD player.

When he selects anything connected to the receiver as a source, nothing would go to the front channels.

*
You are right. On my HK 247 if I want to inject inputs to the direct input jacks the receiver is in direct input mode and that is the input selected.

I think a receiver with preamp outs and direct input to the amp section will be the only solution to this one.

I've still got an HK AVR 520 available.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
lightguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Interesting reading.
I'm going to pull my 901's from out of storage and use a HK AVR 25 to power them as front speakers. We'll see.....
lightguy is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
barryecohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: GSP Exit 165, NJ
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I see that some solutions have already been presented, but I wanted to let you know that the MD/CD-R In/Out jacks, are the same as your good ol' Tape In/Out jacks

So much media, so little time...

 

barryecohen is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
capn_andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In general, don't you also have to straight jumper any other channels (non 901 based) from pre-amp out to multi-channel in so they work, but aren't active EQ'd?
capn_andy is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off