Polk Audio Vs Sony - Floor standings and Center Channel - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 05-03-2009, 04:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For last 3 yrs I have been using Logitech Z-5500. I just bought Onkyo -TX-SR606. I am considering upgrading my front 3 and using 2 of my Z-5500 set as rears. I already bought a Sub. I am on a budget (< 500 preferably) and room is a an average living room of a 1 bedroom apartment. Use is 80% Movie/TV and 20 % Music

I am divided between these 3 options. Any suggestions?

2x Polk Audio Monitor 50 + Polk Audio CS2/CS1

OR

2 x Sony SSF-5000 + Sony SS-CN5000

OR

2 x Polk Audio TSi300 + Polk CS10

From specs Monitor 50 and TSi300 look similar. Are they really worth extra 60$. Also, I couldn't find reviews of Sony speakers except on amazon. I am a newbie to HT stuff and any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-03-2009, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I was actually demoing the Polk's and Sony's at Best Buy today and the Polk's were so much better. No contest, Polk. No Sony. I don't know what happened to them. They used to make pretty good audio equipment. Actually, I'm being too hard. If you didn't compare the two and just listened to the Sony's, you'd think they sounded fine, but once you do an A-B comparison, it's night and day.

No matter what, don't get the Sony SS-CN5000. The frequency range is all wrong for a center channel. The SSF-5000 is a pretty good deal for floorstanding speakers though, even if the Polk's do blow them out of the water.
post #3 of 14 Old 05-03-2009, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I would have a really hard time recommending Sony speakers vs Polk. They (Sony) are not horrible, but they just are not very good either. At least that has been my experience.
post #4 of 14 Old 05-03-2009, 06:58 PM

<<>>>