Official JTR speaker thread - Page 1150 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8693Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34471 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeaNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chadds Ford, PA
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Another random update from playing around with my system. First, with the "yes" to subs and LFE on (or is it LFE+mains?) the bass is very impressive. Pretty much what I was looking for without subs. Ran Audyssey 3 different positions and noticed a few things. It sounds absolutely incredible, very detailed, and overall much better than no EQ, but....you guessed it...no bass at all. So I guess this is where switching out to the iNuke with DSP will allow me to keep the Audyssey settings but EQ certain areas such as boosting the bass?

For now, I'll suffer slightly less SQ for having the bass from the 215RT's. It definitely does not sound bad at all, but not as good as with Audyssey engaged. I'll keep the manual settings for now, save up a few $$$ and hire someone to come out and put the finishing touches on everything. Can't do it now because I'm still adding furniture and finishing a few other small projects in the HT area.

Can't say I'm ruling out adding subs. Never say never! But that is over my head for sure.
SeaNile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34472 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 223 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1335 Post(s)
Liked: 1525
nebrunner lives a few miles from me and has had a DTS-10 and a Growler for 4 years. The DTS-10 he bought from Ricci and is the actual model tested on data-bass. I told him to buy the Growler that was tested on data-bass, too, but he never did.

High Impact AV
- ISF Level II Video Calibrator, THX-HAA Level III Audio Designer/Calibrator
desertdome is offline  
post #34473 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaNile View Post
Another random update from playing around with my system. First, with the "yes" to subs and LFE on (or is it LFE+mains?) the bass is very impressive. Pretty much what I was looking for without subs. Ran Audyssey 3 different positions and noticed a few things. It sounds absolutely incredible, very detailed, and overall much better than no EQ, but....you guessed it...no bass at all. So I guess this is where switching out to the iNuke with DSP will allow me to keep the Audyssey settings but EQ certain areas such as boosting the bass?

For now, I'll suffer slightly less SQ for having the bass from the 215RT's. It definitely does not sound bad at all, but not as good as with Audyssey engaged. I'll keep the manual settings for now, save up a few $$$ and hire someone to come out and put the finishing touches on everything. Can't do it now because I'm still adding furniture and finishing a few other small projects in the HT area.

Can't say I'm ruling out adding subs. Never say never! But that is over my head for sure.
Can you bypass your L and R in your unit? I bypass Audyssey just in the L amd R and that makes a world of difference.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
 
post #34474 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeaNile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chadds Ford, PA
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
Can you bypass your L and R in your unit? I bypass Audyssey just in the L amd R and that makes a world of difference.

Marantz 7702mkII. Not sure if that is an option to bypass just L & R.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SeaNile is offline  
post #34475 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
Ahh you sure can, that's what I'm running!. Go into manual setup and go to the Audyssey section, and you can change from flat etc. Change it to l and r bypass.
RMK! likes this.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #34476 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 7,673
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1630
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
Can you bypass your L and R in your unit? I bypass Audyssey just in the L amd R and that makes a world of difference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaNile View Post
Marantz 7702mkII. Not sure if that is an option to bypass just L & R.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
Ahh you sure can, that's what I'm running!. Go into manual setup and go to the Audyssey section, and you can change from flat etc. Change it to l and r bypass.

Yup ...

Anxiety is contagious, please keep yours to yourself.
RMK! is offline  
post #34477 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertdome View Post
nebrunner lives a few miles from me and has had a DTS-10 and a Growler for 4 years. The DTS-10 he bought from Ricci and is the actual model tested on data-bass. I told him to buy the Growler that was tested on data-bass, too, but he never did.
He didn't buy it??? What do you mean? I thought when DesertDome said buy this...it just happens. I have a choice????
carp likes this.
dlbeck is online now  
post #34478 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 11:32 PM
Member
 
rndroid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Send a message via AIM to rndroid1
Does anyone have an opinion on using 210RTs for the front l/r?
rndroid1 is offline  
post #34479 of 37935 Old 03-22-2016, 11:37 PM
Member
 
rndroid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Send a message via AIM to rndroid1
Hello, are there any Michiganders that would allow me to hear there JTR speakers? I live in Ann Arbor and am willing to drive.

Thanks, Randy
rndroid1 is offline  
post #34480 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 02:13 AM
Member
 
rndroid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Send a message via AIM to rndroid1
Does anybody know the Ohm rating on Jtr 215rt, rm, and 210rt?
rndroid1 is offline  
post #34481 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 02:43 AM
Member
 
rndroid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Send a message via AIM to rndroid1
How much space is suggested for 215rt, both side walls and rear walls? My room is about 18 by 28. Is the 18 big enough for these speakers? My current speakers are approximately 3' from the side walls and 2' from rear.
rndroid1 is offline  
post #34482 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
Does anyone have an opinion on using 210RTs for the front l/r?
Any interest in a Pittsburgh area meet up?

Read posts 139, 140 and 151

There is someone in Toledo that has 210RT's.
raynist is offline  
post #34483 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 04:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
Does anybody know the Ohm rating on Jtr 215rt, rm, and 210rt?
They are all 4ohm
raynist is offline  
post #34484 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
How much space is suggested for 215rt, both side walls and rear walls? My room is about 18 by 28. Is the 18 big enough for these speakers? My current speakers are approximately 3' from the side walls and 2' from rear.
That is plenty big enough.
raynist is offline  
post #34485 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 05:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
Hello, are there any Michiganders that would allow me to hear there JTR speakers? I live in Ann Arbor and am willing to drive.

Thanks, Randy
Randy - if you're willing to drive head to the Chicago area and meet the man himself. Only 4 hours away and Jeff is a great host and could probably demo anything you want.
dlbeck is online now  
post #34486 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
theblackangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
How much space is suggested for 215rt, both side walls and rear walls? My room is about 18 by 28. Is the 18 big enough for these speakers? My current speakers are approximately 3' from the side walls and 2' from rear.
My space is nearly the exact same size, and the 215RT's fit well. Based on some other room constraints I have them about 1ft from the rear wall and about 12-13 ft apart and they sound good. In my room the further apart the better for imaging so far.
theblackangus is online now  
post #34487 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,185
Mentioned: 513 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2885 Post(s)
Liked: 2172
Quote:
Originally Posted by rndroid1 View Post
How much space is suggested for 215rt, both side walls and rear walls? My room is about 18 by 28. Is the 18 big enough for these speakers? My current speakers are approximately 3' from the side walls and 2' from rear.

My room is 17' 6" wide and 23' deep and it's plenty of room for the 215 rt's. Like others have said I like them wide too, I have them on the outside of my 12' 3" wide screen.
carp is online now  
post #34488 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
I just got the basement ceiling all finished up and had some plumbing done from a friend who I haven't seen in about 3 years or so... The room looks great and all together there were 6 guys here so we had an impromptu demo of the atmos setup... My plumber friends helper (a 20 year old kid) had full wood after hearing the 215s hahaha. I've never seen someone be so amazed by anything... Ever. It was something I will never forget lol. He was beside himself. He must have walked up to the speakers 15 times and just sat right infont just to watch them. All the other guys just had looks of "geezus" on their faces when I cranked up the entire system.
I just have to black out the window frame and the IB frame this weekend, other than that I'm super happy with how it all turned out.

I'm really happy with the dsonic amp, I've never had an issue that I need more power. Even at over reference on bass I love you, the 215s just belted out the bass with ease.

I've realized I can actually fit a OS pro (or 2), though I would have to drop a 21 or 2... Going by the databass site, 1 OS would equal 2 ghorns or so over 40Hz.... And it would be around 3 growlers to do the same.
I really only want above 40Hz as the 21' and 24' can do the low stuff.






Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!


Last edited by N8DOGG; 03-23-2016 at 12:11 PM.
N8DOGG is offline  
post #34489 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
countryWV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington West Virginia
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
I'm really happy with the dsonic amp, I've never had an issue that I need more power. Even at over reference on bass I love you, the 215s just belted out the bass with ease.

Chris
countryWV is offline  
post #34490 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
My room is 17' 6" wide and 23' deep and it's plenty of room for the 215 rt's. Like others have said I like them wide too, I have them on the outside of my 12' 3" wide screen.

Your screen is as wide as my room...LOL!



Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
I've realized I can actually fit a OS pro (or 2), though I would have to drop a 21 or 2... Going by the databass site, 1 OS would equal 2 ghorns or so over 40Hz.... And it would be around 3 growlers to do the same.
I really only want above 40Hz as the 21' and 24' can do the low stuff.

Dual OS Pros...PLEASE DO THIS. At a absolute minimum you should get a SP2-8000 to power them.
carp likes this.
lukeamdman is offline  
post #34491 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
If I could get them in 8 ohm coils, I have more than enough power in a bridged fp14 clone per sub.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #34492 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
If I could get them in 8 ohm coils, I have more than enough power in a bridged fp14 clone per sub.

That'll work!


A clone in a 8ohm bridge is about the same amount of power as a single channel of a sp2-8k at 2ohm (4kw RMS/7.2kw burst), but I'd definitely give the SP amp the nod how long it can sustain that power.
lukeamdman is offline  
post #34493 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
That'll work!


A clone in a 8ohm bridge is about the same amount of power as a single channel of a sp2-8k at 2ohm (4kw RMS/7.2kw burst), but I'd definitely give the SP amp the nod how long it can sustain that power.
Yup, I have 5 FP14's total and my Crest 7.5, Mark is building all my 24's with 8 ohm coils and I'm bridging each amp per driver. Then I don't have to spend any extra money! lol

The SP amp is likely better but with conversion, it's just not going to happen. If I end up with the growlers, then it's 1 channel per cab.
lukeamdman likes this.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #34494 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,185
Mentioned: 513 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2885 Post(s)
Liked: 2172
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
Your screen is as wide as my room...LOL!






Dual OS Pros...PLEASE DO THIS. At a absolute minimum you should get a SP2-8000 to power them.

Your setup would be perfect for a pull down AT screen. Current tv (what is that a 65 inch?) for sports/tv with the lights on and pull down for movies. I often wish I had a flat panel for tv watching. I do like watching tv on my current screen and the Epson 3500 is plenty bright with the lights on - but I hate having to use the bulb so much.
carp is online now  
post #34495 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
Yup, I have 5 FP14's total and my Crest 7.5, Mark is building all my 24's with 8 ohm coils and I'm bridging each amp per driver. Then I don't have to spend any extra money! lol

The SP amp is likely better but with conversion, it's just not going to happen. If I end up with the growlers, then it's 1 channel per cab.

That'll be crazy man...


What kind of cabinet volume/cu.ft are you planning for each 24?
lukeamdman is offline  
post #34496 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,243
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeamdman View Post
That'll be crazy man...


What kind of cabinet volume/cu.ft are you planning for each 24?
Not 100% sure yet, he's still testing the prototype. He said it should be along the lines of SI's... but those are not the ones I'm getting, I'm getting the Neo motor ones, These are the ferrite versions.
I will likely build 10-12 CF regardless of what it wants, I have enough power and EQ to make whatever I want happen lol. One day, if I had the funds to drop, I'd love to get some rack SP amps to use.....
If I do go with the OS pro, I'd only start with one as I got so much going on, I'm just not sure I'd have anywhere to even put 2.... Though Our dollar has went up a lot in the last 2 months and supposed to keep rising.... I may wait it out a few months and save a few bucks on the JTR stuff, we'll see how much everything is once Jeff gets back to me.... I haven't been in new gear mode in a long time!

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #34497 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,702
Mentioned: 292 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4158 Post(s)
Liked: 3515
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Your setup would be perfect for a pull down AT screen. Current tv (what is that a 65 inch?) for sports/tv with the lights on and pull down for movies. I often wish I had a flat panel for tv watching. I do like watching tv on my current screen and the Epson 3500 is plenty bright with the lights on - but I hate having to use the bulb so much.
Ah yes, you were near the top of my list as a prime candidate for the epson ls10000. I go down there and turn it on to listen to music nowadays, simply so I can see the volume bar and for settings changes No bulb worries here anymore. It's the happiest I have ever been from a PJ standpoint.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #34498 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,185
Mentioned: 513 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2885 Post(s)
Liked: 2172
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Ah yes, you were near the top of my list as a prime candidate for the epson ls10000. I go down there and turn it on to listen to music nowadays, simply so I can see the volume bar and for settings changes No bulb worries here anymore. It's the happiest I have ever been from a PJ standpoint.
Don't think I haven't been drooling over reviews of that thing since you bought one!
carp is online now  
post #34499 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
countryWV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington West Virginia
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I often wish I had a flat panel for tv watching.
http://www.vizio.com/p-series

^^^This is an Excellent value for a 4K Ultra HD HDR TV!!!!

Chris

Last edited by countryWV; 03-23-2016 at 01:16 PM.
countryWV is offline  
post #34500 of 37935 Old 03-23-2016, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NWCgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 3,597
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1272 Post(s)
Liked: 1311
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Ah yes, you were near the top of my list as a prime candidate for the epson ls10000. I go down there and turn it on to listen to music nowadays, simply so I can see the volume bar and for settings changes No bulb worries here anymore. It's the happiest I have ever been from a PJ standpoint.
The Epson is definitely a great PJ. I see details in the image that does not come through on my PJ. Of course my PJ is older than @carp (BenQ 7700).

______________________________________
Home Theater:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...sement-ht.html
NWCgrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Tags
215RT , 228ht , captivator , Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp , noesis

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off