Official JTR speaker thread - Page 657 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19681 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:13 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

Hi rhed,
I use crown 1500 xls with my JTR t12lp's lcr and t8lp's for side duty and rear x 6 . All run by the crown amps, I have six, 3 bridged for the lcr's and the rest stereo mode for the sides/rears.
They work great and run very cool the fans have never turned on when in use,those amps sound as good as my lexicon/ bryston 400 watt bridged amps. wink.gif
I like movies at reference level and music at -10 to - 04 the crown xls amps do deliver.biggrin.gif
Pm me if you want the places where I priced them for best deal. Congrats on your new toys(215's), I myself will probably make the switch for the215's and use my t12's for surround duty.biggrin.gif

PeterV

Interesting Peter. I just ordered a pair of the 1500's to power the surrounds ... cool.gif

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19682 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post

I bought my HT PC from Assassin. It's an Intel i5 with 8GB RAM, 2 bluray drives and 9TB of storage. I do not use it for 3D and 4K isn't in my immediate plan. JRiver is the preferred control software.

Ah, thanks...

I am trying to figure out what i need to play 'actual' 4k content right now.
coolgeek is offline  
post #19683 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post



Interesting Peter. I just ordered a pair of the 1500's to power the surrounds ... cool.gif



Hi Rob,
I think you will be pleasantly suprised at how well they sound, I certainly had some apprehension because of the "pro" label as I never used such before in a HT setting. tongue.gif My only experience with pro amps has been with my bass guitar amps/pa systems etc.
Let's us know what you think.smile.gif




PeterV
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19684 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Here is a photo of my amps, they are pretty yummy looking. tongue.gif


I wonder if Jeff can come up with JTR's for the new vette. I want one! biggrin.gif



PeterV
RMK! likes this.
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19685 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:47 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

Hi Rob,
I think you will be pleasantly suprised at how well they sound, I certainly had some apprehension because of the "pro" label as I never used such before in a HT setting. tongue.gif My only experience with pro amps has been with my bass guitar amps/pa systems etc.
Let's us know what you think.smile.gif
PeterV

They "run cool" and "the fans never turn on" was all I needed to hear smile.gif. My LG is a great amp with infinite power for the 215 LCR's but the fan noise would be unacceptable if it was in the HT room.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #19686 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:49 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

Here is a photo of my amps, they are pretty yummy looking. tongue.gif


I wonder if Jeff can come up with JTR's for the new vette. I want one! biggrin.gif

PeterV

He could do the 215's in corvette red for you ... biggrin.gif

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #19687 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post

He could do the 215's in corvette red for you ... biggrin.gif

Nice look. How do you exhaust all those amps. Open behind the rack?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #19688 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Nice look. How do you exhaust all those amps. Open behind the rack?


It's open behind that wall no need for exhaust it all runs cool, the room it self is the lobby if you will to the theater. It also has a projector in the lobby with an 80" wide screen you can see above the rack.





Rob,
You know you may be on to something.biggrin.gif I could see vette red 215's that would be the grand 215's and knock off the B&W 's with the fancy finish (can't recall the name). biggrin.gif




PeterV
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19689 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

Here is a photo of my amps, they are pretty yummy looking. tongue.gif


I wonder if Jeff can come up with JTR's for the new vette. I want one! biggrin.gif



PeterV

Very nice setup Peter.. I like how the Crowns are racked. Very clean. And those Vettes are just plain wicked. Wait till the new Z06 comes out. smile.gif
And thanks for your input on the Crowns. I think this is the route I'm going.
rhed is online now  
post #19690 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 10:23 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

It's open behind that wall no need for exhaust it all runs cool, the room it self is the lobby if you will to the theater. It also has a projector in the lobby with an 80" wide screen you can see above the rack.

Rob,
You know you may be on to something.biggrin.gif I could see vette red 215's that would be the grand 215's and knock off the B&W 's with the fancy finish (can't recall the name). biggrin.gif

PeterV

Your HT has a lobby with a projector and screen? confused.gifeek.gif

Now that is decadent ... way to go Peter! wink.gifcool.gif

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #19691 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 10:31 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post

I am currently using a Sunfire TGA-7401, which is rated at 800 x 7 when powering 4 ohm speakers.

Just wondering if I will need.....I mean, WANT more power pushing the upcoming 215RTs and 215RM. Thought about going with some pro-style amps, but the fans would be a problem for me too.

The Sunfire has been a great unit....cool as can be too.

D-Sonic could be a great choice as well...

I had a Sunfire TGA7401 before the W4S amp. You definitely do not "need" any more power ... but our nature finds a way. smile.gif

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #19692 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:02 PM
Member
 
subyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post

I bought my HT PC from Assassin. It's an Intel i5 with 8GB RAM, 2 bluray drives and 9TB of storage. I do not use it for 3D and 4K isn't in my immediate plan. JRiver is the preferred control software.

I hope it fares better in shipping than mine. After waiting 3 weeks for usps to find it they then destroyed it. The box was mangled and they even managed to break the handle off the rack mount case. It would boot and run unstable for a couple days then died completely. Assassin has been great to deal with and took it back for rebuild. Unfortunately I've now been waiting for my PC for almost 3 months.

I've been running six xls1500's for a couple years now. They're on my 212's and s8's now. The fans do turn on but they are completely silent.
RMK! likes this.

(3) JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR)
(2) JTR Single 8 (wides)
(2) JTR Slanted 8 (sides)
(2) DIY Eminence 10" coax (rear Surrounds)
(2) JTR Orbit Shifters
(2) Mach5 UXL-18's sealed
(2) Soundsplinter 15's sealed
Speakers powered by 6 crown xls 1500's
UXL's powered by Peavey IPR-7500

My theater:
http://www.avs...
subyguy is offline  
post #19693 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by subyguy View Post

I hope it fares better in shipping than mine. After waiting 3 weeks for usps to find it they then destroyed it. The box was mangled and they even managed to break the handle off the rack mount case. It would boot and run unstable for a couple days then died completely. Assassin has been great to deal with and took it back for rebuild. Unfortunately I've now been waiting for my PC for almost 3 months.

I've been running six xls1500's for a couple years now. They're on my 212's and s8's now. The fans do turn on but they are completely silent.

When running multiple amps, what kind of power surge, strip, comditioner, or multi outlet is recommended?
rhed is online now  
post #19694 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:31 PM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post

When running multiple amps, what kind of power surge, strip, comditioner, or multi outlet is recommended?

Here in placid, sunny and power consistent California, direct to the outlet is fine. If I had lots of amps, or lived in a bad weather/dirty power state, I would get a UPS/Power Conditioner unit. I have an APC surge protector for everything but the amps.
YMMV smile.gif

If you get a power strip, make sure it's at least 20amp rated.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is offline  
post #19695 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
staaled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Has anyone discovered Beyoncé ' s visual album on blu- ray yet?
Besides stunning visuals the 5.1 LPCM mix is truly epic.
staaled is online now  
post #19696 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:37 PM
Member
 
subyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post

When running multiple amps, what kind of power surge, strip, comditioner, or multi outlet is recommended?

I have 3 dedicated 20amp circuits to my rack and then 3 20 amp power bars to distribute to the gear. I have added 12 volt relays to all the crowns and the ipr7500 that are triggered by my 8801 through a power sensing strip.

(3) JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR)
(2) JTR Single 8 (wides)
(2) JTR Slanted 8 (sides)
(2) DIY Eminence 10" coax (rear Surrounds)
(2) JTR Orbit Shifters
(2) Mach5 UXL-18's sealed
(2) Soundsplinter 15's sealed
Speakers powered by 6 crown xls 1500's
UXL's powered by Peavey IPR-7500

My theater:
http://www.avs...
subyguy is offline  
post #19697 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post

Here in placid, sunny and power consistent California, direct to the outlet is fine. If I had lots of amps, or lived in a bad weather/dirty power state, I would get a UPS/Power Conditioner unit. I have an APC surge protector for everything but the amps.
YMMV smile.gif

If you get a power strip, make sure it's at least 20amp rated.

Ok thanks RMK.. Like my subs, each one is directly connected to the wall. But my other room only has one 20amp outlet left. Can I run a APC unit to the one outlet I have for 5 xls1500? Will it support it?
rhed is online now  
post #19698 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by subyguy View Post

I have 3 dedicated 20amp circuits to my rack and then 3 20 amp power bars to distribute to the gear. I have added 12 volt relays to all the crowns and the ipr7500 that are triggered by my 8801 through a power sensing strip.

Subyguy,
How do I hook up 12 volt relays to my six crown 1500 xls amps? What's your setup,I need to set mine up like you have. Sorry not familiar with relays other then what some amps come with to connect to reciever/processor .
Thanks



PeterV
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19699 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
subyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonleepenn View Post

Subyguy,
How do I hook up 12 volt relays to my six crown 1500 xls amps? What's your setup,I need to set mine up like you have. Sorry not familiar with relays other then what some amps come with to connect to reciever/processor .
Thanks



PeterV

You have to open up the amp and wire in a 12v triggered, 120v relay (I used 30 amp relays to be safe). I then built 12v triggers using cheap 120v to 12v power supplies that are plugged into a power sensing strip that the preamp triggers when is turned on. It a bit circuitous but works very well and was cheap. There is a thread in the DIY forum about triggering pro amps.

(3) JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR)
(2) JTR Single 8 (wides)
(2) JTR Slanted 8 (sides)
(2) DIY Eminence 10" coax (rear Surrounds)
(2) JTR Orbit Shifters
(2) Mach5 UXL-18's sealed
(2) Soundsplinter 15's sealed
Speakers powered by 6 crown xls 1500's
UXL's powered by Peavey IPR-7500

My theater:
http://www.avs...
subyguy is offline  
post #19700 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by subyguy View Post

You have to open up the amp and wire in a 12v triggered, 120v relay (I used 30 amp relays to be safe). I then built 12v triggers using cheap 120v to 12v power supplies that are plugged into a power sensing strip that the preamp triggers when is turned on. It a bit circuitous but works very well and was cheap. There is a thread in the DIY forum about triggering pro amps.


Thanks Subyguy!
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19701 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Am I understanding this correctly, Crown amps are quiet enough that a fan mod wouldn't be necessary?;
COACH2369 is offline  
post #19702 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgeek View Post

Ah, thanks...

I am trying to figure out what i need to play 'actual' 4k content right now.

You're for sure going to need a GPU and as of now, unless you're TV accepts display port, you'll need to wait a few months for the 2.0 enabled GPU's to hit the market.
I hope you are building it yourself. It's extremely easy, if you need a hand picking out parts, I'd be happy to. I've been building best of the best gaming rigs for 10 years now for my friends PC shop in my spare time for display in his store. If you can plug in a TV, you can build a PC, it really is super simple.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #19703 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post

Ok thanks RMK.. Like my subs, each one is directly connected to the wall. But my other room only has one 20amp outlet left. Can I run a APC unit to the one outlet I have for 5 xls1500? Will it support it?

I wouldn't, in all likelyhood it will probably be fine for moderate use but thats asking alot from 1 20A line. I have 2 x inuke 6000's on 1 x 20A line and it will pop it pretty easily.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #19704 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
dragonleepenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post

Am I understanding this correctly, Crown amps are quiet enough that a fan mod wouldn't be necessary?;


I've yet to notice the fans turn on ever. However my rack is outside in the theater lobby and it would go unnoticed if they do turn on.








PeterV
dragonleepenn is offline  
post #19705 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Not sure if this okay or not, but the 212's are back up..
COACH2369 is offline  
post #19706 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

I wouldn't, in all likelyhood it will probably be fine for moderate use but thats asking alot from 1 20A line. I have 2 x inuke 6000's on 1 x 20A line and it will pop it pretty easily.

Aaah yea N8! At 12000 watts on a 20 amp line. You'll definately pop it easy. 5 xls 1500 is not even close to 2 inuke 6000's! Lol
rhed is online now  
post #19707 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
jaimectrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post

I bought my HT PC from Assassin. It's an Intel i5 with 8GB RAM, 2 bluray drives and 9TB of storage. I do not use it for 3D and 4K isn't in my immediate plan. JRiver is the preferred control software.


Do you think there is much difference in video and sound quality watching a bluray on a quality HTPC vs quality bluray player like oppo 105D?

jaimectrs is offline  
post #19708 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I don't know if it is still the case but one of the reasons I went with Dunes and a separate NAS was because I was told HTPC's struggled with 24p. I don't know if Intel has fixed the issues that were there in the past or not.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333324/lets-set-this-straight-no-one-can-do-24p-consistently-well

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #19709 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post

Aaah yea N8! At 12000 watts on a 20 amp line. You'll definately pop it easy. 5 xls 1500 is not even close to 2 inuke 6000's! Lol

All 5 are more power than 1, since the 6000's put out 2100 watts tested power. You can trip a 20A breaker with 1 x inuke 6000 running sine waves pretty easily. But like I said, it will likely be fine unless the volume gets out of hand. I've easlily popped a 20A breker with 2 x ep4000's that are only 100 watts more per channel than the 1500's, although mine we running subs not speakers, so it wouldn't be as much of an issue running the amps to their max.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #19710 of 21651 Old 05-18-2014, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimectrs View Post


Do you think there is much difference in video and sound quality watching a bluray on a quality HTPC vs quality bluray player like oppo 105D?

I run off my NAS server and the movies are excellent PQ. I can't tell much difference with my oppo 103.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off