Official JTR speaker thread - Page 715 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21421 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
I have seen the same, it basically will take the lowest recorded song and match the other tracks to it, which seems bad if your lowest level recorded song is significantly lower than your "average" level of the entire library.
You can also turn on Adaptive Volume - Peak Volume Normalize, which is what I do. It makes Volume Leveling match volume of all songs in your playlist instead of your library and then raises the volume just under where the loudest song would clip. This provides the least amount of attenuation necessary to match volume.

The downside of this is that if you are adding songs as you go to Playing Now, the volume can still be different since the playlist is being reset as you add songs on the fly. However, it will hold the current volume leveling until a song is added that will cause clipping and then it will adjust.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK!
How do I get JRiver to perform this analysis?
Select files. Right click > Library Tools > Analyze Audio. Through the menu it is Tools > Library Tools > Analyze Audio. Your files may already be analyzed and you will see that if there are already results in the Analyze Audio Tool.

You can also set watched folders to automatically be analyzed when files are imported.

You can choose in the Analyze Audio tool how many files you want analyzed at once. This is determined by how many cores your CPU has and the speed of your hard drive. I would test with a few files at a time to find what is fastest. Sometimes analyzing 4 files at a time is faster than 8 and other times it is the other way around.
RMK! likes this.
desertdome is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21422 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 725
@carp , if you're still looking for an amp to use with the 215's and you have the budget for it you should take a serious look at the new amps that Nathan from Funk Audio now has available. Very nice amp for $2300. It's a two channel amp putting out 2400watts RMS/4800w peak per channel. They also have a DSP that you can access with a USB and the software that you get with the amp.

When I was talking with him about them he mentioned that they are very "gentle" on your breakers. They don't trip breakers that much, we had two of them (9.6kW) running at my GTG off of a single dedicated 15amp circuit. His 18.2 sub was pounding and we never once tripped the breaker.

I'm seriously thinking about buy one to power all four of my sub cabinets.

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is offline  
post #21423 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 547
are those specs at 4 ohm per channel?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #21424 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 725
Yes. Nathan also said it is 2ohm stable, but is a little happier to operate at 4ohm.

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is offline  
post #21425 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Do you happen to have any additional specs on the amp? Sounds fun

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #21426 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
@carp , if you're still looking for an amp to use with the 215's and you have the budget for it you should take a serious look at the new amps that Nathan from Funk Audio now has available. Very nice amp for $2300. It's a two channel amp putting out 2400watts RMS/4800w peak per channel. They also have a DSP that you can access with a USB and the software that you get with the amp.

When I was talking with him about them he mentioned that they are very "gentle" on your breakers. They don't trip breakers that much, we had two of them (9.6kW) running at my GTG off of a single dedicated 15amp circuit. His 18.2 sub was pounding and we never once tripped the breaker.

I'm seriously thinking about buy one to power all four of my sub cabinets.
I know the SpeakerPower amps are this powerful but are only recommended for bass speakers. Are these amps recommended for full range? Thanks for sharing.

EDIT: And I didn't see any info about the amp on Funk's site. Do you have a link?

Last edited by dgage; Yesterday at 11:20 AM.
dgage is online now  
post #21427 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 256
I'm pretty sure Nathans amps are pascal modules... I could be wrong but I'm pretty sure thats what he said that last time I talked to him.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #21428 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
@carp , if you're still looking for an amp to use with the 215's and you have the budget for it you should take a serious look at the new amps that Nathan from Funk Audio now has available. Very nice amp for $2300. It's a two channel amp putting out 2400watts RMS/4800w peak per channel. They also have a DSP that you can access with a USB and the software that you get with the amp.

When I was talking with him about them he mentioned that they are very "gentle" on your breakers. They don't trip breakers that much, we had two of them (9.6kW) running at my GTG off of a single dedicated 15amp circuit. His 18.2 sub was pounding and we never once tripped the breaker.

I'm seriously thinking about buy one to power all four of my sub cabinets.
You have my attention. My Inuke 3000dsp just came today. Now I just need the 215's
Down the road I will be looking for options. The efficiency sounds nice.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #21429 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are all you guys that have 215's running them without subs or with? If you're running without what about the low end from the other channels...are you routing that to the 215's as well? I'm almost exclusively movies (a little bit of gaming) so music isn't an issue for me at this time and I'm wondering how you guys have them set-up. I have considered buying them but I think the 212's fit my room better since it's only ~12' wide and I do like running subs and I don't think my Yamaha CX-A5000 can route low end (plus LFE) to the mains.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is offline  
post #21430 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cape May, NJ
Posts: 2,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
So are all you guys that have 215's running them without subs or with? If you're running without what about the low end from the other channels...are you routing that to the 215's as well? I'm almost exclusively movies (a little bit of gaming) so music isn't an issue for me at this time and I'm wondering how you guys have them set-up. I have considered buying them but I think the 212's fit my room better since it's only ~12' wide and I do like running subs and I don't think my Yamaha CX-A5000 can route low end (plus LFE) to the mains.
Jeff will tell you that if you are 90% movies, the 212's would be a better fit. All around the 212's are allot easier to integrate with subs and not to mention they can easily be run with a good AVR.
Reefdvr27 is online now  
post #21431 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
Jeff will tell you that if you are 90% movies, the 212's would be a better fit. All around the 212's are allot easier to integrate with subs and not to mention they can easily be run with a good AVR.
I'm not ready to name a favorite yet...and I will be putting them head to head but I like aspects of the 215RM center and the 212HT-LPs. I could easily see the 215RM being phenomenal, albeit large LCRs. But based on my approximate hour between hearing the 215s and going back to my house and giving an almost reference level demo of my 212HT-LPs, I think the upper end is a little more lively with the 212s, the midrange is about the same, and the 215s just kill in the midbass. Don't take this as gospel as I need to A/B the 212 and 215RM at Coach's house, which we probably will in the next few weeks.
dgage is online now  
post #21432 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
So are all you guys that have 215's running them without subs or with? If you're running without what about the low end from the other channels...are you routing that to the 215's as well? I'm almost exclusively movies (a little bit of gaming) so music isn't an issue for me at this time and I'm wondering how you guys have them set-up. I have considered buying them but I think the 212's fit my room better since it's only ~12' wide and I do like running subs and I don't think my Yamaha CX-A5000 can route low end (plus LFE) to the mains.
I believe I am alone in running 215's (LCR) without separate subs. I'm using a Rane multiprocessor to route the LFE to the LCR's which are also run full range. I'm not concerned with any low bass that might be re-routed from the surrounds although the Rane could do that. The side surrounds are triple 8 lp's with an 80hz cover. The surround backs are slanted 8's crossed at 100hz.

It sounds like the 212's would be a better choice for you.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!

Last edited by RMK!; Yesterday at 08:26 PM.
RMK! is online now  
post #21433 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
So are all you guys that have 215's running them without subs or with? If you're running without what about the low end from the other channels...are you routing that to the 215's as well? I'm almost exclusively movies (a little bit of gaming) so music isn't an issue for me at this time and I'm wondering how you guys have them set-up. I have considered buying them but I think the 212's fit my room better since it's only ~12' wide and I do like running subs and I don't think my Yamaha CX-A5000 can route low end (plus LFE) to the mains.
For music 215's only no subs, but that wasn't your question - for movies I've gone no subs and routed all the bass and LFE to my mains but most of the time for movies I have the subs on too and run the speakers as Large. I have it all dialed in now so that there is no issues with phase cancellation, the ported speakers and sealed subs blend just fine. Honestly I am just fine without the subs for normal movie watching as long as I eq in some bass boost for the mains but I do that for music too.
carp is online now  
post #21434 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
Interesting data Carp, thanks for posting. I think it's fair to say the 215RT's aren't AVR speakers but if they are not power limited, they can be pushed to insane levels even in large rooms. I am really happy with the 2 channel performance of the 215's too but it has been a long time since I heard any other speakers and I may have lost the objective perspective .

As for +10 reference ... no one needs plus 10 but I can get there with my amp in a 3600^3 room. That's like driving @150 mph. It is fun to do in a capable vehicle but not very practical ...

^ I think the 212's can be pushed to insane levels, the 215's can be pushed to 11 db's less than insane levels which is still louder than I need.

My room is 3200 cu ft. If you have gone to +10 you are clipping the amp or pushing more than 2000 watts per speaker. Did Jeff say it's ok to push more than that to the 215's? Haha, I do have 2 inuke 6000's sitting around... oh wait... you can't bridge the 6000 anyway.
carp is online now  
post #21435 of 21444 Old Yesterday, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4,940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
@carp , if you're still looking for an amp to use with the 215's and you have the budget for it you should take a serious look at the new amps that Nathan from Funk Audio now has available. Very nice amp for $2300. It's a two channel amp putting out 2400watts RMS/4800w peak per channel. They also have a DSP that you can access with a USB and the software that you get with the amp.

When I was talking with him about them he mentioned that they are very "gentle" on your breakers. They don't trip breakers that much, we had two of them (9.6kW) running at my GTG off of a single dedicated 15amp circuit. His 18.2 sub was pounding and we never once tripped the breaker.

I'm seriously thinking about buy one to power all four of my sub cabinets.
That sounds perfect! I'm betting I wouldn't get any speaker hiss with those either. I can't hear the hiss with the 3000 in my LP, but I can hear it with the 6000.

Oh wait... I have no money...

I will keep that in mind though if I ever have money again.
carp is online now  
post #21436 of 21444 Old Today, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
^ I think the 212's can be pushed to insane levels, the 215's can be pushed to 11 db's less than insane levels which is still louder than I need.

My room is 3200 cu ft. If you have gone to +10 you are clipping the amp or pushing more than 2000 watts per speaker. Did Jeff say it's ok to push more than that to the 215's? Haha, I do have 2 inuke 6000's sitting around... oh wait... you can't bridge the 6000 anyway.
I don't get the 11db delta you describe. Specs say 6db (212=101db, 215=95db) and that seems about right to me.

BTW, my LG FP10000Q is rated 2100 wpc and I don't think it's clipping at +10 but will check.


OK, checked and at +10 no clipping. +15 produced a red light on one channel (center) and I stopped there.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!

Last edited by RMK!; Today at 07:27 AM. Reason: UPdate
RMK! is online now  
post #21437 of 21444 Old Today, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
I don't get the 11db delta you describe. Specs say 6db (212=101db, 215=95db) and that seems about right to me.

BTW, my LG FP10000Q is rated 2100 wpc and I don't think it's clipping at +10 but will check.
It seems one of the specs is over, or understated. In level matching the 212's at various g2g's, and with other folk's findings around here in transitioning directly from 212's to the 215's it seems to me as if the 212 is at least understated by several dB's, where I would be willing to guess its sensitivity is in fact a little closer to 103-104dB 1w/1m. We noticed this at Rilla's g2g's when transitioning from speakers quickly where the trims for the 212's always were the most sensitive by several dB.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #21438 of 21444 Old Today, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
It seems one of the specs is over, or understated. In level matching the 212's at various g2g's, and with other folk's findings around here in transitioning directly from 212's to the 215's it seems to me as if the 212 is at least understated by several dB's, where I would be willing to guess its sensitivity is in fact a little closer to 103-104dB 1w/1m. We noticed this at Rilla's g2g's when transitioning from speakers quickly where the trims for the 212's always were the most sensitive by several dB.
I dunno but my guess is OE and or poor measuring gear.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is online now  
post #21439 of 21444 Old Today, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,258
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
I dunno but my guess is OE and or poor measuring gear.
At my GTGs we always used several Omnimics (most were very close to each other) as well as at least 3-4 of us (experienced users) present during calibration/tweaking. Mic and speaker placement was very close to exact for each. Operator error or lack of experience was certainly not a issue. The 212s were always the most sensitive of the bunch, as expected. Going off the notes they were +2 over my U215s (seems about right), +5 of my SEOS Sentintels (also seems correct), and WAY over the lower sensitivity offerings. I'd be very curious to measure the 215s in my room as a +11 trim seems like a HUGE difference!
Gorilla83 is online now  
post #21440 of 21444 Old Today, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla83 View Post
At my GTGs we always used several Omnimics (most were very close to each other) as well as at least 3-4 of us (experienced users) present during calibration/tweaking. Mic and speaker placement was very close to exact for each. Operator error or lack of experience was certainly not a issue. The 212s were always the most sensitive of the bunch, as expected. Going off the notes they were +2 over my U215s (seems about right), +5 of my SEOS Sentintels (also seems correct), and WAY over the lower sensitivity offerings. I'd be very curious to measure the 215s in my room as a +11 trim seems like a HUGE difference!
My comment wasn't directed at you, beast or the 3-4 others but rather the person reporting the 11db difference.

BTW, he is an experienced user too ...

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is online now  
post #21441 of 21444 Old Today, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,258
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
My comment wasn't directed at you, beast or the 3-4 others but rather the person reporting the 11db difference.

BTW, he is an experienced user too ...
Heh, understood. The best thing would certainly be to measure same day, place, location, equipment. I'm HOPING that Dave (reefdvr) gets his 215's before August comes around.
@carp - Did you have your trims in the inuke the same for both? Just curious.

Last edited by Gorilla83; Today at 08:02 AM.
Gorilla83 is online now  
post #21442 of 21444 Old Today, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I am not experienced, but will share my differences going from the 212's to the 215's.

Audyssey had my 212's at -11. Right now the 215's are at -1 and I think -2 on the center. Would have to jump upstairs and confirm for sure...
COACH2369 is online now  
post #21443 of 21444 Old Today, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post
jump upstairs
Jump Up Stairs

Jump Up Stairs


(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #21444 of 21444 Old Today, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 5,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post
I am not experienced, but will share my differences going from the 212's to the 215's.

Audyssey had my 212's at -11. Right now the 215's are at -1 and I think -2 on the center. Would have to jump upstairs and confirm for sure...
My Audyssey level report was the 212HT-LP's were always -12db. Since that is the max cut possible on my Integra, I installed 10db attenuators and the numbers became -3 or -4. I ended up removing the attenuators and leaving them at -12.

The 215RT's are now -8 to -9 after Audyssey calibration and my 75db level matching (Integra test tones) via my digital SPL meter. That pretty well fits the 6db delta of the specs ... no?

The only wild card here is my 215's were the first units built and Jeff tweaked the Xover after my installation. If that is the reason for the delta, then that was a pretty serious tweak.

HToM

"Well, la di fricken da."!
RMK! is online now  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off