Official JTR speaker thread - Page 717 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8362Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21481 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,985
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 722
All this talk about how to run the 215RT's....full range or crossed over to the subs?

I am not sure how I will end up leaving things in my room.

The eq'ing will be put on hold until this Saturday due to the week of work I have ahead of me.

Not sure how many others have a 215RM, but it has the ability to run in full range and I plan on giving it a shot.

Trying to determine how much boost I can get in the mid bass without running out of head room...

So far, so good... but have A LONG way to go, IMO, to get it the way I want it.
COACH2369 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21482 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
There is no question that you should run the 215RT's full range!

Especially if you have the ability to boost the bass to your liking.

I only did a crossover for music, not movies, as I ran my Seatons HOT to "undo" the bass removal that Audyssey did... lol.
SOWK is offline  
post #21483 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2658 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post
All this talk about how to run the 215RT's....full range or crossed over to the subs?

I am not sure how I will end up leaving things in my room.

The eq'ing will be put on hold until this Saturday due to the week of work I have ahead of me.

Not sure how many others have a 215RM, but it has the ability to run in full range and I plan on giving it a shot.

Trying to determine how much boost I can get in the mid bass without running out of head room...

So far, so good... but have A LONG way to go, IMO, to get it the way I want it.

Those measurements you posted show quite a dip in the mid-bass region so I'm not sure you can get exactly what you want if you keep the same speakers and seating positions. Of course that's my opinion and I hope to be wrong - especially since you said you can't really tweak those positions....
carp is online now  
 
post #21484 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2658 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
There is no question that you should run the 215RT's full range!

Especially if you have the ability to boost the bass to your liking.

I only did a crossover for music, not movies, as I ran my Seatons HOT to "undo" the bass removal that Audyssey did... lol.
Here is the main reason I don't like Audyssey. I had an Onkyo 811





for few days to try out Audyssey. When I first started listening it sounded exciting and I thought I liked it but very quickly I was fatigued and wanted to stop listening.

Here is why, this is what Audyssey did to the highs (red line Audyssey on green line off):


carp is online now  
post #21485 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2658 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
Does Audyssey do that to your highs?
carp is online now  
post #21486 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
No mine does not, but I use Audyssey XT 32 with Pro Kit.

It makes it nice a flat, but I find myself preferring a boost in the bass region, that Audyssey doesn't allow.
SOWK is offline  
post #21487 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2658 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
The Onkyo I used has XT 32, not sure about pro kit, don't know if it had that or not.
carp is online now  
post #21488 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Pro kit is a separate purchase, about $600.00 and needs a $100 license for the receiver, so no it did not have that.
SOWK is offline  
post #21489 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:38 PM
Point Source
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,238
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3793 Post(s)
Liked: 3090
Pro kit doesn't really do much more than xt32 from an overall capability standpoint though unfortunately. You get more measurement positions, and you get the ability to set a LITTLE bit of a custom EQ, but there have been extensive tests that don't really show much difference in the final untouched EQ of either system.
beastaudio is offline  
post #21490 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,985
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Those measurements you posted show quite a dip in the mid-bass region so I'm not sure you can get exactly what you want if you keep the same speakers and seating positions. Of course that's my opinion and I hope to be wrong - especially since you said you can't really tweak those positions....
I am still holding out hope that I can make it work and get things sounding the way I want.

If not, I will most likely look at other speaker options.....but I really don't want to because I don't want have to deal with lugging those bad boys down the steps again. lol

At the end of the day if things are dialed in the best way they can and I am still not happy, then I have to look at my own expectations on what I am trying to achieve and figure out if is even possible.
COACH2369 is online now  
post #21491 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Pro kit doesn't really do much more than xt32 from an overall capability standpoint though unfortunately. You get more measurement positions, and you get the ability to set a LITTLE bit of a custom EQ, but there have been extensive tests that don't really show much difference in the final untouched EQ of either system.
Exactly why I think I may need a miniDSP to allow my front three channels to get a custom curve.


May have to do an Lbrown105 25db HOT from 20htz to 60htz, then start slowly dropping to flat around 150htz

Last edited by SOWK; 07-28-2014 at 01:55 PM.
SOWK is offline  
post #21492 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:45 PM
Point Source
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,238
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3793 Post(s)
Liked: 3090
Definitely. I just got my open drc and have been playing with the software a little before I put it into the chain. Seems quite easy so far to set filters and such.
beastaudio is offline  
post #21493 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 474 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2658 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post
I am still holding out hope that I can make it work and get things sounding the way I want.

If not, I will most likely look at other speaker options.....but I really don't want to because I don't want have to deal with lugging those bad boys down the steps again. lol

At the end of the day if things are dialed in the best way they can and I am still not happy, then I have to look at my own expectations on what I am trying to achieve and figure out if is even possible.
Any speaker in those same positions would measure like that I would think?

Can you pull them out from the wall some? My baffles are more than 4 feet out from the wall and measure the best like this - in my room of course.

I hear you, I don't ever want to carry these again!
carp is online now  
post #21494 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,985
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Any speaker in those same positions would measure like that I would think?

Can you pull them out from the wall some? My baffles are more than 4 feet out from the wall and measure the best like this - in my room of course.

I hear you, I don't ever want to carry these again!
That is something I could look at doing. Probably would effect my toe-in due to how close they are to the screen.
COACH2369 is online now  
post #21495 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,896
Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
East TN is KC East. Coach, Beast, and I have been helping each other spend way too much money. My wife complains about me spending so much time at Coach's house...but he has nicer speakers than I do...she just doesn't understand.
And I'll nominate Des Moines as KC North....God knows they've helped me spend lots of money. I still remember the phone call with Archaea when he told me to buy the dual S2's. Good advice
carp likes this.
dlbeck is online now  
post #21496 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
Does anyone know if the minidsp nanoAVR can do custom curves for my front three channels?

And can it do it without using any other feature from the unit? I still want to use Audyssey as the room correction, just want the custom curves only.
SOWK is offline  
post #21497 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,138
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1137
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Definitely. I just got my open drc and have been playing with the software a little before I put it into the chain. Seems quite easy so far to set filters and such.
I really like my 4. I HATED those little 2x4's, they always introduced noise into my system. The opendrc though has been perfect.
jlpowell84 likes this.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #21498 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 6,800
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1838 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefdvr27 View Post
Man I wished I lived across the street, be great to be close to some peeps that share the same passion, you guys have all the fun. My neighborhood sucks. Bunch of high pinky stiffs. I thought this neighborhood was going to be cool when I first got here and and I seen all the guys had Harley's on the street and the guy next door had a Lamborghini and a Ferrari. Certainly not the case and I never once went on bike ride with any of my neighbors and I don't even talk to them. I sent my son over once to go look at my neighbors Ferrari and he told him not to come in the garage, but he could look from the door :roll eyes: GET OVER YOURSELF BRAH. I am moving out of here ASAP. Im going up by Andrew or going to KC.
Yea get out of there! Look from the door lol...Get over yourself is right! People that think they are better than others because they have money or in general are selfish and have a me first attitude is probably my biggest pet peeve. I have done some work recently for a guy here in town who owns a huge IT company and an offshoot big time bit coin minig operation and he is very cool. His wife is a specialty doctor as well and they have millions upon millions! But he is just cool and nice and is generous with paying people and buying them lunch and REALLY takes care of his employees and gives tons of vac time etc...Thats what I like to see!!! I told him we need to build him a big bad theater!!!
jlpowell84 is online now  
post #21499 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 6,800
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1838 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
I really like my 4. I HATED those little 2x4's, they always introduced noise into my system. The opendrc though has been perfect.
I went with the open DRC because it has XLR in and out and because Nate said he loves them. I have zero complaints. Has been flawless and really lets me tune in the dual SubM's perfectly with a nice house curve.
jlpowell84 is online now  
post #21500 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Opendrc-an, is that the model to get? You need 2 of them for 215 LCR true?..they don't add noise/hiss to the signal chain ?
Thanks Vince
vince32837 is offline  
post #21501 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1683 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Does anyone know if the minidsp nanoAVR can do custom curves for my front three channels?

And can it do it without using any other feature from the unit? I still want to use Audyssey as the room correction, just want the custom curves only.
Any DSP with enough inputs/outputs that lives between Audyssey and the amp should be able to add EQ to the post Audyssey FR. My Rane does that and has mixing as well as EQ.

BTW, I haven't usd Audyssey (XT32 with SubEQ)) since the 215RT's arrived and I don't miss it a bit.
beastaudio likes this.

Opinions are not facts.
RMK! is online now  
post #21502 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 06:52 PM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 175 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
Does anyone know if the minidsp nanoAVR can do custom curves for my front three channels?

And can it do it without using any other feature from the unit? I still want to use Audyssey as the room correction, just want the custom curves only.
Coach and I have the NanoAVR and with 10 parametric EQ per channel, that gives you 80 (7.1) PEQs to work with. You can even use REQ automatic EQ to define a target curve, EQing to meet that curve, export for NanoAVR, and import from REW to the NanoAVR.

Since it is completely digital and resides between your sources (HDMI in/out) (Bluray) and your receiver, you can do whatever you need to with the signal and then let Audyssey take over from there.

I haven't used OpenDRC so I can't speak to the differences.
dgage is online now  
post #21503 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 06:54 PM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 175 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
BTW, I haven't usd Audyssey (XT32 with SubEQ)) since the 215RT's arrived and I don't miss it a bit.
I purposely bought a preamp without Audyssey because I knew I wouldn't use it. Coach currently has his turned off using the NanoAVR but not sure if his calibrator, Chad, will keep it off.
dgage is online now  
post #21504 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1683 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
Coach and I have the NanoAVR and with 10 parametric EQ per channel, that gives you 80 (7.1) PEQs to work with. You can even use REQ automatic EQ to define a target curve, EQing to meet that curve, export for NanoAVR, and import from REW to the NanoAVR.

Since it is completely digital and resides between your sources (HDMI in/out) (Bluray) and your receiver, you can do whatever you need to with the signal and then let Audyssey take over from there.

I haven't used OpenDRC so I can't speak to the differences.
Really? it is in the chain between the source device (bluray player) and the AVR/SSP? That's in the middle of the HDMI chain ... no?

Opinions are not facts.
RMK! is online now  
post #21505 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 4,456
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 406
So yes, buy it? Lol.

Will it allow a custom curve without using a mic?

Or do I have to use the mic?

Can I just tell it I want to run 20db hot from 20htz to 50htz, then slowly drop off to flat at 125htz?
SOWK is offline  
post #21506 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,985
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
I purposely bought a preamp without Audyssey because I knew I wouldn't use it. Coach currently has his turned off using the NanoAVR but not sure if his calibrator, Chad, will keep it off.
We are going to use Audyssey as a "base" and see what it does. After that, use the Nano to fine tune things and then disable Audyssey if it proves to be worthless..

Bottom line for me is, I am not experienced in what is the right or wrong way to set these speakers up nor have the knowledge to do it myself, so I have to lean on some good guys to help me out.

These 215's have been very challenging to get set in my room, unlike any other speaker I have had before. I just hope they can be tweaked to do what I want them to do in my room....something I know I said in an earlier post today.
COACH2369 is online now  
post #21507 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:16 PM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 175 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
Really? it is in the chain between the source device (bluray player) and the AVR/SSP? That's in the middle of the HDMI chain ... no?
Yes. Your Bluray will decode the signal and output PCM. The NanoAVR is able to stay completely digital by jumping in the middle and also keeps the cost down for how powerful it is. And it is definitely powerful.
dgage is online now  
post #21508 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1683 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
Yes. Your Bluray will decode the signal and output PCM. The NanoAVR is able to stay completely digital by jumping in the middle and also keeps the cost down for how powerful it is. And it is definitely powerful.
Interesting, thanks for the info ...

Opinions are not facts.
RMK! is online now  
post #21509 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 07:34 PM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 175 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 1420
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post
So yes, buy it? Lol.

Will it allow a custom curve without using a mic?

Or do I have to use the mic?

Can I just tell it I want to run 20db hot from 20htz to 50htz, then slowly drop off to flat at 125htz?
Normally when doing DSP work you'd want a mic and measuring software (REW) to find out how the signal is being affected by changes.

Also, of you want to use REW AutoEQ, you'll need to specify a Target Curve and have a measurement from your speaker. AutoEQ will then put together some advanced EQ modifications that you'd export in the format for NanoAVR.

Notice we've hardly talked about the NanoAVR up until this point. Whatever changes you make in the DSP, the NanoAVR doesn't care if it made your signal sound better or worse. It has no mic to figure out if your settings were good or bad...which is why you'd want to use a mic with REW software so you can see how your changes in the NanoAVR are affecting the output from your speakers.

Regarding types of changes, you can specify a peak (most popular), high shelf (upper freq), or low shelf. You can specify whether the change should be broad or very narrow and anywhere in between. A positive change will increase the signal while a negative value will reduce that freq range.

Hope that helps. By the way, you might be able to download the software and play with it without even having the device. You can make changes on your computer and then upload the configuration or if you stay connected, you can make changes in real-time.
dgage is online now  
post #21510 of 37432 Old 07-28-2014, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 6,800
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1838 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
Any DSP with enough inputs/outputs that lives between Audyssey and the amp should be able to add EQ to the post Audyssey FR. My Rane does that and has mixing as well as EQ.

BTW, I haven't usd Audyssey (XT32 with SubEQ)) since the 215RT's arrived and I don't miss it a bit.
Exactly, Rhed uses anti mode and all of us use a number of different tools to get the job done. I could not live with an Audyssey XT32 calibration. Flat is horrid IMO. I apply cuts with my open DRC-AN from mini dsp then run Audyssey which by this point I have a pretty dang smooth response. Then I "un-bypass" my low shelf filter I also have set in my open DRC after Audyssey so it doesn't try and pull my house curve down. At this point I have a nice rising house curve and I still put the submersives on PGM which adds a 3db bump below around 45hz-ish...GO0D STUFF! and fun of course! But I will note I like what Audyssey does just not it's flat mentality. But I get the best of both worlds by using the mini dsp unit and Audyssey together, kinda tricking Audyssey...
jlpowell84 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Speakers

Tags
215RT , 228ht , captivator , Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp , noesis

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off