Official JTR speaker thread - Page 850 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,186
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Has anyone used the JBL2242 woofers as midbass modules?

I plan on either replacing my JTR 228's with Yorkville U215's, or using midbass modules.

I really am not sure what size box I would need for the 2242's and don't have much woodworking skills or tools. Have assembled flatpacks before but not sure if there is a premade box that would work.

Thanks
Ray
Yup, I had 2242's in 1.7 CF boxes as my mdbass modules for my 212's. Kicked ass!

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Has anyone used the JBL2242 woofers as midbass modules?

I plan on either replacing my JTR 228's with Yorkville U215's, or using midbass modules.

I really am not sure what size box I would need for the 2242's and don't have much woodworking skills or tools. Have assembled flatpacks before but not sure if there is a premade box that would work.

Thanks
Ray
If I wanted to up the midbass region with a JTR speaker.. I'd look into the Growlers. Very reasonable in price. Not so big like the OS. But major midbass offering.
oneeyeblind likes this.
rhed is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cape May, NJ (South Jersey)
Posts: 3,672
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Haha, probably because I post pictures too much!!
I just re read that post and the auto correct is killing me.
Reefdvr27 is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgeek View Post
Everything is relative..

the S8 would be forward sounding compared to many dome tweeters, but laid back compared to the 212s...

When I look at reviews and comments I like to look at people's relative views against different speakers. That way I can get a bigger or maybe even a more accurate picture of what everyone's saying...

To me those comments in the vein of 'speaker A will put a big smile on your face just like speaker B' or 'speaker A is just as good as speaker B' just doesn't add any knowledge base to me at all...

I also wanted to add that the S8s are phenomenal. Whenever I say, personally to me the S8 is night and day different from the 212s, they take it to mean I am putting down the S8,.. that's not how to read into what i am saying.. I am saying the S8 is phenomenal, but the 212s is just THAT much more better... (to me, that is, and one of the reason is the sound on the 212s is cleaner, tighter, more forward, and voices are so so smooth due to the lower crossover range which puts most of the vocal cord into a single point source).

In fact, I'll go on record to say that I have not heard a better surround speaker than the S8, and also the S8 will also sound a lot better than a lot of the hi-fi speakers i have auditioned...
Lot of guys here refer to "S8"....which "S8" are you referring to? The HT, LP or Slanted or are they essentially identical in performance? My plan is to purchase 4 "Slanted 8" real soon because I think they fit my room perfectly with the 30 degree angle but if one is better than the other.....well maybe I'll have to think about it more.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
Old 11-10-2014, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,186
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Lot of guys here refer to "S8"....which "S8" are you referring to? The HT, LP or Slanted or are they essentially identical in performance? My plan is to purchase 4 "Slanted 8" real soon because I think they fit my room perfectly with the 30 degree angle but if one is better than the other.....well maybe I'll have to think about it more.
Yes same performance. Just different shapes.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Lot of guys here refer to "S8"....which "S8" are you referring to? The HT, LP or Slanted or are they essentially identical in performance? My plan is to purchase 4 "Slanted 8" real soon because I think they fit my room perfectly with the 30 degree angle but if one is better than the other.....well maybe I'll have to think about it more.
All the same. I prefer LP due to size...and can be angled when needed with some cable. Surrounds should be within foot above ear level for 5 or less seats. If row is wider, 6+ seats, then slanted and up a bit higher.

---------------------------------------------------------------
gear: 3x JTR 212HT ~ 4x JTR 8LP ~ 2x JTR Orbit Shifter LFU ~ 11x Elemental Designs eD6c ~ Marantz SR7008 ~ Panasonic PT-AE8000U ~ Elite 176" 2.35 ATS
asoofi1 is online now  
Old 11-10-2014, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Thanks guys....that's what I was thinking as well. I have 6 seats and only 12' of width so my thinking is slanted 8, mounted higher...~7-8'ish would provide me with great coverage and involvement. My room is 10' high, so I think that would work out great.


If I had more width, I'd go with 4 228's for my surrounds. I think that would take my level of enjoyment up tremendously and it wouldn't be that much more expensive.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
Old 11-10-2014, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,550
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I wonder if it has something to do with needing to bypass any and all internal sound processing in the PC.

I remember years ago when I used winamp for my player I downloaded a plugin called ASIO that bypassed everything in windows which was supposed to give a better sound. The trade off was you could not adjust the volume with Winamp, but I didn't care since I just used the avr for volume.

The reason I say this is because when I was installing Dirac today I kept getting a message that said ASIO could not be found on my system or something to that affect.

I'm probably way off here but just a shot in the dark.

Lance, here is what I was talking about. This is the message I get every time I open up the Dirac Calibration Tool:

carp is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Carp, I never saw that message before. If the manual is not helping then get a note into the Dirac support team tonight and you should have an email by tomorrow since they are quite a few hours ahead (I think 7 or so).

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is online now  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,550
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrown105 View Post
Carp, I never saw that message before. If the manual is not helping then get a note into the Dirac support team tonight and you should have an email by tomorrow since they are quite a few hours ahead (I think 7 or so).
Thanks, I PM'd you back.
carp is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 4,448
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 1252
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Lance, here is what I was talking about. This is the message I get every time I open up the Dirac Calibration Tool:

Hey Carp,

Have you tried installing a Creative audio product on your system that supports ASIO?

popalock is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:31 PM
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
Yup, I had 2242's in 1.7 CF boxes as my mdbass modules for my 212's. Kicked ass!
Was this ported or sealed? Did you build the boxes or were they a flatpack?
raynist is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:32 PM
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post
If I wanted to up the midbass region with a JTR speaker.. I'd look into the Growlers. Very reasonable in price. Not so big like the OS. But major midbass offering.
Those would be awesome!

I think they would be too large though.
raynist is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:33 PM
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
There certainly is. I have two and while it would be a bear to ship them, I am not opposed to offering them up if you want em. If not, I could send you drivers that you could build your own box out for. The finished cabs are the 4645b's. I used them very briefly as MBM's and for two 18's they are downright impressive for sure. I have kinda been wanting to drag them back out and play around with them some more, but alas, just haven't had the time for all of that...
Where are you located? I think we may have talked about this before when I was considering this a while back.
raynist is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,550
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1191 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
Hey Carp,

Have you tried installing a Creative audio product on your system that supports ASIO?


carp is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Those would be awesome!

I think they would be too large though.
Yes.. Big.. But not as big as the OS. Besides, it's a horn sub. And that will certainly give a chest pounding, mid bass slam. It can be laid down on its side too. There's some videos on youtube on the Growlers. Lots of positives. Also some talks of them in the JTR forums pro side. Just trying to help out bro. And I'm sure Jeff always remembers a previous customer. Especially if buying more then one.. 😉
But bro, I imagine dual Growlers with your 4 Triaxes. Just plain sick man!!

Last edited by rhed; 11-10-2014 at 07:54 PM.
rhed is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,186
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Was this ported or sealed? Did you build the boxes or were they a flatpack?
Sealed and used as stands for my 212's :

A pic of the boxes, they are on top.


and them setup :

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,186
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 457
I also just found this pic lol. Just for scale, thats a 72" TV and those are studio 60's v2 along with my first giant ported subs I built.. lol I think this was about 5-6 years ago


Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 03:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Lance, here is what I was talking about. This is the message I get every time I open up the Dirac Calibration Tool:

Looks like it could be something funky with your Creative driver. You might try uninstalling the driver, and using the Microsoft driver.
rcohen is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 03:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
I created a couple different filters no problem. It's just that they're not applied to any audio passing through my computer. I've selected DiDirac as my default soundcard and nothing happens to the audio. I've selected every output in the Dirac processor but no go.
Just in case it helps, I was able to select my video card's HDMI output, which worked great. You might try updating your video driver.
rcohen is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 03:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrown105 View Post
That's the great part. Once you get the room measured adding different target curves is soooo fast. Then you can load up to four different target curves in the DIracc control box and instantly switch back and forth between them or Dirac off. Makes for great quick change comparisons.


Just make sure you run through the full measurement procedure a couple of times and save the projects separately. I go better impulse response improvements with a larger volume of measurement space (nine is the total number). Side to side, forward and back slightly and up and down slightly too.


My two week trial is over and this sucks. I would purchase it today but my pre pro is supposed to be implemented with it in Dec so I need to wait. This sucks!!!


Good luck and let us know how it goes. Oh yeah, also depending on how much boost you may add with a given target curve (I think Dirac maxes at +10dB) you need to make sure the clip light isn't coming on during music playback. It is an input clip indicator so MV does not factor in but filter boosting does. In default (-8dB) I have never seen the clip light come on though.
That's sort of what happened to me. I tried the trial 6 months ago. I was debating whether to wait for the XMC-1, which was due out any day, but I couldn't live without Dirac when the trial ran out. A little different when you already have the XMC-1, though.
rcohen is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,848
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen View Post
Just in case it helps, I was able to select my video card's HDMI output, which worked great. You might try updating your video driver.
Yea, I might try the update thing. But to be honest, I think I'm just going to uninstall and forget about anything windows coming anywhere near my HT unless it is absolutely bulletproof. This is the reason that firmware is best for HT, not software. But that's my own personal take, YMMV.
Gooddoc is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 03:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Yea, I might try the update thing. But to be honest, I think I'm just going to uninstall and forget about anything windows coming anywhere near my HT unless it is absolutely bulletproof. This is the reason that firmware is best for HT, not software. But that's my own personal take, YMMV.
If you're annoyed by fighting PC flakiness and quirks, you'll probably be annoyed by Dirac Live. Their driver does cause some issues from time to time. I'd rather have it in a pre-pro, but I'm waiting for a reasonably priced one with Atmos. The Dirac Live trial might still be worth experimenting with to get a taste of what Dirac can do.

JRiver is the main thing that keeps me tied to a PC. No going back for me.

BTW, when using a PC for audio out, make sure to set all the speakers to large/full range on all audio outputs, in order to disable Windows bass management, which defaults on.
rcohen is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,161
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Lot of guys here refer to "S8"....which "S8" are you referring to? The HT, LP or Slanted or are they essentially identical in performance? My plan is to purchase 4 "Slanted 8" real soon because I think they fit my room perfectly with the 30 degree angle but if one is better than the other.....well maybe I'll have to think about it more.
Nabs, I guess they are basically the same. I asked Jeff this before I made my purchase and he basically said that.

As surrounds, these are little gems.
coolgeek is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen
BTW, when using a PC for audio out, make sure to set all the speakers to large/full range on all audio outputs, in order to disable Windows bass management, which defaults on.
That only applies when using a Direct Sound audio driver. When using a hardware direct method like ASIO or WASAPI, the settings in the Control Panel are completely bypassed. I can't remember the last time I saw anyone using Direct Sound.
desertdome is online now  
Old 11-11-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,848
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen View Post
If you're annoyed by fighting PC flakiness and quirks, you'll probably be annoyed by Dirac Live. Their driver does cause some issues from time to time. I'd rather have it in a pre-pro, but I'm waiting for a reasonably priced one with Atmos. The Dirac Live trial might still be worth experimenting with to get a taste of what Dirac can do.

JRiver is the main thing that keeps me tied to a PC. No going back for me.

BTW, when using a PC for audio out, make sure to set all the speakers to large/full range on all audio outputs, in order to disable Windows bass management, which defaults on.
Just curious, what is it you use JRiver for?
Gooddoc is offline  
Old 11-11-2014, 09:44 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Good...DD and rochen are present. Any comments or experience comparing Dirac Live to Audiolense? I was at one point thinking of setting up Jriver with Aidiolense but may upgrade my NanoAVR to the Dirac version.
dgage is online now  
Old 11-11-2014, 10:39 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,133
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1615 Post(s)
Liked: 1308
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
Where are you located? I think we may have talked about this before when I was considering this a while back.
I am in western NC.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is online now  
Old 11-11-2014, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,916
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I finally got around to watching a 3D movie on this BenQ W7000. I can see why guys who are serious videophiles stack PJ's and use this one for 3D viewing. Simply amazing. Grabbed Life of Pi in 3D. If the black levels were better I could not ask for more for me personally from a picture. With the Oppo Darbee it puts out a great picture. But I can't complain for the deal I got Since calibrating I watched that movie on -8 to -10 MV. The JTR's just cruise the soundtrack like it's a pro in a HS football game. With ease! I just love distortion free life!

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is online now  
Old 11-11-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,916
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I havn't been following like I used to so I have missed much of the Dirac mini dsp discussion. Do any of you think I could make some good improvements with getting one of these units? I currently run just an Open DRC for my two Submersives in partnership with XT32. I know several of you have gone away from Audyssey with your personal opinions but I like what it does in partnership with my mini dsp. I am just wondering if the surround sound "team effort" and overall SQ would really be that much better. I mean for what I have I think I have it dialed in pretty dang good. I am running the bass trims where XT 32 sets them and just go to PGM 2 on the Submersives (+3db bump from like 45hz on down) and a mild low shelf filter via mini dsp. I think with a 4-5db gain. I have thought about turning the low shelf down to 3db gain. EOT beginning was just plain stupid. I seriously couldn't go past -40 MV!!! Not sure why so hot? So I have thought about leaving shelf filter off and just giving a 3db sub trim bump.

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is online now  
 

Tags
215RT , 228ht , captivator , Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp
Gear in this thread - 215RT by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off