Official JTR speaker thread - Page 901 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #27001 of 27360 Old 01-02-2015, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbeck View Post
Boo!
Sorry dlbeck. I'd say good game but your boys just didn't really show up. I heard about a quarterback controversy during the broadcast but it looked pretty cut and dry to me and looks like you've got a good quarterback for next year if they can keep him from transferring.
dgage is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27002 of 27360 Old 01-02-2015, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Not a big Hawkeye fan but gotta cheer for the home state. And WTF was that punt returner thinking???

Good game Tennessee!
dlbeck is online now  
post #27003 of 27360 Old 01-02-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 86
My father played for the Hawkeyes in the mid-50's, so I was the lone Iowa fan in a house of about 15 Vols fans this evening...

I must say, the Vols looked good and should be tough next year.
COACH2369 is offline  
post #27004 of 27360 Old 01-04-2015, 12:25 PM
Member
 
CarsandCigars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa,AZ
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Kinda scared this thread has gone without posts for over a day. Causing me to have a lack of reading material while I watch football.
newc33 likes this.
CarsandCigars is offline  
post #27005 of 27360 Old 01-04-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,959
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarsandCigars View Post
Kinda scared this thread has gone without posts for over a day. Causing me to have a lack of reading material while I watch football.
Haha, must be a thread record for amount of time with no posts.
CarsandCigars and newc33 like this.
carp is online now  
post #27006 of 27360 Old 01-04-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newc33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: lasalle-peru illinois
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 94
i thinking the same thing lol
CarsandCigars likes this.

Yamaha rxv373
JTR noesis 228s LCR
Ascend acoustics cbm 340se rear ss.
Rythmik lv12r
Dual rythmik fv15hps
Verticle Marty/UXL 18 powered with inuke 6kw DSP (and another Marty in the making)
newc33 is online now  
post #27007 of 27360 Old 01-05-2015, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Anyone with a JTR sub tell me how long the power cord is? I assume they are all the same length regardless of model. Going to install some 20 amp outlets and want to make sure I plan correctly.


Thanks,

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27008 of 27360 Old 01-05-2015, 09:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Anyone with a JTR sub tell me how long the power cord is? I assume they are all the same length regardless of model. Going to install some 20 amp outlets and want to make sure I plan correctly.


Thanks,
It's less than or equal to 5 feet.

---------------------------------------------------------------
gear: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is online now  
post #27009 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
It's less than or equal to 5 feet.
And the cord/connector is super thick, so plan to lose at least a foot if the connection points left and the plug is in the right...
Quill is offline  
post #27010 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Rod2486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For all you jtr subwoofer owners/or submersive owners. Does the balanced minidsp put out enough voltage to power the speakerpower amps? Speakerpower could not tell me the voltage requirements to run the amp to its full capabilities.

I am sure alot of you have a minidsp in your chain. Just seeing how the minidsp has worked out for others with speakerpower amps. S2 owner here
Rod2486 is offline  
post #27011 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,260
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod2486 View Post
For all you jtr subwoofer owners/or submersive owners. Does the balanced minidsp put out enough voltage to power the speakerpower amps? Speakerpower could not tell me the voltage requirements to run the amp to its full capabilities.

I am sure alot of you have a minidsp in your chain. Just seeing how the minidsp has worked out for others with speakerpower amps. S2 owner here
I have been using a balance minidsp on my s2 for over a year now and it works perfectly. You will be fine.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #27012 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
It's less than or equal to 5 feet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quill View Post
And the cord/connector is super thick, so plan to lose at least a foot if the connection points left and the plug is in the right...
Guys...thanks for the information. Was hoping it would be longer but glad I asked before I arbitrarily place the outlets.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27013 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Rod2486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Anyone with a JTR sub tell me how long the power cord is? I assume they are all the same length regardless of model. Going to install some 20 amp outlets and want to make sure I plan correctly.


Thanks,
they are 6 ft. Jeff confirmed that when I was purchasing
Rod2486 is offline  
post #27014 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod2486 View Post
they are 6 ft. Jeff confirmed that when I was purchasing
What did you purchase?

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27015 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lbrown105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod2486 View Post
For all you jtr subwoofer owners/or submersive owners. Does the balanced minidsp put out enough voltage to power the speakerpower amps? Speakerpower could not tell me the voltage requirements to run the amp to its full capabilities.

I am sure alot of you have a minidsp in your chain. Just seeing how the minidsp has worked out for others with speakerpower amps. S2 owner here
I have the balanced 2x4 minidsp and yes it has the voltage output to take the SP4000 to clip.

Pre-Pro: Emotiva XMC-1, DSP: Mini DSP 2x4 balanced
Amplifier: Sunfire TGA7400, Lab Gruppen FP10000Q
Speakers: JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR), JTR Slant 8's (surrounds), 3 Orbit Shifter LFU's
Sources: PS3, HTPC, Dish Network
Projector: Epson 8350
Screen: Seymour XD AT 138" diagonal 16:9
lbrown105 is offline  
post #27016 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
uopdrmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 95762
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've got a trio of AE TD-18's which are supposed to be shipped out in the next few weeks and I've been thinking I'll use minidsp's to get them integrated. I'm just not sure at this point if I should get two 2x4's and just create a full range speaker with active crossover, or get an 8x8 so I can do the same thing but also add in the LFE to the td-18s for a few extra sources. I've got 4 sealed UXL's currently and 2 more I need to build boxes for. Any suggestions?

FS: Three JTR 212HT's (ported version). http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...r-212ht-s.html
FS: JTR S2. Sold
FS: NHT ClassicTwo LCR http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...-twoc-lcr.html
uopdrmark is online now  
post #27017 of 27360 Old 01-06-2015, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Rod2486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
What did you purchase?
Cap S2's. I haven't measured but they look 6 ft to me
Rod2486 is offline  
post #27018 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 12:52 AM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Guys...thanks for the information. Was hoping it would be longer but glad I asked before I arbitrarily place the outlets.
The OS uses a Powercon connector at the amp end. I have a new 15 footer laying around if you need it.

HToM

"Who are you, who are so wise in the ways of science?"
RMK! is online now  
post #27019 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,260
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod2486 View Post
Cap S2's. I haven't measured but they look 6 ft to me

That is plural so you got two of them? or more?
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #27020 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SoJer (South Jersey)
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 945 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Every year I say I am going to CES and every year it comes and goes and I never go! I still say they should put that show on the road and put it in Manhattan for a week.
Reefdvr27 is offline  
post #27021 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMK! View Post
The OS uses a Powercon connector at the amp end. I have a new 15 footer laying around if you need it.
Rob, thanks for that offer...unfortunately the OS is too big for my room....it was my first choice. I'm now thinking of a couple of S1's up front (the 215's take up too much space to even accommodate S2's). So do all the JTR sub's use the Powercon connector?

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27022 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Rod2486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
That is plural so you got two of them? or more?
I purchased dual S2's. They were everything people make them up to be I must say. They are just effortless compared to my previous VTF15. At reference the 15H had a tendency to distort, while these it looks like they are just gliding along. It honestly looks like I am not even pushing them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Rob, thanks for that offer...unfortunately the OS is too big for my room....it was my first choice. I'm now thinking of a couple of S1's up front (the 215's take up too much space to even accommodate S2's). So do all the JTR sub's use the Powercon connector?
Yes all JTR subs use the powercon connector. The powercon connector only plugs into the amp so no worries. I actually love that it has that type of connector on the amp. No kids are gonna come around and unplug it thats for sure haha. Wall plug is standard 3 prong. I just had two dedicated 20a breakers installed for each sub just the other night. Played the same material at higher volumes than when I tripped the breaker and all is well. Jeff said if you trip your breaker on two dedicated lines you are listening either louder than a house should be able to handle or lengthy sine waves.
Rod2486 is offline  
post #27023 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
countryWV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington West Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Rob, thanks for that offer...unfortunately the OS is too big for my room....it was my first choice. I'm now thinking of a couple of S1's up front (the 215's take up too much space to even accommodate S2's). So do all the JTR sub's use the Powercon connector?
Ask Jeff if he can offer a Master / Slave option with the S1. Single units use the SP1-2400 wpc amp while the S2 has the SP1-4000 wpc. He may be able to run 2 x S1 off one SP1-4000 wpc amp.

Chris


FS: 3 x 2012 JTR Triple 12 Excellent condition
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...iple-12-a.html

Last edited by countryWV; 01-07-2015 at 09:22 AM.
countryWV is offline  
post #27024 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by countryWV View Post
Ask Jeff if he can offer a Master / Slave option with the S1. Single units use the SP1-2400 wpc amp while the S2 has the SP1-4000 wpc. He may able to run 2 x S1 off one SP1-4000 wpc amp.
Interesting idea...didn't know Jeff had that option. I was considering 2 independent S1's up front...then later adding 1 or 2 more in the back of the room....or maybe 2 S1's up front and an S2 in the back.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27025 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
countryWV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntington West Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Interesting idea...didn't know Jeff had that option. I was considering 2 independent S1's up front...then later adding 1 or 2 more in the back of the room....or maybe 2 S1's up front and an S2 in the back.
It would seem like he could but have not read where its an available option yet. If he does it should save about 1k per pair.

Chris


FS: 3 x 2012 JTR Triple 12 Excellent condition
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...iple-12-a.html
countryWV is offline  
post #27026 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Daveys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Is it possible to get the 215 RT with a built in amplifier?

LG 60PM6700 - Klipsch THX Ultra2 - Onkyo TX-NR5010 - Mogami W3103 LS - Monster M1000 SW en HD - PS3 Slim 250GB
Daveys is offline  
post #27027 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 7,097
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveys View Post
Is it possible to get the 215 RT with a built in amplifier?
I'm sure anything is possible for the right amount of money
Jeff uses SpeakerPower amps, the same brand of amps that Seaton uses in his powered Cat12 speakers. So Jeff is able to buy the same amps also.


That's actually a very interesting idea when you think about it, you could get optimal amp power to power the 215RT's to their full potential right from JTR. That would be a hell of an option when you consider how many guys have bought amps specifically to power the 215RT's that they bought to get the most out of them.
Daveys likes this.
jbrown15 is online now  
post #27028 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
I'm sure anything is possible for the right amount of money
Jeff uses SpeakerPower amps, the same brand of amps that Seaton uses in his powered Cat12 speakers. So Jeff is able to buy the same amps also.


That's actually a very interesting idea when you think about it, you could get optimal amp power to power the 215RT's to their full potential right from JTR. That would be a hell of an option when you consider how many guys have bought amps specifically to power the 215RT's that they bought to get the most out of them.
Anything is possible but as a lot of folks probably know, Mark (Seaton) and Jeff (JTR) are previous co-workers and friends. I thought I had read, or at least under the assumption, that they try not to play in each others space too much. Seaton does the powered speakers "thang" with DSP applied and Jeff plays in the standalone speaker market.
beastaudio likes this.
Frohlich is online now  
post #27029 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Daveys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
I'm sure anything is possible for the right amount of money
Jeff uses SpeakerPower amps, the same brand of amps that Seaton uses in his powered Cat12 speakers. So Jeff is able to buy the same amps also.
When the price will be incredible it would be a shame.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
That's actually a very interesting idea when you think about it, you could get optimal amp power to power the 215RT's to their full potential right from JTR. That would be a hell of an option when you consider how many guys have bought amps specifically to power the 215RT's that they bought to get the most out of them.
That's exactly what I was thinking

LG 60PM6700 - Klipsch THX Ultra2 - Onkyo TX-NR5010 - Mogami W3103 LS - Monster M1000 SW en HD - PS3 Slim 250GB
Daveys is offline  
post #27030 of 27360 Old 01-07-2015, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 7,097
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Interesting idea...didn't know Jeff had that option. I was considering 2 independent S1's up front...then later adding 1 or 2 more in the back of the room....or maybe 2 S1's up front and an S2 in the back.
Here's an option for you too.
http://reaction-audio.myshopify.com/products/ps-18x
Nabs17 likes this.
jbrown15 is online now  
Reply Speakers

Tags
215RT , 228ht , captivator , Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp
Gear in this thread - 215RT by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off