Official JTR speaker thread - Page 914 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #27391 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
I went to HD last night to find a slotted bracket to mount my surrounds...no luck to find the right size, so I just picked up a flat aluminum bar to make my own.

I got tired of looking for speaker mounts that were versatile and strong...anything close was $40 each...so I ordered some fully adjustable tv mounts rated for smaller tv's. It's kind of ridiculous that speaker mounts cost more than tv mounts, especially since the tv mounts have more material, more flexible, and built like tanks. The one I got cost only $12 and change...Cheetah mount rated for 30lb on Amazon...and each even came with a 10' hdmi, velcro straps, and mini flashlight. Got 4 mounts. Yay me.

So I'm using the aluminum bar to drill exact locations for s8 mounting brackets...which will then be attached to the tv mount bracket...so no need to tarnish the s8 with drill holes...hopefully this works...
I did the same thing for one of my S8's because I needed to mount it where the opening is into my room. But I didn't built it from scratch, I purchased a ceiling mount for a TV:


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


I'll put a picture out here soon.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27392 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 376
And I put screws from the inside through the back of my S8s when I mounted them to my ceiling.
dgage is online now  
post #27393 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
I did the same thing for one of my S8's because I needed to mount it where the opening is into my room. But I didn't built it from scratch, I purchased a ceiling mount for a TV:


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


I'll put a picture out here soon.
Here are a couple of pics of my S8 mounting using a TV mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	S8 Mount.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	220.8 KB
ID:	508713   Click image for larger version

Name:	S8 Mount 2.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	190.3 KB
ID:	508721  

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27394 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
I'm not sure if I gave you this advice but I've said it several times before...your wallet would be safest if you removed the AVSForum URL from your browser...FOREVER.
Thats the truth right there!!!! I don't have the fortitude or will power but it would have saved me a pretty penny over the years. To put it in game show terms: "Alex, I will take things I never knew I wanted or needed for $500 please."
Nabs17 likes this.

Last edited by Frohlich; Yesterday at 04:34 PM.
Frohlich is online now  
post #27395 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
ironhead1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
I think that's my issue in regards to not having the same testimony to midbass...my lack of power for 212HT's...since I power just from my sr7008. We're going to have a DSonic 3 channel at the gtg this weekend...I can't wait to hear what I've been missing.
If everything works out and there's time, you could blind test the two with the switchbox.
asoofi1 likes this.
ironhead1230 is offline  
post #27396 of 27412 Old Yesterday, 04:32 PM
Señor Member
 
RMK!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 95608
Posts: 6,187
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabs17 View Post
Rob, I'll be very interested in pics of your 7.2.4 setup...specifically the .4 portion because I've often wondered how the Atmos speakers should be placed for multiple rows. I've read through all the set-up pages but they never address multiple rows.....that I have seen.


So I'm looking to learn from your experience here.
Yeah, there is no real multi-row solution for HT other than more speakers and I'm limited to 11 by the processor. I'm going to be optimizing Atmos (or whatever 3D format) for the primary LP (center front row) with the 7.1.4. I'm thinking that will be fine (if not ideal) for the back row as well. There will be very few if any critical listeners sitting in the back row in my front row priority HT. I will post pics and comments on Atmos here.

HToM

"Who are you, who are so wise in the ways of science?"
RMK! is online now  
post #27397 of 27412 Old Today, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,969
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
I am the opposite. I love the minidsp the most followed by the inuke. They are both great though and both very easy to use.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
I'm the exact same, after using the miniDSP I was cursing the iNuke DSP. I hated trying to fart around trying to setup a 15hz HPF doing the whole work around. With the miniDSP you just simply set it up and away you go.
I like the mini because it stays connected to the system while with the inuke I have to close the program on my laptop and re-open it if I want to make changes. However I find the inuke is much easier to tweak the house curve for the 215's on the fly than the mini and the dynamic EQ function is great too.
carp is online now  
post #27398 of 27412 Old Today, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 129
For wall mounting, this sort of bracket is nice and clean:
http://www.parts-express.com/hangman...2-pcs--182-168
RMK! likes this.
rcohen is online now  
post #27399 of 27412 Old Today, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 7,102
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1597 Post(s)
Liked: 1319
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I like the mini because it stays connected to the system while with the inuke I have to close the program on my laptop and re-open it if I want to make changes. However I find the inuke is much easier to tweak the house curve for the 215's on the fly than the mini and the dynamic EQ function is great too.
The thing that I really liked about the miniDSP was when trying to EQ my subs. I could run a room sweep with REW see the graph, then step into the miniDSP and make a few tweaks and the run the sweep again and see exactly what that tweak did to the response. And we're talking fast, like seconds after making the tweak. All while sitting in one of my chairs while on my laptop.
jbrown15 is online now  
post #27400 of 27412 Old Today, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,969
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
The thing that I really liked about the miniDSP was when trying to EQ my subs. I could run a room sweep with REW see the graph, then step into the miniDSP and make a few tweaks and the run the sweep again and see exactly what that tweak did to the response. And we're talking fast, like seconds after making the tweak. All while sitting in one of my chairs while on my laptop.

Sounds like we are basically doing the same thing. I just keep the sweeps running continuously and watch the changes in real time. You can click on "average" on the omnimic and hold a curve and then make changes with EQ and watch how the curve changes immediately. This works for both the inuke dsp and the minidsp.

My wife loves the sound of the sweeps.
carp is online now  
post #27401 of 27412 Old Today, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,969
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 689
I guess the only difference is I'm watching the changes on the omnimic software and you are watching the changes on the REW software?
carp is online now  
post #27402 of 27412 Old Today, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen View Post
For wall mounting, this sort of bracket is nice and clean:
http://www.parts-express.com/hangman...2-pcs--182-168
Def great brackets if you want to be flush with wall...I've used these kind with all the mirrors in our house. I used the tv mount just so I can angle and adjust the wides & surround backs. For my flush, I just used mounting screws on the wall which is a slight pain to do with the four s8 hooks you have to find and catch on... I'd def go with these brackets if I were to do it again, but with a workaround where drilling into the s8 isn't necessary to place one of the brackets...just was on a time crunch to get it done before this weekend.

---------------------------------------------------------------
gear: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is online now  
post #27403 of 27412 Old Today, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nabs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen View Post
For wall mounting, this sort of bracket is nice and clean:
http://www.parts-express.com/hangman...2-pcs--182-168
Agree....am using this for one of my S8's and will use more when I hang my Volt-6's.

Nabs17
Nabs17 is online now  
post #27404 of 27412 Old Today, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post
The thing that I really liked about the miniDSP was when trying to EQ my subs. I could run a room sweep with REW see the graph, then step into the miniDSP and make a few tweaks and the run the sweep again and see exactly what that tweak did to the response. And we're talking fast, like seconds after making the tweak. All while sitting in one of my chairs while on my laptop.
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
Sounds like we are basically doing the same thing. I just keep the sweeps running continuously and watch the changes in real time. You can click on "average" on the omnimic and hold a curve and then make changes with EQ and watch how the curve changes immediately. This works for both the inuke dsp and the minidsp.

My wife loves the sound of the sweeps.
Using the RTA feature of REW is similar to the continuous sweeps with the OmniMic. The RTA is easier to use when making on-the-fly adjustments than REW sweeps, IMO.

Why do you guys do on-fly-adjustment? Both REW and Omnimic will automatically EQ to your target and export the biquads to the miniDSP. It seems that this provides a more accurate frequency response with better phase control than manual adjustment. Have you tried this and just don't like it?
desertdome is online now  
post #27405 of 27412 Old Today, 02:23 PM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,436
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1133 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
how do you do that with omnimic? I didn't know it has this capability....

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #27406 of 27412 Old Today, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcohen View Post
For wall mounting, this sort of bracket is nice and clean:
http://www.parts-express.com/hangman...2-pcs--182-168
These are at Menards/Home Depot/Lowes if someone needs a local place. I purchased mine at Menards on Tuesday for use with my Volt-6's. Menards actually carries the same speaker two-pack. Home Depot/Lowes may carry only the picture ones. They look the same although packaged individually.
desertdome is online now  
post #27407 of 27412 Old Today, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,985
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
how do you do that with omnimic? I didn't know it has this capability....
Read the manual.

Here are a few pages to get you started.





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Omnimic1.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	187.0 KB
ID:	510641   Click image for larger version

Name:	Omnimic2.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	213.3 KB
ID:	510649   Click image for larger version

Name:	Omnimic3.PNG
Views:	57
Size:	261.7 KB
ID:	510657  
desertdome is online now  
post #27408 of 27412 Old Today, 02:44 PM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,436
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1133 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
very cool. Didn't even know about this

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #27409 of 27412 Unread Today, 05:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogues View Post
Just wondering what you guys think about using the Klipsch CDT-5650-C II as atmos speakers with the 228's and slant 8's. Thanks!
Sorry to be a pain, but just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on these with slant 8's. Thanks!

hogues is online now  
post #27410 of 27412 Unread Today, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogues View Post
Sorry to be a pain, but just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on these with slant 8's. Thanks!
I say try them or any others spekers you're considering...as you may know, speakers have a habit of sounding different in every room for everyone.

What atmos config are you going for? 5.1.4 or 7.1.4?

---------------------------------------------------------------
gear: LCR JTR 212HT~Surr. Four JTR 8LP~Hi/Wi Four Elemental Designs Cinema 6 eD6c~Subs Two JTR Orbit Shifter LFU~AV Marantz SR7008
asoofi1 is online now  
post #27411 of 27412 Unread Today, 06:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by asoofi1 View Post
I say try them or any others spekers you're considering...as you may know, speakers have a habit of sounding different in every room for everyone.

What atmos config are you going for? 5.1.4 or 7.1.4?
5.1.4. I guess my thought in aimable speakers is that I can aim them or not, deciding what sounds better. They have compression drivers, so I was hoping that they would go well with the slant 8's, but I admit that I don't know much about it. Unfortunately, my configuration doesn't conform to the dolby suggested layout in that my surrounds are in front of the second row of atmos speakers.

Thanks for the reply, asoofi.

hogues is online now  
post #27412 of 27412 Unread Today, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,969
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Omnimic V4? I think I have V2. I'll see if I can get an update.
carp is online now  
Reply Speakers

Tags
215RT , 228ht , captivator , Jtr , Jtr Noesis 212ht 212ht Lp
Gear in this thread - 215RT by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off