Forum Jump: 

Old 11-25-2009, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
dfn

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

First post here, and I am a newbie at this stuff, so bear with me...

My current setup is just sennheiser 555hd headphones plugged into onboard sound on my mobo. I plan on buying the Forte sound card and want a 5.1 speaker setup that I can use with computer and xb360. Hopefully the forte is a good choice for my headset and whatever speakers I decide to get.

What I will use the system for, in order of preference and frequency:
1) gaming
2) music
3) movies

My budget is $500 (CDN).

And now, my many questions...

Should I be looking to "mix and match" 5 speakers and a sub? Or should I buy one package that has it all?

If I go passive, then my assumption is I need a receiver since the speakers won't be powered? If I go active, then I don't need receiver, correct?

If I buy something like Audioengine A2 speakers, then I'd need the rest of the system to be active/powered as well, and I'd need some way of switching between computer/xb360?

My assumption is that it would be better, for me, to buy passive speakers with a receiver so that I can switch between comp and xb360 easily, and potentially hook up other stuff to the receiver in the future. Is this correct?

Do I need to worry about magnetic shielding with the speakers? If I have center + front speakers close to monitor?

I would appreciate any advice you have, and suggestions/recommendations on what speakers/sub and maybe receiver to buy, for my purposes described above.

Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-26-2009, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
dfn

bump

can anyone help me out?
Old 11-26-2009, 11:11 AM

Liked: 11
So, my thoughts:

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by mix and match speakers sub. I wouldn't mix speakers, but the sub can be a different brand.