Modernizing my vintage Infinity speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 05-16-2010, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I am just beginning to check out surround systems. I am more into music than movies but plan on watching more movies and less TV in the future. I currently have what I believe are RS4 Bs (2 8" woofers, mid and tweet). I get lovely base at low volumes on these speakers paired with B&O 4000. I will be keeping these speakers initially but want get a start on a system that will come close to this sound. I do not want to spend $10,000 for the entire system. I am thinking 5.1 in the living room and will be looking at receivers that are dual so I can eventually add some good sound in the kitchen/dining area.

Yesterday I listened to some Paradigm speakers. I am guessing they are studio. I was recommended the Monitor series for a center. That total system seems more my price range. What I heard was lacking the deep base I am used to. Perhaps this is just the way surround is supposed to be. It sounded brighter than what I am used to. That may also be the norm for today, though I have seen some recommendations here for some warmer speakers. I am not sure that is the correct term for the difference in the sound. It also seems that the local dealers only have the higher end models for listening. So I will not have the luxury of hearing the entry level speakers from some of these companies. I do also feel that I want at least a 2.5 way and would prefer a 3 way speaker for eventual replacement of the Infinities.

So, will listening to the higher end models give me a good idea of the sound from the more entry level systems?

Anyone here who has heard the sound on the older Infinities have an idea of which might get me a closer sound? My look at the current Infinity models indicates that they have changed since 1986.