Speakers+sub for around $1k (Canadian) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 17 Old 08-13-2010, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a noob here looking for advice...(yes, another one of them)

I've got an Onkyo TX-SR608 receiver, and a sharp aquos 60in lcd. Having moved into my own place, I thought maybe I can finally grab a decent set of speakers to go with my receiver.
The set would be for my basement. The theater area is about 19' x 13', but has walls on only 2 sides. A 5.1 setup would be ideal, but I wouldn't hesitate to go 7.1 if the difference is worth it. And since the room is fairly large, a satellite/bookshelf system is out of the question.
I was under the impression that it was Bose or nothing for speakers, but that changed when I heard a Klipsch set absolutely crush the lifestyle v20 set (both were out of my price range, though).
So basically, I just want a set of nice sounding speakers (+ a sub) for around CAN$1000. I also like to see and hear before I buy, so I'm hesitant to buy online.
Any recommendations, guys/girls of AVS Forum?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 08-13-2010, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
1pr PSB Alpha B1
1pr PSB Alpha LR
1ea PSB Alpha C1
1ea PSB SubSeries 5i

Above sells in the US for a little over $1K. It's a Canadian company, so it may go for less up there.
post #3 of 17 Old 08-13-2010, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post

1pr PSB Alpha B1
1pr PSB Alpha LR
1ea PSB Alpha C1
1ea PSB SubSeries 5i

Above sells in the US for a little over $1K. It's a Canadian company, so it may go for less up there.