How to test speakers at the minimum to find out if they are defective? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 09-11-2010, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A newbie here. I bought some Energy RC-LCR and RC-R speakers (still in sealed boxes) and because the return date is just around the corner, I would like to test them. I haven't had time to open them up until this weekend.

I have the following:
  • a 7.2 A/V receiver
  • a 100 ft 12AWG speaker cable (note just one)
  • speakers to test
  • HDMI cable
  • laptop with HDMI output
  • no HDTV
What would kind of testing should I do at the minimum to find out if the speakers are in good condition? I am not able to set them up as a 5.1 system at home just yet as I currently rent a small apartment unit but will be moving out in a few months time. Because I was advised not to cut up the 12AWG wires, I plan to rotate and check all of the A/V receiver's speaker in connections. What kind of music should I be playing at home and how loud should it be? I understand that the speakers I bought has a break-in period of about 100 hours but that I cannot do right now and so am wary of cranking the volume too high.

I'm sure I will have to do a physical inspection of speakers' exterior for any damage. Should I be gently shaking the speakers to check if anything inside is loose?

Thank you for all your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-11-2010, 06:53 AM

Speakers either work or they don't--damage will be easily heard. Just hook them up and play them--make sure each woofer/tweeter has sound coming from them and you're done. Speaker break-in isn't like a car engine break-in--you can turn them up as loud as you want from day 1.
post #3 of 8 Old 09-11-2010, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by badassfajita View Post