Bookshelf speaker + receiver under $500 for 100% music. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 11-23-2010, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings Gurus,

This is my first time setting up a system though had an out-of-box 5.1 for a while.

I'm in market to get a pair of good bookshelf speakers and receiver which would be essentially used for music. Currently am not in for a sub so a speaker with some bass would be preferable.

The receiver that I'm trying to pick is Pioneer VSX-820-K, chiefly because, I'm getting them for ~$180. I've read mixed reviews about this but with the budget I've I couldn't find a better one without compromising on the speakers.

The type of music I usually hear is...
Classic Rock (Pink Floyd/Led Zep/Eagles), Alternative Rock (Pearl Jam/Nirvana), Country(John Denver/Tim McGraw), Pop (Coldplay/Oasis), New Age (Enigma)

I went to Best Buy n Fry's to hear the usual suspects out... Polk (Tsi 100), Klipsch (VB-15), Bose (301/201), KEF, Infinity... and found that I liked the way Polk and Klipsch sounded compared to others. Bose being reflective speakers, am not sure whether their performance were hampered being set in the open.

Personally, I liked the lows and the mids in the Polk while the Klipsch were good in their highs... though I found Klipsch to be a bit 'metallic'... and hence was wondering whether that was a bad piece as theres lotta love out their for them Klipschs.

Hence, I narrowed it down to the following Polks and am curious whether I missed some other great brands for not been exposed to them.
Polk Tsi 200
Polk Monitor 40 Series II
Polk RTi A1

These would be placed in my living room which is around 13'x21'.

I would be grateful for any suggestions or pointers regarding the speakers/receivers I should look out for.

Thanks in advance... =)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 11-23-2010, 09:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)