The Official Procella Audio Speakers Owners thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 238 Old 01-02-2014, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

Holy crap that's AWESOME!!!

Tell me....are there three P15s to go with those P8s hidden from view? Are the P10si subs intended for balancing subs?

Yup.. The P10Si's are for balancing.... I was never able to find truly compelling (convincing) info on the advantages of full range speakers for strictly movies, and their seemed to be valid points for both sides so I had a tough time deciding on the P815's and opted for the P8's and (2) P18's instead. Trying to achieve the same visceral impact as I got from the 4 x 18 IB in the last theater was a priority for me.

However, I will construct my baffle to allow for the addition later.

I am very interested in hearing others opinions for using a full range speaker in this scenerio..

Brad


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 238 Old 01-02-2014, 08:24 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNKKNK View Post

Yup.. The P10Si's are for balancing.... I was never able to find truly compelling (convincing) info on the advantages of full range speakers for strictly movies, and their seemed to be valid points for both sides so I had a tough time deciding on the P815's and opted for the P8's and (2) P18's instead. Trying to achieve the same visceral impact as I got from the 4 x 18 IB in the last theater was a priority for me.

However, I will construct my baffle to allow for the addition later.

I am very interested in hearing others opinions for using a full range speaker in this scenerio..

Brad

The P8 is -3db at 80Hz, achieving THX certification on its own with this performance. Perhaps not extremely compelling, but from what I've seen and the calibrators I've spoken with, there is an advantage to setting the LCR crossovers with the LFE lower....in the 50Hz to 60Hz range. And the three 15" subs for the LCR certainly would help to pressurize the room for that visceral impact you seek.

But I have to say, I had the privilege of experience KBlaw2010's Erskine designed Procella room and can verify first-hand that those dual P18s are simply incredible. Unbelievably powerful but with full tonality and control. I have never heard bass reproduction that good in any system .... never.

You may not miss the three 15" subs,but I am willing to bet that allowing space for the 15" subs will be burning a hole in your upgrade pocket!! biggrin.gif

I ended up getting three P610s for the front, six P6 for dual sides and surround speakers, two P10si balancing subs.....and ran out of $$$ to purchase the subs biggrin.gif, so I'll have to DIY the LFE for my system.

One last question....are you pre-wiring for any 3D audio codec, such as Auro 3D or Dolby Atmos?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #213 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

You may not miss the three 15" subs,but I am willing to bet that allowing space for the 15" subs will be burning a hole in your upgrade pocket!! biggrin.gif

I ended up getting three P610s for the front, six P6 for dual sides and surround speakers, two P10si balancing subs.....and ran out of $$$ to purchase the subs biggrin.gif, so I'll have to DIY the LFE for my system.
The 18's were a "Splurge", and believe me, upgradeitis for the 815's started when I placed the order for the others. they might still make the starters list for the grand opening (2016 at my current pace of progress) cool.gif
Quote:
One last question....are you pre-wiring for any 3D audio codec, such as Auro 3D or Dolby Atmos?
I ran for front high, front wides and VOG in addition to the 7.1 with dual sides.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #214 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 06:57 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNKKNK View Post

I ran for front high, front wides and VOG in addition to the 7.1 with dual sides.

Auro uses rear heights in addition to the front heights, fyi, so something to consider for the prewire.

A single VOG or a stereo array like Atmos presents? And are you doing one VOG speaker/stereo array per row of seating? I ask because I am about to finish wiring my own theater and have to make some decisions on any further prewire. I'd like to have your input.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #215 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

Auro uses rear heights in addition to the front heights, fyi, so something to consider for the prewire.

A single VOG or a stereo array like Atmos presents? And are you doing one VOG speaker/stereo array per row of seating? I ask because I am about to finish wiring my own theater and have to make some decisions on any further prewire. I'd like to have your input.

An HVAC bulk head in the rear interferes with placement of rear heights for me.(I honestly didn't spend alot of time looking for a work around on this.) For the VOG i ran for one pair of stereo that I planned to place equidistant to the listening position for both rows .. not ideal but if push comes to shove, due to the tiered ceinling inside the shell, I will have limited access I can fish another set of wires.

On another note.. I've been searching for a switch(s) that can be placed at the (2) 20 amp outlets behind the baffle wall for the P18's, I've only been able to locate 15 amp ones.... What are others doing in this situation.. Id like to be able to shut the amps on the 18's completely off automatically.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #216 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:32 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNKKNK View Post

An HVAC bulk head in the rear interferes with placement of rear heights for me.(I honestly didn't spend alot of time looking for a work around on this.) For the VOG i ran for one pair of stereo that I planned to place equidistant to the listening position for both rows .. not ideal but if push comes to shove, due to the tiered ceinling inside the shell, I will have limited access I can fish another set of wires.

On another note.. I've been searching for a switch(s) that can be placed at the (2) 20 amp outlets behind the baffle wall for the P18's, I've only been able to locate 15 amp ones.... What are others doing in this situation.. Id like to be able to shut the amps on the 18's completely off automatically.

Thanks.

I would simply home-run the electrical wiring (powerbridge) for each P18 back to the equipment room, just like you would do with your projector to a battery back up. This will give you maximum flexibility if you homerun all of your dedicated circuits for the entire theater and your AV stack to the equipment room.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #217 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
"There in lies the Rub".. room already has layer of OSB up..


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #218 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:50 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Unless you glued it, should be easy to back out all the screws with a little deconstruction to get it in....or am I missing something?

If not, here you go: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-20-Amp-Commercial-Grade-Toggle-Switch-White-R52-0CSB1-2WS/202035005#


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #219 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Probably me missing something.. I was thinking something like this only 20 Amp to control power at the subs using extra cat 6 I ran.

http://www.smarthome.com/81301/Xantech-AC1-Controlled-AC-Outlet/p.aspx


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #220 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 09:46 AM
Member
 
D Andersson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerben Van Duyl View Post

We did not make any announcements or press releases about these new products, as we are still about six months away from shipping. We just showed final samples, to whet everybody's appetite...

The P6 in-wall will have a paintable, magnetic grill. The P5 will be 12" tall and basically the same size as an LS3, it turns out!

Both will have a round wave guide so that they can be placed either horizontally and vertically.

The P12 will be single 12"driver and a brand new amp!

Very exciting stuff and more Procella news to follow in the next months.

Any more info/specs. on the new P5 and P12?
D Andersson is offline  
post #221 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 10:21 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNKKNK View Post

Probably me missing something.. I was thinking something like this only 20 Amp to control power at the subs using extra cat 6 I ran.

http://www.smarthome.com/81301/Xantech-AC1-Controlled-AC-Outlet/p.aspx

I just double-checked and am a bit stunned that Procella's P18 subwoofer with the integrated amplifier does not include a built-in 12v trigger. It's unclear if the subwoofer powers itself down after a certain number of minutes of inactivity. Really hard to believe considering that this is a custom integration piece designed to be recessed into a baffle wall.

The only other product I know that does high voltage triggering is the Niles AC-3, but that has nearly identical specifications as the Xantech you found and the same amperage rating. That's such a tough, tough power load I'd be afraid I would smoke the Xantech device the first time a ran a Michael Bay movie at reference level, not to mention potentially choking out the Procella amp.

Tough call, but I'd probably go without or homerun the romex from that receptacle to the equipment room so it could be properly managed through a real 20a power protection device.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #222 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
rabindu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could anyone here provide me with a price list for these speakers? I'm looking at the P610s,P6s,P15s,P10Sis,and the appropriate number of Procella amps.I live in Canada, 5 minutes from the border, so CAD or USD pricing is fine.

Thanks, in advance for your help.
rabindu is offline  
post #223 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 07:53 PM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabindu View Post

Could anyone here provide me with a price list for these speakers? I'm looking at the P610s,P6s,P15s,P10Sis,and the appropriate number of Procella amps.I live in Canada, 5 minutes from the border, so CAD or USD pricing is fine.

Thanks, in advance for your help.

Her is a partial list of pricing as of 2011, but I think things went up slightly since then as you would probably expect:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1318743/the-official-procella-audio-speakers-owners-thread#post_20124784

Hopefully Chuck or Gerben can fill in this list a bit more with current retail pricing for all models, including their new DSP amps.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #224 of 238 Old 01-04-2014, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
rabindu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot!
rabindu is offline  
post #225 of 238 Old 01-06-2014, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

Unless you glued it, should be easy to back out all the screws with a little deconstruction to get it in....or am I missing something?

If not, here you go: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-20-Amp-Commercial-Grade-Toggle-Switch-White-R52-0CSB1-2WS/202035005#

But for automation, that doesn't help. I just flip the breakers off, I have dedicated power to these obviously. I've lived for almost 2 years with just leaving them on most of the time, I don't know exactly how much they pull when not in use. Although I wouldn't mind getting control on those.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMcG View Post

I just double-checked and am a bit stunned that Procella's P18 subwoofer with the integrated amplifier does not include a built-in 12v trigger. It's unclear if the subwoofer powers itself down after a certain number of minutes of inactivity. Really hard to believe considering that this is a custom integration piece designed to be recessed into a baffle wall.

No, they don't power down.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #226 of 238 Old 01-06-2014, 07:53 AM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post

But for automation, that doesn't help. I just flip the breakers off, I have dedicated power to these obviously. I've lived for almost 2 years with just leaving them on most of the time, I don't know exactly how much they pull when not in use. Although I wouldn't mind getting control on those.

Having had AMX, Crestron and now Savant Automation systems since 1996, I understand implicitly what you are saying. My point was to Powerbridge the Romex to the equipment closet, connecting it to a dedicated rack-mount 20Amp power protection device that has integrated triggers to cue certain receptacles on/off vs. the standalone Xantech device, which may be a limiting factor for such a powerful sub. A simple power inlet locking power cable would bridge the gap between this triggered receptacle and the power inlet location in the equipment room that runs to the sub. You also get the benefit of high-end surge suppression and power filtration to boot. In this way the automation system can simply trigger the rack-mounted power protection device to turn on the specific receptacle which then restores power to the sub via the Powerbridge.

Hopefully Procella will integrate an inexpensive trigger mechanism and/or a signal autosense feature in their next generation release for all subs with integrated amplifiers to eliminate this problem.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
post #227 of 238 Old 01-06-2014, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Looks like Furman offers a solution that could work for automating the amps behind a baffle.

Their orginal product the MP20 is no longer manufactured but still available for ~ $160-$190 online.

Their new product the CN20MP CN20MP looks like its priced around ~$230

Although both units are rated at 20amp total, either will handle 20amp through a single receptacle according to Furmans tech support. -note nema 5-20 T slot.

With that said, by the time 2 of these are purchased I would be well on the way to the cost of a "Total Swithching" solution that could eaisly be used for all my amps. ASD 120 So I'll probably pull the power bridges back to the EQ closet.
turls likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #228 of 238 Old 01-13-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Moggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California, Bay Area
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Brad,

Lowell make some products that might work: http://www.fullcompass.com/common/files/7401-RPC-1%20Specs.pdf

Alternatively, if you can handle a soldering iron, you could make your own. This is my DIY dual 20A switching outlet.

Cheers.

- Paul
turls likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My 8 year old daughter: "are contractors the people that mess up your house for money?"
Moggie is offline  
post #229 of 238 Old 01-15-2014, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
KNKKNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Very nice Paul.. my issue is not with the soldering iron.. its with all the squiggly lines in your illustration rolleyes.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"I've cut that piece 3 times and its still too short..."
KNKKNK is offline  
post #230 of 238 Old 06-17-2014, 03:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gamelover360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orebro, Sweden!!!
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

P5, P12, and in-wall P6!!!!!

"The P5 sounds just like the P6! In blind tests in Sweden, experienced Procella customers who own P6 themselves could not tell the difference with the P5, until we turned on the lights in the demo room and they saw the P5! The P5 is ideal as L/C/R/Surr for small home cinemas and living rooms, or as Surround in medium rooms, in combination with P6, P8 or P610.

The P5 is a high resolution capable loudspeaker, capable of 113dB peak SPL when Freestanding(!), TWICE AS LOUD as any dome-tweeter loudspeaker. Make no mistake, this is a little champion, that will deliver true Blu-ray Disc quality audio to living rooms and small home cinemas. This is a true Procella loudspeaker!

The P12 rocks! It sounds just as good as the P10, but it is a lot cheaper! We have developed a brand new amplifier for the P12 and we are very proud of that amp! It sounds great! The P12 driver is also brand new developed and with the compact and pleasant looking cabinet, we are sure this will be a great success!

All driver are manufactured in Italy. The amplifier and enclosures are manufactured in China. All design and assembly is done in Sweden, in the Procella Audio factory."
We also gave visitors a sneak peek at two new products that will become available in early 2014.


The P6iW is Procella's first in-wall speaker, and by every measure gives full P6 performance. With a newly designed circular waveguide, the speaker is equally at home whether oriented horizontally, vertically or in a ceiling!

http://www.procella.citymax.com/f/P5...Sheet_v1.0.pdf

http://www.procella.citymax.com/f/P1...Sheet_v1.0.pdf

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	138.5 KB
ID:	122058  


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by gamelover360; 06-17-2014 at 04:09 AM.
gamelover360 is offline  
post #231 of 238 Old 08-11-2014, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Gerben Van Duyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
P5 performs at first ever public home cinema demos of Dolby Atmos

Sorry about this pic with my smug face, but did we just do the first ever public home cinema demos of Dolby Atmos in Hong Kong? Yes! In Asia? Yes! In the world? Nope, but close! (Thanks Selden)

We used 3 x P8, 10 x P5 and 1 x P18-FP, powered by 4 x DA2800DSP in a 8m x 5.5m x 3.5m room (27' x 18' x 12'). The format was 7.1.4 from a Denon AV receiver that had 'X' in it's model type. The P5 absolutely rocked, that little baby is a true Procella! It had no problem keeping up with the P8, in surround duty, in that large room. They never skipped a beat in three days of Continuous & Loud demos, for up to 10 hours per day! The P5 is now officially launched, shipping and battle proven! Welcome to the family!

Lots more photos of the demo set-up here: Follow Procella on Facebook for all the latest updates!

turls and tangcoma like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Gerben Van Duyl; 08-12-2014 at 03:43 PM. Reason: Historical correctness.
Gerben Van Duyl is offline  
post #232 of 238 Old 08-12-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 384
According to the Facebook posting, the Atmos demo was at a convention center on August 9. There were similar home-style Atmos presentations in the UK and France before then, with the one in the UK on July 15. A review of the UK presentation is available at The official Dolby Atmos thread (home theater version)

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #233 of 238 Old 08-12-2014, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Gerben Van Duyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
According to the Facebook posting, the Atmos demo was at a convention center on August 9. There were similar home-style Atmos presentations in the UK and France before then, with the one in the UK on July 15. A review of the UK presentation is available at The official Dolby Atmos thread (home theater version)
Thanks Selden, I shall correct my post. The Atmos/Procella demo created a real buzz at the show. The fact that we had close support from Denon/Marantz and Dolby was of course essential to get all the elements together at the show. My take-aways were: first, how easy Dolby Atmos integrated into an otherwise normal 7.1 set-up; second, how well it worked, both from a technical and from a experience pov; third, that it is important to have identical sounding loudspeakers for the height speakers, in the same way you want identical sounding speakers for your normal surrounds.
tangcoma likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gerben Van Duyl is offline  
post #234 of 238 Old 08-12-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Dolby Atmos certainly is going to be a major enhancement to home theaters!

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #235 of 238 Old 09-08-2014, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Coming to CEDIA. I wonder if the P5 and P6 will come with ceiling mounting brackets for use as Atmos speakers?

Quote:
Hear Dolby ATMOS on Procella Speakers

See the New P6iW In-wall, P5 and P12 in Booth 850

Hear the state-of-the-art in Home Cinema at CEDIA Expo! In Booth 850, we'll have a full Procella-based Dolby Atmos 3D Audio system, with four ceiling mounted P6s - no upward firing speakers! Making its debut at the show will be the state-of-the-art Trinnov Altitude32 processor, which provides native Atmos decoding and unsurpassed audio quality.

Booth 850 is the home of Sound Developments, Procella distributor for North America. Anders, Chuck and Gerben will all be on hand with the Sound Developments team to welcome you and to show you the new P6iW in-wall, P5 speaker, and P12 active subwoofer, all shipping this fall.

To schedule an appointment with us at the show, contact Chuck Back or Gerben Van Duyl. See you in Denver!
Spizz is online now  
post #236 of 238 Old 09-09-2014, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Chuck Back's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Venice, Calif.
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post
Coming to CEDIA. I wonder if the P5 and P6 will come with ceiling mounting brackets for use as Atmos speakers?
The P5 has two keyhole mounts (horizontal/vertical) on the back baffle and the P6 comes with a wall mount bracket. For ceiling mounts, there are a number of manufacturers that make suitable articulating brackets.
Chuck Back is offline  
post #237 of 238 Old 09-13-2014, 02:05 PM
Member
 
tmhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Back View Post
The P5 has two keyhole mounts (horizontal/vertical) on the back baffle and the P6 comes with a wall mount bracket. For ceiling mounts, there are a number of manufacturers that make suitable articulating brackets.
What did you use to mount the P5s on the ceiling at CEDIA?
tmhouse is offline  
post #238 of 238 Old 09-13-2014, 06:04 PM
AnalysisParalysis Analyst
 
TMcG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmhouse View Post
What did you use to mount the P5s on the ceiling at CEDIA?
Procella decided to use P8s on the ceiling, which gave the speakers a slight angle toward the MLP. Mounting the speakers in a trade show booth is different than residential mounting. As Chuck said, there are many types of mounting systems that can be attached directly to the speakers.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TMcG is offline  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Procella P6

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off