What Tower Speakers Should I Get? - Suggestions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm starting to research/build my home theater system. Right now I'm looking at either getting the Denon 3311 or Yamaha RX-A1000. Looking for a 2-zone receiver. I will have my home theater system in the basement above the theater room is my living and dinner room approximately 18 x 13 feet. I wish to have 2 tower speakers in the living/dining room, this will be used for music purposes (i.e. airplay). If I were to get the Denon 3311 and set up my ht as a 7.1, I will have to get an amp to power zone 2 in my living room, however I still don't know what receiver I will be getting and if I will be setting a 7.1 (most probably though). Now my question is what kind of speakers should I get? I'm a beginner when it comes to home theater systems especially speakers. What are peoples suggestions? My budget is $600-700 on the pair of speakers. I was looking at the Klipsch RF-82 II, is this too excessive (and expensive for my books) for that room size. I was also looking into Polk Audio tower speakers. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Tan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 14
I would suggest looking and auditioning some Paradigm Monitor 9's or 11's for your room. Your ears will be able to pick whats best for you but alot of people think Klipsch is on the harsh/more bright sounding (horns). Paradigms are amazing value speakers and they have won many awards so check them out! I have the Monitor 11's,CC-290,ADP-390's and the DSP-3200 and they are very nice speakers. Ask any questions.
post #3 of 9 Old 04-13-2011, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 17