Outdoor Speakers For Parties - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 07-23-2011, 02:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to be living in an apartment with 7 college students. We have a 30x12 foot patio on the ocean that we want to turn into a dance floor.

We want loud, hearing damage inducing speakers with lots of bass, and we want the bass to be "clear" - sometimes at parties I hear muddy/distorted sounding bass and I hate it. We will mostly be playing house/dance.

We want them to be durable. We can mount them in the air if we have to so no one falls or spills a drink on them. These won't remain outside so they don't have to be weatherproof. We'll take them out for the party, and bring them in when it is over.

If we get big enough speakers, do we need a sub?

Could we also use these indoors? We have an approximately 20x10 foot living room.

I'm completely new to all of this. Do I want powered or unpowered speakers? What must I look for in an amp if I get unpowered speakers?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-23-2011, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The least expensive route to what you have described is a pro audio syetem.
If my goals were the same as yours, I would go to a store (in my area) called Guitar Center and tell them the requirements.
I am pretty sure they would recommend something along the lines of a 1000 watt crown amp (there are many other inexpensive pro amps), JBL pro speakers http://www.amazon.com/JBL-PRO-JRX115...1427553&sr=1-1 and a small field mixer.... all of this would cost around $1k out the door.
http://www.jblpro.com/catalog/genera...x?FId=19&MId=3

The interface of home electronics to pro audio gear is a bit of a pain, but to achieve what you have described using home audio amps and speakers will cost many thousands of dollars.
If you buy everything from the beginning in the pro gear world you can get there much cheaper.