Help with first Home Theatre/media center - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 08-04-2011, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just joined today and this is my first post. I am doing a house renovation and before I put up the drywall and ceilings I wanted to wire for speakers and figure out my components. I am not tech savvy at all and want good quality and sound but for 51 years old and listening to alot of rock, I don't hear so well anyways. So this will be placed in a family room the seating area of which is about 12 feet in depth and width and is opened without walls to a kitchen and living room and has a a lot of windows. I was thinking about in ceiling speakers to keep it clean and the room isn't that big. My contractor had his A/V guy come up with a proposal and it was real high!!! I am looking to spend between 2 and 3 K and hope I can put together something nice for that. Even 4 K would be alot below the proposal. The proposal included a Panasonic 50' Plasma TV, Onkyo TXSR 609 Surround Amp, LG Blu-ray, Elan Elios speakers, a Triad Omni Bronze Sub-woofer, and Universal Remotes Remote Control and Receiver, and labor and setup. I'm interested in what you think about these components and if you can recommend of cheaper components without sacrificing too much sound and quality. Thanks much.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-04-2011, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter

I just walked into a store and in response to asking systems not too expensive they said I should be able to get one for 10-15 K. So I guess I am naive about what to expect and the proposal for 6K is not that bad. That said, any suggestions in the 3-5 k range?
post #3 of 8 Old 08-04-2011, 01:45 PM
NBR