22feet viewing distance – where to place speakers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 08-28-2011, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first post, and I'm an extreme newbie when it comes to surround sound. I'm setting up my first room with surround sound, and I have a question on the distance speakers can from the couch. I've been reading and researching this forum for months (and also the entire Internet), and I didn't find anyone with the concern I have with surround sound at over 20 feet in distance. I apologize if there is a forum dedicated to this, but I couldn't find it.

Here's my scenario: I don't want the best surround sound system possible, I just want something much better than the built-in TV speakers of my 55 Sony KDL-55HX800. I want to be able to hear sound all the way to the other side of the room. However, since researching surround sound, now I want something pretty decent, because I feel I've been missing out by not having it. Maybe I will eventually someday become and audiophile, but for now I want something good and impressive to someone who never really watched a movie at home with surround sound.

So my distance from my couch to the TV is 22 feet (the room is 22' long x 12' wide). The couch is against one wall and the TV along the other wall 22 feet away. I'm pretty much set on in-wall speakers from Monoprice (because of price, reputation, and very good reviews in this forum). I don't want floor standing speakers because I have a 2-year old and a newborn on the way. So this room is going to have toys, a TV, kids running around, etc.

Now here are my options for 7.1 speaker placement (or should I do a 5.1 in this size room?)