New member, help please! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 11-26-2011, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, I just purchased two Polk Monitor 70s and a Pioneer VSX-1021-K.
The sub is a BIC PL-200.

I only have one real question, and that is how to go about wiring the Monitor 70s to the receiver. Ironically, the user manual gives pretty clear instructions about how to do this, but there is no indication made about what kind of wire to use. I went to Walmart and bought 75 feet of speaker wire. The back of the Monitor 70s seem to use coaxial cables, however, which doesn't seem to work with the receiver. As you guys can see, I'm very new to this and very confused.
I'm fairly confident that the sub is already properly connected to the receiver with a simple digital audio coax cable.

For the record, I'd like to wire this as a 2.1 setup with the Monitor 70s bi-amped, which I could probably use some help with as well.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-26-2011, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyCH View Post

Hello everyone, I just purchased two Polk Monitor 70s and a Pioneer VSX-1021-K.
The sub is a BIC PL-200.

I only have one real question, and that is how to go about wiring the Monitor 70s to the receiver. Ironically, the user manual gives pretty clear instructions about how to do this, but there is no indication made about what kind of wire to use. I went to Walmart and bought 75 feet of speaker wire. The back of the Monitor 70s seem to use coaxial cables, however, which doesn't seem to work with the receiver. As you guys can see, I'm very new to this and very confused.
I'm fairly confident that the sub is already properly connected to the receiver with a simple digital audio coax cable.