Is there a way to power in-wall speakers without receiver ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok here's the scenario, I currently have a Sony all-in-one cd/receiver which powers my 4 in-wall surround speakers. The problem is i dont have room for it in my TV niche above the fireplace but without the reciver i can't power my surround speakers. I thought about adding a sound bar but cant find any that will also power 4 additional surround speakers. Does anyone have a solution to this issue ?

This wasn't a problem before when i had a 40'' LCD but with the 47' i have no extra clearance for a receiver. Please tell me there's something out there to help me out.


Thanks soo much!
Jay
jabney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hamilcar Barca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabney View Post

This wasn't a problem before when i had a 40'' LCD but with the 47' i have no
extra clearance for a receiver.

Do you have any free space at all?
Hamilcar Barca is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 115
You need an amplifier and you have to find a place to put it. Should be no larger than a receiver.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right now i have a HTIB receiver (Sony DAV-FX100W) that powers my speakers, but i honestly cant even use it to play DVD's because the tv blocks access to it. The existing receiver works fine but in order to load dvd I literrally have to move my TV in order to access the slot-load drive. Then put the TV back and then commence to watching...

I guess another alternative may be to see if i can mount the exisiting receiver vertically in the niche....nope just thought that through it won't work as my tv niche has sliding doors which prevents that type of mounting.

It looks like im stuck....
jabney is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I suppose a mere mention of RECEIVER one thinks of a 50LB behemoths they sell nowadays, but I've always like slim-line components. I have 1U (1.75" high) power amps. So if there's $, there is a way.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elihawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 145
You can buy a small 2 or 4 channel amp that would be smaller than a DVD/receiever, but it would take up some space. Something like this...problem is, you may or may not be able to control volume with your TV remote.
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-DTA-100...xp_grid_pt_2_2

Set up #1: EMP e5ti, e5Ci, and SLS Q line Audio surrounds, EMP 10i10i sub
Set up #2: Def Tech SM450, CLR2002, SLS Qline surrounds and Klipsch 12wD sub
Set up #3: JBL130, JBL120C and Klipsch synergy sub
Elihawk is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elihawk View Post

You can buy a small 2 or 4 channel amp that would be smaller than a DVD/receiever, but it would take up some space. Something like this...problem is, you may or may not be able to control volume with your TV remote.
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-DTA-100...xp_grid_pt_2_2

Thanks i checked that out but it only powers two speakers and i have 2 front and 2 side surronds so i need something that powers at least 4 speaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb View Post

I suppose a mere mention of RECEIVER one thinks of a 50LB behemoths they sell nowadays, but I've always like slim-line components. I have 1U (1.75" high) power amps. So if there's $, there is a way.

I'm not appossed to spending $$$ in fact i have liberty (WAF) to spend whatever to get this problem fixed without construction . The only thing i cant do again is demo and rebuilt the niche as i did 3 years ago in order to go from accomodating a 40" to the 47". Do you have any suggestions on what i can purchase ?
jabney is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Google for "1u power amplifier" or "slim multichannel amplifier." A quick google yielded me this SITE, looks like a Pro equipment site, I don't have direct experience with them. Look further and you should find more main-stream (consumer) vendors, although be ready to spend up to $500. If yr patience, maybe able to get used if ur not oppose to that.

The items on the proacoustic site is also spec'ed as D-Class. D-class amps are a class of amplifiers designed to more power in small packages, some purists turn their noses at class-Ds so you have to decide (class D used alot in confined car stereos). I would try to get the smallest package possible with a more standard class A-B myself but nothing on top of my head, ur legwork.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crazyrob425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 145
How about a slim receiver from Marantz like the nr1602 or nr1501? Will that work?
crazyrob425 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Can you supply a picture of the niche from closeup and one from further back that encompasses the front of the room? That might aid suggestions.

cel4145 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elihawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 145
This is about as "not tall" as any AVR I have seen recently...Sherwood R-904N

http://www.amazon.com/Sherwood-R-904...510094&sr=1-12

Set up #1: EMP e5ti, e5Ci, and SLS Q line Audio surrounds, EMP 10i10i sub
Set up #2: Def Tech SM450, CLR2002, SLS Qline surrounds and Klipsch 12wD sub
Set up #3: JBL130, JBL120C and Klipsch synergy sub
Elihawk is online now  
post #12 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

Can you supply a picture of the niche from closeup and one from further back that encompasses the front of the room? That might aid suggestions.

+1, photo please

Also, why can't you raise the TV a few inches so it doesn't block the niche?

rick240 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick240 View Post

+1, photo please

Also, why can't you raise the TV a few inches so it doesn't block the niche?

Here's another thought. Your receiver/dvd player has the dvd on the left. If it were on the right, would that help? Perhaps a new blu-ray player that has the drive on the right side? Or, a Sony PS3 can be mounted vertically and it wouldn't be as tall as you receiver. It's a blu-ray/dvd player.

Pictures really would help, though

cel4145 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 11-28-2011, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need to just run one HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV? If so maybe you can put the receiver somewhere outside the niche to the side somewhere and run a longer HDMI cable to it?

Pictures would help a lot.
Ironlight is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 11-29-2011, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

Here's another thought. Your receiver/dvd player has the dvd on the left. If it were on the right, would that help? Perhaps a new blu-ray player that has the drive on the right side? Or, a Sony PS3 can be mounted vertically and it wouldn't be as tall as you receiver. It's a blu-ray/dvd player.

Pictures really would help, though

Pics as requested. One pic shows the Niche as a whole. The other shows a closeup of the bottom right of the TV and the silver thing at the bottom is the exisiting dvd/receiver that i have to move the TV to reach.

thanks for all the help guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironlight View Post

Do you need to just run one HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV? If so maybe you can put the receiver somewhere outside the niche to the side somewhere and run a longer HDMI cable to it?

Pictures would help a lot.

Pics added to thread.
LL
LL
jabney is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-29-2011, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Another option:

Mount the TV wall-style using an articulated arm, that way u can rid of the stand and frees u some space on the bottom, then purchase a separate DVD player, some are very thin and look like it will fit in there, and keep the receiver for amplification only.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-29-2011, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Slare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think all you need is a IR repeater or a receiver that has a jack for a remote IR sensor.

Put the receiver anywhere and wire it up. Behind the TV. In a closet. Up in the attic. IR receiver goes in your nook. Everything runs as normal, just the AVR is out of site. It sounds bad but think about it, how often do you actually have to touch the AVR once everything is installed and setup?

Also looking at it you might have enough room to work with to take the stand off the TV and put it on a wall mount, creating enough clearance below for a slim line avr.
Slare is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off